Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomisannoyed View Post
    My main problem is that my 4TB HD does not exist according to disk manager, I had downloaded intel rapid storage, when I load it it states that "my HDD has been protected from storage loss" or words to that effect, then it shows it as green ticked and "woking normally" but win 10 does not detect so i cant access or see it.
    Is the HDD visible inside the BIOS?

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    capital eorge

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Is the HDD visible inside the BIOS?
    Yes, bios detects it fine as does intel RS

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Disconnect all your SSDs/HDDs from your system except for the one that you're planning to install Windows on. Proceed to clear your CMOS.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	clearcmosStrixZ270EGaming.PNG 
Views:	3 
Size:	84.9 KB 
ID:	63759

    When you're finished clearing your CMOS, proceed to reinstall Windows on your SSD/HDD. Make sure to do a UEFI install and don't install any drivers or programs for now. Once you're done putting Windows on your SSD/HDD, shut your system down. Connect your HDD with your games to the motherboard and turn your system back on. Is it detected automatically in Windows?

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Seems a bit extreme but yea why not!
    Will try tomorrow thank you

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    jaume produtos

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Disconnect all your SSDs/HDDs from your system except for the one that you're planning to install Windows on. Proceed to clear your CMOS.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	clearcmosStrixZ270EGaming.PNG 
Views:	3 
Size:	84.9 KB 
ID:	63759

    When you're finished clearing your CMOS, proceed to reinstall Windows on your SSD/HDD. Make sure to do a UEFI install and don't install any drivers or programs for now. Once you're done putting Windows on your SSD/HDD, shut your system down. Connect your HDD with your games to the motherboard and turn your system back on. Is it detected automatically in Windows?

    Morning, I have returned in a better mood ...

    Yes, thank you this has worked! The HDD is now showing albeit showing as identical storage space as the SSD but I presume I can no safely just format it to get it to show the correct 4tb ...... is there any possibility of somehow recovering the 1tb of games I had installed on this drive for steam or do I accept the loss and format?

    Thank you for your help thus far

  6. #16
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,444

    You will just jave to accept the loss I think...sounds like the disk was included in raid wirh ssd at some point...

    In the end I'm inclined to think most of this is on the user not so much the bios update....matbe first posts need editing in fairness.

    If the system is working in future...just ignore bios updates. It's not necessary or compulsory....

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    You will just jave to accept the loss I think...sounds like the disk was included in raid wirh ssd at some point...

    In the end I'm inclined to think most of this is on the user not so much the bios update....matbe first posts need editing in fairness.

    If the system is working in future...just ignore bios updates. It's not necessary or compulsory....

    No I dont doubt that I probably fiddled with BIOS too much, however I was left with zero choice after the update to bios left me with constant BSODs when booting, bios was all I could access.

    I will from now on ignore BIOS updates as I know they can be very risky from past experience, I am currently long formatting my HDD with a tear in my eye but thank you for your help and ignoring my initial rant thread.

  8. #18
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,444

    Well, if the update left you BSODing then I can understand a rant

    Hope the format solves the HDD issue and everything shows up as it should etc.

    If you do want to update the BIOS it is probably best never to do it from the utilities within Windows....best to do it through EZ flash in BIOS or better yet BIOS flashback method.

    But if the system is running OK best to leave it well alone.

    Hope you can get back what was formatted away....


  9. #19
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Well, if the update left you BSODing then I can understand a rant

    Hope the format solves the HDD issue and everything shows up as it should etc.

    If you do want to update the BIOS it is probably best never to do it from the utilities within Windows....best to do it through EZ flash in BIOS or better yet BIOS flashback method.

    But if the system is running OK best to leave it well alone.

    Hope you can get back what was formatted away....


    The only thing ive lost now is literally 50-70 hours of downloading games from steam, plus about 15 hours of getting modded skyrim to work, plus a character that had about 90 hours in skyrim, so yea, I lost a LOT, is it replaceable? Yes, but time wise very costly!
    I will remember this forum though, as like others, my RGB LEDs on my mobo stopped working after a week and I have no clue why, I dont much care to be honest but I saw a lot of people with the same problem.
    Maybe when I can be bothered I will come back here to sort that out but its low on my list of priorities!

  10. #20
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Im glad to see you have it back up.
    Id highly doubt the BIOS update erased your drives.
    My guess is errors when updating.
    First, never use the auto update. Download and do it the old fashioned way using a USB and the rear ports.
    Second, always record your settings before the flash then load optomized defaults before the flash then go back in an set up your controllers the way you want after the flash.
    My bet is in the attempt to recover an error was made that caused the drive issue. Ive flashed more than once then didnt go back in and set my config files correctly before a reboot then did a face palm when it didnt boot. Just had to back up and enter the BIOS and set it all up correctly again. This is the norm so keep that in mind for future flashes. If you do it right you wont have drive problems.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •