Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: LLC Quickie

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    LLC Quickie

    Older bios had LLC levels described as 'normal', 'high, 'extreme' etc. Which was self explanatory

    This current UEFI has them simply listed as 'level 1', 'level 2' etc.

    So, which level is the highest (or extreme etc ). Is it level 1, or level 5. Browsing around I find conflicting answers. Some seem to suggest level 1 is highest, others level 5 ?!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MNMadman PC Specs
    MNMadman PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia TITAN Xp Jedi Order Collectors Edition
    MonitorAcer XB270HU 27" 1440p 144Hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 2TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerCustom Liquid Cooling Loop
    CasePrimoChill Praxis WetBench White/Black
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Logitech G Pro
    Headset Logitech G633
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1803
    MNMadman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    146

    For some boards, the highest is Level 1.

    For the C6H board, the highest is Level 5.

    Most people recommend that you stay away from the highest levels of LLC as they tend to over-volt by quite a bit.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by MNMadman View Post
    For some boards, the highest is Level 1.

    For the C6H board, the highest is Level 5.

    Most people recommend that you stay away from the highest levels of LLC as they tend to over-volt by quite a bit.
    Thanks for clarifying that. Level 2 or 3 seem to hold the voltage fine at ~1.375v on my OC (4015 Mhz with a +0.025 offset)

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array AfterShock PC Specs
    AfterShock PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1080TI
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorAsus VE278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP500 M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i V2 Extreme
    Casecorsair crystal 570x
    Power SupplyCORSAIR RMx Series 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe mk2
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset AfterGlow
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterBuffalo WZR-1750DHP

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    colchester site

    setting it to 5 is major overkill. I need slightly more than 1.4v to get 4.1ghz stable so I adjusted my offset to give me 1.395v in bios while setting my LLC at 4 which gives me the tiny boost to 1.417v under heavy loads.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by AfterShock View Post
    setting it to 5 is major overkill. I need slightly more than 1.4v to get 4.1ghz stable so I adjusted my offset to give me 1.395v in bios while setting my LLC at 4 which gives me the tiny boost to 1.417v under heavy loads.
    I haven't tried 4.1 yet but at 4.015 I'm pretty close, which just goes to show the variance of the Ryzen I guess, as my offset is +0.01875v and the system is stable, with LLC at 3 and the load volatage (Cinebench) staying put at 1.352v

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array AfterShock PC Specs
    AfterShock PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1080TI
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorAsus VE278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP500 M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i V2 Extreme
    Casecorsair crystal 570x
    Power SupplyCORSAIR RMx Series 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe mk2
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset AfterGlow
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterBuffalo WZR-1750DHP

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    litoranea mexico

    I would also recommend grabbing real bench for a stability test, it stresses the system as a whole. I would do a run of cinebench and if that passed I would do 15 min of realbench using the 8 gig memory preset if that passed I pushed a little further, rinse and repeat, my final stability test was a 4 hour run of realbench.

    I'm at the brick wall of my chip, any further meaningful increase requires too much voltage. it took 1.375 at 4ghz to 1.4+ at 4.1 which I was still ok with but thats about my limit with this chip.
    Last edited by AfterShock; 04-11-2017 at 03:29 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by AfterShock View Post
    I would also recommend grabbing real bench for a stability test, it stresses the system as a whole. I would do a run of cinebench and if that passed I would do 15 min of realbench using the 8 gig memory preset if that passed I pushed a little further, rinse and repeat, my final stability test was a 4 hour run of realbench.

    I'm at the brick wall of my chip, any further meaningful increase requires too much voltage. it took 1.375 at 4ghz to 1.4+ at 4.1 which I was still ok with but thats about my limit with this chip.

    My Swiftech H220x AIO is drying up (resevoir now just above the minimum mark) so although it's working fine at the moment, I might wait til thats sorted out before trying lengthy and thus consistently hot stress tests. But yes, will locate real bench.

    Other than that, rather than trying to push from 4015 to 4100, with the small percentage gain that will give, I'm more interested in getting my RAM over the 3000mhz mark as from numerous testers that looks to be where higher gains will be made, rather than an extra 85mzh of CPU speed. I'm currently stuck on 2933mhz with my 32gb of Vengeance LPX 3200, but since someone else has posted they got their 32gb of Dominator to 3200mhz, I'm thinking the Vengeance just doesn't have what it takes at the moment, at least not on this bios (1002)
    Last edited by Theagg; 04-11-2017 at 04:05 PM.

  8. #8
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    LLC 1 works quite well for everyday use. Just a stock capture here. That said, the CPUs don't pull much current at all, so I don't expect big changes. Small FFT Prime load hitting the VRM.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	16d680cd_LLC1lightheavy2jp.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	40.4 KB 
ID:	63870

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a4d7f920_LLC1lightheavy1jp.jpg 
Views:	41 
Size:	40.4 KB 
ID:	63871


    Blue trace = Vcore
    Yellow trace = current (peak is around 130W)

    1.40 VID set in UEFI gives around 1.38V "idle", dipping no more than 20mV when hit with load.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •