Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array VATX7 PC Specs
    VATX7 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700
    Memory (part number)32GB TridentZ RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Monitor27" QHD BenQ Zowie
    Storage #1512 960 Pro M.2
    Storage #2512 850 Pro
    CPU CoolerKraken x62
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite
    Power SupplyEVGA 850w Platinum P2
    Keyboard G910 v2
    Mouse G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT990 250 ohm
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Prism
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterNighthawk R7000

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Question Can't get SLI to work with two ROG STRIX 1080s

    Hi!

    I ordered a 2nd gpu and it's connected up and correctly recognized by windows, and shows up in the NVidia control panel. However there is no SLI option in the NVidia control panel; SLI doesn't even show up.

    The only possible thing I can think of is the fact I'm using two bendy old style SLI bridges instead of one high bandwidth bridge. This is because the high bandwith bridge supplied with the Crosshair VI Hero is for some strange reason 60mm instead of 40mm. I'm waiting to receive a "0 slot spacing" 40mm EVGA HB Bridge. Why would the supplied HB Bridge be too large for two ASUS graphics cards? It's all ASUS hardware. I figured it would work together.

    A dude a Fry's Electronics told me two old school bridges would work, but I wouldn't get 100% performance. Maybe 80-90%. I bought them anyways cause I wanted to get it working asap.

    Is my problem here the two SLI bridges?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo_2017-04-05_16-40-11.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	99.9 KB 
ID:	63739

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Look under the Display Adapter section in Device Manager. Are both GTX 1080's listed?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    183
    Posts
    8,327

    Sometimes you just have to remove the driver and clean install it back with both cards on the board...

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array VATX7 PC Specs
    VATX7 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700
    Memory (part number)32GB TridentZ RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Monitor27" QHD BenQ Zowie
    Storage #1512 960 Pro M.2
    Storage #2512 850 Pro
    CPU CoolerKraken x62
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite
    Power SupplyEVGA 850w Platinum P2
    Keyboard G910 v2
    Mouse G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT990 250 ohm
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Prism
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterNighthawk R7000

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Both 1080s show up in the device manager. I also reinstalled my NVidia drivers. No luck

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array VATX7 PC Specs
    VATX7 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700
    Memory (part number)32GB TridentZ RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Monitor27" QHD BenQ Zowie
    Storage #1512 960 Pro M.2
    Storage #2512 850 Pro
    CPU CoolerKraken x62
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite
    Power SupplyEVGA 850w Platinum P2
    Keyboard G910 v2
    Mouse G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT990 250 ohm
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Prism
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterNighthawk R7000

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Actually I didn't try a true clean install. I'll try that now

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array VATX7 PC Specs
    VATX7 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700
    Memory (part number)32GB TridentZ RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Monitor27" QHD BenQ Zowie
    Storage #1512 960 Pro M.2
    Storage #2512 850 Pro
    CPU CoolerKraken x62
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite
    Power SupplyEVGA 850w Platinum P2
    Keyboard G910 v2
    Mouse G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT990 250 ohm
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Prism
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterNighthawk R7000

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    A clean install didn't work. NVidia is still correctly detecting both cards, but gives no SLI option

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Nvidia control panel.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	79.0 KB 
ID:	63740

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array VATX7 PC Specs
    VATX7 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700
    Memory (part number)32GB TridentZ RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Monitor27" QHD BenQ Zowie
    Storage #1512 960 Pro M.2
    Storage #2512 850 Pro
    CPU CoolerKraken x62
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite
    Power SupplyEVGA 850w Platinum P2
    Keyboard G910 v2
    Mouse G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT990 250 ohm
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Prism
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterNighthawk R7000

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Check out the bus interface in this picture. Left picture is 1080 one, and right is 1080 two.

    One is "3.0 @ x16 3.0" and the other is "2.0 @ x1 2.0"

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1080 side by side.JPG 
Views:	9 
Size:	185.5 KB 
ID:	63741

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array VATX7 PC Specs
    VATX7 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700
    Memory (part number)32GB TridentZ RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Monitor27" QHD BenQ Zowie
    Storage #1512 960 Pro M.2
    Storage #2512 850 Pro
    CPU CoolerKraken x62
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite
    Power SupplyEVGA 850w Platinum P2
    Keyboard G910 v2
    Mouse G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT990 250 ohm
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Prism
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterNighthawk R7000

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    I am a royal dumbass lol. I wasn't working with proper light and had the 2nd GPU in the wrong slot.. WOW! Also explains why the stock bridge wasn't fitting.

    Everything is good now. SLI is working! Thank you for trying to help!

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array AMNFORGR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Wow ! I'm glad you got that figured out. I have a 1080 ti sli set up. When I saw your picture, I was wondering how your two cards were so close?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	evga.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	86.4 KB 
ID:	63742

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array VATX7 PC Specs
    VATX7 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700
    Memory (part number)32GB TridentZ RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    Monitor27" QHD BenQ Zowie
    Storage #1512 960 Pro M.2
    Storage #2512 850 Pro
    CPU CoolerKraken x62
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite
    Power SupplyEVGA 850w Platinum P2
    Keyboard G910 v2
    Mouse G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT990 250 ohm
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Prism
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterNighthawk R7000

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    That is a gorgeous looking computer! Two 1080 ti's must be beast! I'm pretty happy with the 1080's. 112fps in BF1 at 1440p 144Hz, all ultra settings and 130% resolution scale. (Holy crap resolution scale is amazing!)

    Yeah, so many things weren't adding up lol. Cards were way too close. Supposedly wrong SLI bridge included with the motherboard. It slipped right in and was mostly functioning. I should have taken the top card out before installing the new one.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ryzen RGB PC.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	67.5 KB 
ID:	63751

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •