Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array Mickou06 PC Specs
    Mickou06 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z270F gaming strix
    ProcessorIntel KabyLake 7700K
    Memory (part number)Gskill DDR4-3733mHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX1070-O8G
    MonitorAsus P3G48Q
    Storage #1Samsung M.2 EVO960 500GB
    Storage #2Samsung EVO850 500GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCorsair Carbide 600C
    Power SupplyAntec EcorGreen 500W
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Razzer Tiamat 7.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bits

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Same problem with Asus Z270F update to bios 0906

    Hi all,
    After updating to this bios 0906 I was also unable to boot, I also had PC freeze during Bios / windows startup.
    It appeared the XMP profile for my GSkill 3733MHz DDR4 was the culprit.
    With the Bios 0801 everything was working like a charm, now I had to select by hand DDR4-3600MHz in the bios to get things work.
    This Bios 0906 is crapping the XMP profile settings, while it was perfectly working in the Bios 0801

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Next time do your homework before updating BIOS...

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Same problem but with 3866 MHz of G Skill

    I'm having the same issue with my 3866 GSkill Trident Z. Tried to downgrade to0801 but my XMP profile states 3868 instead of a 3866 like the memory specifications.

    It's really strange because the XMP should do the trick.

    Tried to do it manually but couldn't get it to work. Could someone help me?

    Thank you

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Klute_Onren PC Specs
    Klute_Onren PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Hero
    ProcessorI7 7700k @5.1g no-HT
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1070FE
    MonitorLG 34UM67-P 34" Class 21:9
    Storage #1Samsung 850evo 250g x2 raid0
    CPU CoolerWatercool Heatkiller IV
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
    Power SupplyAntec Edge 750
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Sennheiser Gaming ONE

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    97

    I'm glad you sorted it out. I would suggest learning about overclocking before throwing voltage at it. I started an overclocking log, mostly to keep track for myself but also to show what an overclocking run should look like, not to mention getting feed back. In short, the wilder and faster you throw setting's at your rig the less likely you are to achieve a good clock and the more likely you will toast your OS. Frequent reinstall's are no fun. I would find some guides and start there.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Klute_Onren PC Specs
    Klute_Onren PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Hero
    ProcessorI7 7700k @5.1g no-HT
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1070FE
    MonitorLG 34UM67-P 34" Class 21:9
    Storage #1Samsung 850evo 250g x2 raid0
    CPU CoolerWatercool Heatkiller IV
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
    Power SupplyAntec Edge 750
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Sennheiser Gaming ONE

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    97

    Quote Originally Posted by Mickou06 View Post
    Hi all,
    After updating to this bios 0906 I was also unable to boot, I also had PC freeze during Bios / windows startup.
    It appeared the XMP profile for my GSkill 3733MHz DDR4 was the culprit.
    With the Bios 0801 everything was working like a charm, now I had to select by hand DDR4-3600MHz in the bios to get things work.
    This Bios 0906 is crapping the XMP profile settings, while it was perfectly working in the Bios 0801
    I would suggest learning about overclocking, technically only 2133/2400 are not overclocked. QVL does it's best to make it easier however these are complex and always changing machines. Click and done doesn't really work in the high performance world. Maybe the first XMP preset but if you want to get what your system is easily or not so easily capable of you need to learn more about it. Given set's of ram with the same chip type are all the same, the only difference would be that they have been binned as capable of higher speeds. I have had my go with budget equipment and while I got it to scream for what it was, I can say you get what you pay for (it's all a lottery, higher specs give you an edge). A common misconception is that 4266 memory will work like lego's. While a home built machine is basically adult lego's, it doesn't end at plugging it in. You need to know how to get it to work at that speed. There are diminishing returns on plug and play IE: XMP. The higher you go the more you need to tweak to get it to work.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Klute_Onren PC Specs
    Klute_Onren PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Hero
    ProcessorI7 7700k @5.1g no-HT
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1070FE
    MonitorLG 34UM67-P 34" Class 21:9
    Storage #1Samsung 850evo 250g x2 raid0
    CPU CoolerWatercool Heatkiller IV
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
    Power SupplyAntec Edge 750
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Sennheiser Gaming ONE

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    97

    Quote Originally Posted by SphinxPT View Post
    I'm having the same issue with my 3866 GSkill Trident Z. Tried to downgrade to0801 but my XMP profile states 3868 instead of a 3866 like the memory specifications.

    It's really strange because the XMP should do the trick.

    Tried to do it manually but couldn't get it to work. Could someone help me?

    Thank you
    I would figure out which chip your stick's have and go from there. The difference between 3866 and 3868 means nothing, slight variances in bclk can change that easily. You need to learn how to adapt on the fly, I've even had my cpu multiplier reported in OS as 175, computers aren't perfect. Like I said find out which chip is on your stick and go from there, the latency should tell which they are.

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Klute_Onren View Post
    I would figure out which chip your stick's have and go from there. The difference between 3866 and 3868 means nothing, slight variances in bclk can change that easily. You need to learn how to adapt on the fly, I've even had my cpu multiplier reported in OS as 175, computers aren't perfect. Like I said find out which chip is on your stick and go from there, the latency should tell which they are.
    Thank you for you reply!!

    The label on the memory states CL 18 -19-19-39 at 1.35v.
    What I did in the BIOS was to set:
    DRAM Frequency -> 3866Mhz
    DRAM Voltage -> 1.35 (BIOS updates to 1.3530 automatically)
    DRAM CAS LAtency -> 18
    DRAM RAS to CAS Delay -> 19
    DRAM RAS ACT Time -> 39
    Command Rate -> 2T (on the BIOS I've only something like 2N and not 2T, but I think is the same)

    DRAM Pre Time that's a setting I don't have but from some research it's said that it's automatically calculated

    Can't figure out what I'm missing. Downgraded from version 0901 to 0801 of BIOs, removed the memory and the motherboard battery for a full reset and nothing worked.

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Klute_Onren PC Specs
    Klute_Onren PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Hero
    ProcessorI7 7700k @5.1g no-HT
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1070FE
    MonitorLG 34UM67-P 34" Class 21:9
    Storage #1Samsung 850evo 250g x2 raid0
    CPU CoolerWatercool Heatkiller IV
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
    Power SupplyAntec Edge 750
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Sennheiser Gaming ONE

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    97

    Quote Originally Posted by SphinxPT View Post
    Thank you for you reply!!

    The label on the memory states CL 18 -19-19-39 at 1.35v.
    What I did in the BIOS was to set:
    DRAM Frequency -> 3866Mhz
    DRAM Voltage -> 1.35 (BIOS updates to 1.3530 automatically)
    DRAM CAS LAtency -> 18
    DRAM RAS to CAS Delay -> 19
    DRAM RAS ACT Time -> 39
    Command Rate -> 2T (on the BIOS I've only something like 2N and not 2T, but I think is the same)

    DRAM Pre Time that's a setting I don't have but from some research it's said that it's automatically calculated

    Can't figure out what I'm missing. Downgraded from version 0901 to 0801 of BIOs, removed the memory and the motherboard battery for a full reset and nothing worked.
    Have you tried changing the VCCIO and system agent voltage? Try both of those at 1.20

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Klute_Onren View Post
    Have you tried changing the VCCIO and system agent voltage? Try both of those at 1.20
    yes, I've done that also... Couldn't get them to work, system don't boot and I've to turn the PC off.
    I can put some prints here of the configurations if that helps. it's really strange because I've followed some tutorials in the forum and nothing works

    thank you again for your help

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Klute_Onren PC Specs
    Klute_Onren PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Hero
    ProcessorI7 7700k @5.1g no-HT
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1070FE
    MonitorLG 34UM67-P 34" Class 21:9
    Storage #1Samsung 850evo 250g x2 raid0
    CPU CoolerWatercool Heatkiller IV
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
    Power SupplyAntec Edge 750
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Sennheiser Gaming ONE

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    97

    That's all I had to do to get my trident-z to run at 3600, haven't done anything beyond that for testing or tweaking. The only last thing I did was set the tweak mode but I don't think that your board has that. Maybe going by the spd secondary setting's isn't very happy. Or maybe your memory controller isn't happy. Dunno that's all the further I've gotten on memory overclocking.

    random thought's: try a different speed, maybe that divider isn't happy on your memory controller. Try bump each related voltage one at a time by 0.05 You aren't using xmp still are you? Make sure you're in manual mode. You could be right on the brink of running at 100bclk see if you can start at 3600 or even lower to get a feel for making it stable. Ask around or research which chip that is, mine is samsung B-die for reference. Find timing's for lower speed and figure that out first. Try your cpu clock at stock to make sure you aren't stressing the cpu to hard by upping the memory. I remember something about IAC and DC setting but don't remember if that's memory bclk or overal speed.
    Last edited by Klute_Onren; 04-25-2017 at 02:28 PM.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •