Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    crosshair Vi hero OC tips and m.2 boot drive settings

    Hey guys . long time member first time poster. bought a crosshair V formula in 2012 decided to upgrade again.

    I had a great time OCing my crosshair V to 1866 ram and even 1900 with a bit of bus clock boosting to push 4 dims and 16gb along with a 4.8 ghz OC to the 8350 was really an amazing thing and sold me on asus for heavy OC boards.

    this crosshair VI has not been as good to me.

    I am able to push 4.0 easy from my 1800x and haven't tried higher to be honest but I'm very dispointed by the ram.

    I know only 2400 ram is officially supported in dual rank but with all the voltage I pushed at these things it makes no sense why I cant get even 2666 to post.

    I bought a 2x8 gskill 3200 MHz 16CL kit that was on sale and the most ive gotten to post is 2400 MHz CL 15. and no matter how high I pop the voltage (in safe limits) it wont go higher.

    any tips? do I just need to return this ram to get the flare x stuff that ive read does work? is it worth the $185 on newegg when I paid $120 for what I have? (assuming a bios update allows me to OC above 2400 soon).

    second is the m.2. I could not get windows to load onto my Samsung 960 evo no matter what I did. had to load off of my old crosshair V ssd and then clone to the new M.2 just to make it boot. I wanted a clean install and it WONT work at all.

    regardless its running on the m.2 now but why wouldn't windows install from the first time?

    I have Compatability settings pushed to the uefi or legacy and then the codes below that setting are all off. idk what there for. I have windows set to uefi but also tried the "other OS" setting. idk why it didn't work. spent 3 hours changing settings and trying it but only the clone worked.

    last point rest in peace my wallet.

    Cheers!

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Are you base clocked OCed at all? *I loose my 850 evo m.2 if I touch the base clock, unfortunately to get my ram to 3200 I have to base clock so I put the m.2 in a sata adaptor and it works fine.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    221

    Quote Originally Posted by StarfireX View Post
    Are you base clocked OCed at all? *I loose my 850 evo m.2 if I touch the base clock, unfortunately to get my ram to 3200 I have to base clock so I put the m.2 in a sata adaptor and it works fine.
    The 960 Evo is a PCIe M.2 drive, so that won't work.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by danjw View Post
    The 960 Evo is a PCIe M.2 drive, so that won't work.
    I have never heard that ram OC wont work if your booting from a m.2 drive and doubt that is the issue here.

    plus I'm not going to put my 960 into sata mode and sacrifice the performance pcie mode gives it. id rather have that than a ram OC

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by StarfireX View Post
    Are you base clocked OCed at all? *I loose my 850 evo m.2 if I touch the base clock, unfortunately to get my ram to 3200 I have to base clock so I put the m.2 in a sata adaptor and it works fine.
    as an update to my OC testing. at first I didn't change my cpu clocks at all. ram wouldn't go to 3200 spec period. tried docp mode. nothing. tried manual voltages and manual timings. nothing.

    next I tried 3000 mhz. nothing. then 2666 and still nothing.

    put it to 2400 and it boots on stock voltage 1.15V and no ram OC options boosted. timings at 15,15,15,36. (the 3200 timings are (16,18,18,38))

    after I gave up on that I moved to some CPU OC. first just clicked TPM 2 and it worked. 3.9 easy.

    then I put mult to 40 and bam 4.0 easy. I put up the voltage settings like over current and that crap up to 120% etc... runs stable at 4 no prob.

    haven't even tried 4.1 or 4.2 but for how easy 4.0 was I bet it can do it.

    just frustrated with the ram.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array skline00 PC Specs
    skline00 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage Extreme V/Asus C6H
    ProcessorIntel 5960x @ 4.4 Ghz with EK Supremacy EVO cpu block/Ryzen 2700x
    Memory (part number)Corsair DDR4-2400 -16 gigs (4x4)/Gskill FlareX DDR4-3200 16g (2x8)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Extreme GTX1080TI+WB + EK block-5960x
    Graphics Card #2Zotac GTX 1080+EK Block-2700X
    MonitorAcer 430k-5960x/-Dell U3415W-2700x
    Storage #12 Samsung 850 EVO ssd 500g -5960x/Corsair MP500 Force 480g NVMe 2280-2700x
    Storage #2WB Black 2 TB-5960x/ Crucial 240g ssd-2700x
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO block-5960x/EK AM4 EVO Supremacy-2700x
    CaseThermaltake Core X9/Thermaltake V51
    Power SupplyPC P&C 1200 W Silencer Mk III/EVGA 850W
    Keyboard CM Quik Fire Rapid Mechanical
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud II
    Headset/Speakers Kingston HyperX Cloud II
    OS Win 10- 64 Home both
    Accessory #1 3- 480 radiators -XSPC RX480 v3-5960x/2-360 MagicCool slim radiators-2700x
    Accessory #2 12 AP15 GT fans in push mode-5960x/6 XSPC 120mm 1600rpm fans in push mode-2700x
    Accessory #3 XSPC Twin D5 bay res D5s in series-5960x/EK D5vario -140 pump/rad combo-2700x

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    I had the same ram and ended up paying for the Gskill FlareX DDR4-3200 CL14 ram. It works PERFECT on this mb with the BIOS 1002.

    Simply go ionto BIOS, enable D.O.C.P. standard. Save and reboot. Goes into 3200 speed at CL14-14-14-34 1.35v
    5960x-4.4 EK EVO SPR|AsusRE5|16g DDR4-2400|Gigabyte Aorus Extr GTX1080TI+WB|2 Smsng 850 EVO 500gb ssds|2Tb WD Blk|Win10-64|PC P&C 1200W|Thrmltake X9|3 XSPC RX480 rads+ 2 D5s| Acer ET430k
    2700x-PBO-EK AM4 EVO |AsusC6H16g DDR4-3200 FlareX|Zotac GTX1080+EK WB|Corsair MP500-480gNVMe PCIe3|Win10-64|EVGA 850W|ThermaltakeV51|2 360 slim rads + EK D5 vario 140|Dell U3415W

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    221

    Quote Originally Posted by vogner16 View Post
    I have never heard that ram OC wont work if your booting from a m.2 drive and doubt that is the issue here.

    plus I'm not going to put my 960 into sata mode and sacrifice the performance pcie mode gives it. id rather have that than a ram OC
    I was responding to his suggestion of moving it to a SATA port. Right now the Ryzen platform is having issues with memory in a number of odd ways.

    From what I have read, AMD intends to release a major BIOS update in in May, that is supposed to improve memory support and add more stability.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by skline00 View Post
    I had the same ram and ended up paying for the Gskill FlareX DDR4-3200 CL14 ram. It works PERFECT on this mb with the BIOS 1002.

    Simply go ionto BIOS, enable D.O.C.P. standard. Save and reboot. Goes into 3200 speed at CL14-14-14-34 1.35v
    If they do release a bios update in a month then spending $122 for my kit was a better deal than $184 for the flare x. I just have a hard time spending so much more if I know a simple software patch is all that's holding me back.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •