Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Bclk

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    194

    Bclk

    Hi there,

    I'm not all that well know wen it comes to Overclocking etc..
    I have been fiddeling around in the bios to get my ram speeds as high and stable as possible.
    When i put BCLK @ 112.5 i can get my ram on 3603 mhz, but after windows is loaded i get nothing but a black screen!
    Also i don't want to dmg my cpu or components i'm using.
    so i would like to know what is the max BCLK i can set my system to and or how can i tell/calculate this ?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    I would advise you to go ahead and check the appropriate OC guide for your platform!
    You will find that BCLK settings will influence everything in your system (CPU, GPU, RAM, storage)
    If you share the details of your system, I can help you locate the appropriate OC guide...

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    You will have to list your system equipment, particularly motherboard, video card, CPU and cooling. There are many differences that apply to answering your question.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MNMadman PC Specs
    MNMadman PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia TITAN Xp Jedi Order Collectors Edition
    MonitorAcer XB270HU 27" 1440p 144Hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 2TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerCustom Liquid Cooling Loop
    CasePrimoChill Praxis WetBench White/Black
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Logitech G Pro
    Headset Logitech G633
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1803
    MNMadman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    146

    Quote Originally Posted by jbasemoine View Post
    Hi there,

    I'm not all that well know wen it comes to Overclocking etc..
    I have been fiddeling around in the bios to get my ram speeds as high and stable as possible.
    When i put BCLK @ 112.5 i can get my ram on 3603 mhz, but after windows is loaded i get nothing but a black screen!
    Also i don't want to dmg my cpu or components i'm using.
    so i would like to know what is the max BCLK i can set my system to and or how can i tell/calculate this ?
    There is no calculation to be done. The only way to see what you can set the BCLK to on your system is to test it on your system. Most likely, other hardware in your system (GPU maybe) doesn't like the high BCLK so it gives you the black screen.

    On my system If I set the BCLK too high, the USB stops working.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Demoniacstar PC Specs
    Demoniacstar PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)none
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1800x
    Memory (part number)tdrgd4 16g3000hc16cdc01
    Graphics Card #1XFX R9 390/ EK water block OC'd
    Graphics Card #2XFX R9 390/ EK water block OC'd
    Sound Cardon board
    Monitor2X 24" veiwsonic 1080p/ 55"Samsung 4k curved
    Storage #1Samsung evo 840, 250gig sys drive
    Storage #25 other mixed hdd's
    CPU CoolerEK C6H mono block
    CaseThermaltake core x9
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1500w dps rgb
    Keyboard Corsair k65
    Mouse R.A.T. 9
    Headset Turtle Beach Star Wars X wing edition
    Mouse Pad WOW desk mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    Accessory #1 Airplex radical 2 480 on gpus swifttech d5
    Accessory #2 Airplex radical 2 480 on cpu swifttech d5
    Accessory #3 Airplex radical 2 280 on sb p500 TT
    Demoniacstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    160

    Quote Originally Posted by jbasemoine View Post
    Hi there,

    I'm not all that well know wen it comes to Overclocking etc..
    I have been fiddeling around in the bios to get my ram speeds as high and stable as possible.
    When i put BCLK @ 112.5 i can get my ram on 3603 mhz, but after windows is loaded i get nothing but a black screen!
    Also i don't want to dmg my cpu or components i'm using.
    so i would like to know what is the max BCLK i can set my system to and or how can i tell/calculate this ?

    when raising bclk you will need to also push the 1.8 pll voltage ...and the 2.5 sb voltage will help to ....the black screen definitely says to me you need pll voltage....
    how high these voltages must go depends on your system and their is a max voltage to NOT CROSS!! all found in the guids you will run through
    there are plenty of great Ryzen oc guides out there ... everyone here will tell you the same thing..
    find them, read them..study them....lol...just google "ryzen overclocking guide" ...i can help you with issues pertaining to certain things ....but if you're new to overclocking and want to learn i'm not even going to help you unless you go study up on things first....
    then you can come find me on Google+ .... Shane"DemoniacStar"Herald we can use hangouts and i can help threw their ......
    don't expect to much out of your rig right now .....weird things happen when overclocking ....i have formated twice already due to ram issues and overclocking! things in windows go crazy sometimes...buts all a good time ....lol...and seeing these numbers in benchmarks are fricken amazing to me man....its awesome ... its RYZEN! lol

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    194

    I have the following hardware:

    Amd ryzen 1800X
    Crosshair VI Hero (ofc)
    Zotac 1070 AMP! nvidia
    Creative Z sound blaster
    2x8gig G.skill trident Z 3600mhz (F4-3600C16D-16GTZR, Trident Z RGB, XMP)
    650 watt Cooler master PSU

    I have been reading some guides but i lack parts of knowledge to fully understand all the guides.
    Also when i overclock the CPU does the SMT still work or will this be disabled ?
    As far as i know (and understand) only by clocking the BCLK are you able to clock the Ram speed up to 3600 or are there more way to clock the Ram hight/above the 3200mhz limitation there is now ?
    And would it be possible that higher ram speed can be achieved with a bios update, or is it more a Hardware isseu/related ?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MNMadman PC Specs
    MNMadman PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia TITAN Xp Jedi Order Collectors Edition
    MonitorAcer XB270HU 27" 1440p 144Hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 2TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerCustom Liquid Cooling Loop
    CasePrimoChill Praxis WetBench White/Black
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Logitech G Pro
    Headset Logitech G633
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1803
    MNMadman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    146

    SMT will remain enabled unless you manually disable it.

    BCLK is the only way to get above 3200 RAM speed for now. That might change after the big update from AMD going to manufacturers in May. That update is all about RAM overclocking.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Demoniacstar PC Specs
    Demoniacstar PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)none
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1800x
    Memory (part number)tdrgd4 16g3000hc16cdc01
    Graphics Card #1XFX R9 390/ EK water block OC'd
    Graphics Card #2XFX R9 390/ EK water block OC'd
    Sound Cardon board
    Monitor2X 24" veiwsonic 1080p/ 55"Samsung 4k curved
    Storage #1Samsung evo 840, 250gig sys drive
    Storage #25 other mixed hdd's
    CPU CoolerEK C6H mono block
    CaseThermaltake core x9
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1500w dps rgb
    Keyboard Corsair k65
    Mouse R.A.T. 9
    Headset Turtle Beach Star Wars X wing edition
    Mouse Pad WOW desk mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    Accessory #1 Airplex radical 2 480 on gpus swifttech d5
    Accessory #2 Airplex radical 2 480 on cpu swifttech d5
    Accessory #3 Airplex radical 2 280 on sb p500 TT
    Demoniacstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    160

    Quote Originally Posted by jbasemoine View Post
    I have the following hardware:

    Amd ryzen 1800X
    Crosshair VI Hero (ofc)
    Zotac 1070 AMP! nvidia
    Creative Z sound blaster
    2x8gig G.skill trident Z 3600mhz (F4-3600C16D-16GTZR, Trident Z RGB, XMP)
    650 watt Cooler master PSU

    I have been reading some guides but i lack parts of knowledge to fully understand all the guides.
    Also when i overclock the CPU does the SMT still work or will this be disabled ?
    As far as i know (and understand) only by clocking the BCLK are you able to clock the Ram speed up to 3600 or are there more way to clock the Ram hight/above the 3200mhz limitation there is now ?
    And would it be possible that higher ram speed can be achieved with a bios update, or is it more a Hardware isseu/related ?
    you on google plus?......hit me up ....we can chat and work on ocing things .....i can help ya out....i have had pretty good luck with my ram ...
    my cpu has hit 4.2 ghz but i did not like the high voltage i had to use so i stay a little over 4ghz at all times...i got my ram to 3000 mhz by locking in 2666 and raising bclk ...but it takes a crap ton of 1.8 pll voltage to do it....like 1.97....and i hear tell that max pll on air is 2.4 volts so i know the boards llc is making it creep close to that .....i had a couple people send me hangout invites but somehow they went away .... i think the ignore button got hit on accident...something crazy happened ... we could start a Ryzen oc chat group and work on this all together ....the more heads the better ...and it sure beats posting in forums and going back and forth with messages on here......

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    194

    Quote Originally Posted by Demoniacstar View Post
    you on google plus?......hit me up ....we can chat and work on ocing things .....i can help ya out....i have had pretty good luck with my ram ...
    my cpu has hit 4.2 ghz but i did not like the high voltage i had to use so i stay a little over 4ghz at all times...i got my ram to 3000 mhz by locking in 2666 and raising bclk ...but it takes a crap ton of 1.8 pll voltage to do it....like 1.97....and i hear tell that max pll on air is 2.4 volts so i know the boards llc is making it creep close to that .....i had a couple people send me hangout invites but somehow they went away .... i think the ignore button got hit on accident...something crazy happened ... we could start a Ryzen oc chat group and work on this all together ....the more heads the better ...and it sure beats posting in forums and going back and forth with messages on here......
    Thank you for help and support to help me with Over clocking i really appreciate it.
    unfortunately i don't have Google+.
    For now i i decided to leave my pc as it is, it's running on 3200mhz but i'm going to wait for the big update, also i just read on the forum of Total war: Warhammer that sega will be launching there RYZEN update in the upcomming weeks (assumeble before may) if that game get's patched i can wait for the big amd update!
    And i hope to avoid Ocing as much as possible at this time untill everything is running more stable and most of the updates are availeble!

    I would like to thank everyone that repleid on this post for there help and support!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •