Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 82
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array mr_allroy PC Specs
    mr_allroy PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700K
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X
    Sound CardSB ZX
    MonitorAsus pg278qr
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 500Gb x3
    Storage #2Seagate 4TB HD x2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseCorsair Carbide 740
    Power SupplyEnermax 1000W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LED
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly (hard mat)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1
    OS Win10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk R7000
    mr_allroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    So, I did the update. It went good. No MEI 0.0.0.0 error! I went the EX Update route. I haven't noticed anything new in this version. So I'm happy. Nothing out of the ordinary to report here.

    Thank you for your feedback folks!

  2. #22
    New ROGer Array Palamino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Exclamation 3401 Causing BSOD on Windows 10

    I updated my Maximus VIII Hero to 3401 and on first boot into Windows 10, it had a BSOD due to VIDEO_MEMORY_MANAGEMENT_INTERNAL

    After reboot, Windows 10 was fine. Then I attempted to run CPU test in Cinebench R15.038, and the system had a BSOD WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR before the image even started to render.

    After cold boot, I attempted to run CPU test again in Cinebench R15.038, and the system had a BSOD WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR before the image even started to render.

    Rolled BIOS back to 3201, and Windows 10 boots clean and Cinebench R15.038 CPU test runs to completion.

    Beware of 3401.

    Maximus VIII Hero 3201
    16GB RAM (2 x 8GB GSkill 2400 running at 2400 using XMP profile)
    i7 6700K at stock frequency
    ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 O8G 8GB video card
    Nvidia driver 378.92
    Windows 10 64bit

  3. #23
    New ROGer Array WoodyLZ PC Specs
    WoodyLZ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus MAXIMUS VIII HERO ATX LGA1151
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz Quad-Core
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW2 GAMING iCX
    Sound CardOn-board ROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO 256GB M.2-2280 SSD
    Storage #22x Seagate Constellation ES.3 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM - RAID 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseLian-Li PC-9NB ATX Mid Tower Case
    Power SupplyEVGA 850W 80+ Gold Modular ATX Power Supply
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Logitech G502 Wired Optical Mouse
    Mouse Pad IZeeker
    Headset/Speakers Cambridge Soundworks - Soundworks 2.1 from 1996
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterTP Link Archer AC3200 Wireless Tri-Band Gigabit Router
    WoodyLZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I updated using the USB BIOS Flashback and all went well. In the past all I've been able to overclock to was 4200 MHz, no other bios has been able to hold any faster settings. With 3401 I've been stable at 4600MHz... I agree with Peki22, good bios!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4600.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	243.1 KB 
ID:	63890

  4. #24
    ROG Member Array Kiernon PC Specs
    Kiernon PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Hero X - BIOS 1704
    Processori7 8700k - 4.8 @ 1.25v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 16GB 3200MHz DDR4 Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZ)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA XC Ultra RTX 2080 +100/+700
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster Z
    MonitorS2716DG 144mhz 1440p G-Sync + ASUS VG248QE 144mhz
    Storage #1Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseEnthoo EVOLV ATX Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
    Keyboard Ducky Skyline - Cherry Blue
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Sennheiser HD598
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z623 THX 2.1
    OS Windows 10 x64 Pro 1809
    Kiernon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Palamino View Post
    I updated my Maximus VIII Hero to 3401 and on first boot into Windows 10, it had a BSOD due to VIDEO_MEMORY_MANAGEMENT_INTERNAL

    After reboot, Windows 10 was fine. Then I attempted to run CPU test in Cinebench R15.038, and the system had a BSOD WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR before the image even started to render.

    After cold boot, I attempted to run CPU test again in Cinebench R15.038, and the system had a BSOD WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR before the image even started to render.

    Rolled BIOS back to 3201, and Windows 10 boots clean and Cinebench R15.038 CPU test runs to completion.

    Beware of 3401.
    Hey there, Palamino.

    Your experiences made me give pause for concern, so I went ahead and grabbed Cinebench R15.038, and fired it up to see if I had any of your similar issues.
    Both OpenGL and CPU tests ran fine for me on 3401(ran fresh from download, and retested after a reboot), so I think you may have something else going on there, man.
    If others are on 3401 and can test out Cinebench R15.038 and see if they are having issues, that'd be helpful to see if something's up.

    Do you happen to have AI Suite 3 installed, by chance? I'm just curious.

    At any rate, it's still good news that 3201 works fine for you, and things are stable rolling back.
    In dreams, I walk with you.

  5. #25
    ROG Enthusiast Array w4tch0 PC Specs
    w4tch0 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K @ 4.5GHz
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X 8GB
    MonitorBenq XL2411, Eizo FS2333
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Crucial MX200 512GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Define R5
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 750 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Zowie FK1
    Headset Audio-technica ADG1
    Headset/Speakers Kurzweil KS-40A
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit build 1607
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Those WHEA errors are usually a sign of unstable memory. Try bumping your DRAM voltage slightly. Or maybe your memory kit just does not get along well with some new default settings/presets.

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    208

    Quote Originally Posted by Palamino View Post
    I updated my Maximus VIII Hero to 3401 and on first boot into Windows 10, it had a BSOD due to VIDEO_MEMORY_MANAGEMENT_INTERNAL

    After reboot, Windows 10 was fine. Then I attempted to run CPU test in Cinebench R15.038, and the system had a BSOD WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR before the image even started to render.

    After cold boot, I attempted to run CPU test again in Cinebench R15.038, and the system had a BSOD WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR before the image even started to render.

    Rolled BIOS back to 3201, and Windows 10 boots clean and Cinebench R15.038 CPU test runs to completion.

    Beware of 3401.

    Maximus VIII Hero 3201
    16GB RAM (2 x 8GB GSkill 2400 running at 2400 using XMP profile)
    i7 6700K at stock frequency
    ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 O8G 8GB video card
    Nvidia driver 378.92
    Windows 10 64bit
    I think your problem is your hardware configuration and bios settings. No problem here wih Bios 3401, works great !

  7. #27
    New ROGer Array kandoryan PC Specs
    kandoryan PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)pc
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorDualCore Intel Core i3-6100, 3700 MHz (37 x 100)
    Memory (part number)8116 MB (DDR4-2133 DDR4 SDRAM)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti (2 GB)
    Storage #1TOSHIBA DT01ACA100 ATA Device
    Storage #2TOSHIBA DT01ACA100 ATA Device
    Casethermaltake v3
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 pro

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Angry the same **** all this updates has the same bug

    guys the same **** happends a upgrade to 3401 and when i turn off the pc the cooler fans and the cpu fans still working on like is in sleep or hibernation state i see my bios configuration and all seems ok my windows configurations are fine in fact i always disable thee hibernation mode and sleep modes so its a ****in bug from all this bios updates someone has a fix for ot? plz let me know

  8. #28
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Update worked fine for me

  9. #29
    New ROGer Array Palamino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Kiernon View Post
    Hey there, Palamino.

    Your experiences made me give pause for concern, so I went ahead and grabbed Cinebench R15.038, and fired it up to see if I had any of your similar issues.
    Both OpenGL and CPU tests ran fine for me on 3401(ran fresh from download, and retested after a reboot), so I think you may have something else going on there, man.
    If others are on 3401 and can test out Cinebench R15.038 and see if they are having issues, that'd be helpful to see if something's up.

    Do you happen to have AI Suite 3 installed, by chance? I'm just curious.

    At any rate, it's still good news that 3201 works fine for you, and things are stable rolling back.
    I do have AI Suite 3 installed. When I select the Version menu from AI Suite, it says Dual Intelligent Processors 5 1.03.60 and System Information 1.00.22

    One difference I can think of, but have not revisited: When I configured 3401 to use my XMP memory profile, I responded Yes, when prompted if I wanted the BIOS to also optimize for maximum performance. (Sorry, can't remember the actual verbiage of the prompt the BIOS presents when you switch to XMP from the simple BIOS page, not the Advanced pages). When I configured the 3201 to use XMP memory profile, I responded No, when prompted.

  10. #30
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    boot freeze

    After this last update sometimes when the pc boot on the screen appears like some graphic glitches then freezes and i have to hard reset it with pw button. My specs are 6700k at 4.5Ghz, 950Pro, Hero VIII, Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB 2x 8GB DDR4 3000MHz CL15 (maxim tweak 2), RM750I, Gigabyte 1080 Xtreme gaming. I had the 2201 bios before and didnt had this problem. Any ideas from what could be

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •