Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array mikeymontz PC Specs
    mikeymontz PC Specs
    Motherboardz270 code
    Processor7700k
    Memory (part number)16gb rgb trident z 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1gtx 980
    Monitorasus rog swift 27 vanilla
    Storage #1samsung 960 evo
    Storage #23 other sata hdd and a 2tb mech for storage
    CPU Coolernzxt x52
    Casecorsair 600t/ nzxt s340 elite
    Power Supplycorsair rm1000
    Keyboard razer bw te
    Mouse razer mamba te
    Mouse Pad a big black and red map mousepad from amazon
    Headset/Speakers yamaha cr3020 receiver with 2 big ass speakers
    OS win 10 pro 64bit
    Accessory #1 beer
    Accessory #2 booze
    Accessory #3 b*tches

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    having issues with front panel audio

    ive been having issues with my front panel audio on my z270 code... i tried using my system with just the bare essentials and i still could not figure it out.

    i just tried switching from HD audio to ac97 in the realtek software and low and behold my headphones work again.. albeit there is still a little interference (yes ive tried several pairs of headphones)

    there seems to be an issue with the realtek software because b4 this i would plug in my headphones and i could initially hear sound coming through up until i press the button acknowleding it is headphones and not front speakers. there is an issue where the impedence just drops the volume..

    does anyone know a fix for this?

    or am i stuck getting a dac for my headphones??

    btw the rear audio panel works great and i have my system hooked up to a yamaha cr-3020 receiver

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi mikeymontz

    When you connected the audio cable from your case to the AAFP header on the motherboard did you connect the AC-97 connector or HD Audio connector ?

    HD Audio is superior to AC-97.

    My case has both connectors on one cable is why I ask.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array sk2play's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    139
    Posts
    1,058

    I connect my SBZ card via Optical (AKA SPDIF) to a Denon Receiver and can plug Headphone into the Denon Receiver. At various times with no logical reason, I have to switch in the Sound Properties from Speakers to SPDIF and visa versa depending on the driver used. Sometimes a Win10 update will make this change as well. Check your sound properties DEFAULT being used. Play a song and if the one signalling sound is not the DEFAULT, right click on it and change it to the default and test.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sound Properties.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	281.8 KB 
ID:	63829
    Corsair 500R Case, H110 Hydro, 1200AX PSU, Asus Maximus Hero VI MB, Intel 4770K CPU, Gigabyte GPU GV-N98TWF3OC-6GD, G-Skill Trident 2400MHz 32GB, Crucial M500 960GB SSD, Seagate 6TB HDD x2, Creative SBZ to Denon AVR-4311ci - Infinity Primus 5.1 w/Klipsch Sub XW-300d, HP ZR30w 30" S-IPS LCD, W10 64bit

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array mikeymontz PC Specs
    mikeymontz PC Specs
    Motherboardz270 code
    Processor7700k
    Memory (part number)16gb rgb trident z 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1gtx 980
    Monitorasus rog swift 27 vanilla
    Storage #1samsung 960 evo
    Storage #23 other sata hdd and a 2tb mech for storage
    CPU Coolernzxt x52
    Casecorsair 600t/ nzxt s340 elite
    Power Supplycorsair rm1000
    Keyboard razer bw te
    Mouse razer mamba te
    Mouse Pad a big black and red map mousepad from amazon
    Headset/Speakers yamaha cr3020 receiver with 2 big ass speakers
    OS win 10 pro 64bit
    Accessory #1 beer
    Accessory #2 booze
    Accessory #3 b*tches

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    s340

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi mikeymontz

    When you connected the audio cable from your case to the AAFP header on the motherboard did you connect the AC-97 connector or HD Audio connector ?

    HD Audio is superior to AC-97.

    My case has both connectors on one cable is why I ask.
    i just got a new case.. an s340 elite.. the front audio cable is only a hd audio connector there isnt a regular ac-97 at all.

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    I'm using headphones and I have them connected to the motherboard jacks as it has much better sound than the audio jacks on the case.

    Do you have the HD Audio controller enabled in the bios ? It should be Advanced tab - Onboard Device Configuration

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array mikeymontz PC Specs
    mikeymontz PC Specs
    Motherboardz270 code
    Processor7700k
    Memory (part number)16gb rgb trident z 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1gtx 980
    Monitorasus rog swift 27 vanilla
    Storage #1samsung 960 evo
    Storage #23 other sata hdd and a 2tb mech for storage
    CPU Coolernzxt x52
    Casecorsair 600t/ nzxt s340 elite
    Power Supplycorsair rm1000
    Keyboard razer bw te
    Mouse razer mamba te
    Mouse Pad a big black and red map mousepad from amazon
    Headset/Speakers yamaha cr3020 receiver with 2 big ass speakers
    OS win 10 pro 64bit
    Accessory #1 beer
    Accessory #2 booze
    Accessory #3 b*tches

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    pames cherry

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    I'm using headphones and I have them connected to the motherboard jacks as it has much better sound than the audio jacks on the case.

    Do you have the HD Audio controller enabled in the bios ? It should be Advanced tab - Onboard Device Configuration
    yes its enabled... i have my speakers hooked up to the back. the convenience of it being in the front was so i can easily hook up my headphones without having to go to the back of the case..

    i rerouted all my wires and even tried unplugging all my usb devices

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    I haven't tried the jacks on my case with the Maximus IX code yet, let me do that and I'll let you know if there are any issues.

    Give me a few minutes while I try it out.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    All right

    So I connected my headphones to the case jacks and when I did SupremeFX came up and asked me; "What did you just plug in" ? It had mic checked and said something about the impedence and said it was set to extreme. In sonic studio 3 it gives you soft, balanced or extreme.

    It sounded great and the EQ worked with it too.

    Did SupremeFX ask you what you just plugged in ?

    Do you have the Realtek audio driver installed along with sonic studio 3 ?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sonic studio III.png 
Views:	8 
Size:	247.6 KB 
ID:	63844

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array mikeymontz PC Specs
    mikeymontz PC Specs
    Motherboardz270 code
    Processor7700k
    Memory (part number)16gb rgb trident z 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1gtx 980
    Monitorasus rog swift 27 vanilla
    Storage #1samsung 960 evo
    Storage #23 other sata hdd and a 2tb mech for storage
    CPU Coolernzxt x52
    Casecorsair 600t/ nzxt s340 elite
    Power Supplycorsair rm1000
    Keyboard razer bw te
    Mouse razer mamba te
    Mouse Pad a big black and red map mousepad from amazon
    Headset/Speakers yamaha cr3020 receiver with 2 big ass speakers
    OS win 10 pro 64bit
    Accessory #1 beer
    Accessory #2 booze
    Accessory #3 b*tches

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    All right

    So I connected my headphones to the case jacks and when I did SupremeFX came up and asked me; "What did you just plug in" ? It had mic checked and said something about the impedence and said it was set to extreme. In sonic studio 3 it gives you soft, balanced or extreme.

    It sounded great and the EQ worked with it too.

    Did SupremeFX ask you what you just plugged in ?

    Do you have the Realtek audio driver installed along with sonic studio 3 ?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sonic studio III.png 
Views:	8 
Size:	247.6 KB 
ID:	63844

    ya i guess i got a faulty board.... my 2nd 1 already.... 1st board the LEDS didnt even work...

    usually as soon as i plug my headphones in i can initially hear stuff coming out of the headphones.... as soon as i answer the "What did you just plug in" to headphones the sound just goes wayyyy down... ill be able to hear sound through static at max volume but barely...

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    I wonder if you need to change to headphones in playback devices ?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •