Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 94
  1. #1
    ROG: Sempai Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVFZ and CVI HERO
    ProcessorFX-9590 and Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX3M2A1866C9 and CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 for Ryzen
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    Storage #2WD 300GB VelociRaptor X 3
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterBelkin N300
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    1,593

    New Ryzen 7 1800X build impressions.

    This is not a review as there are many out there. Mostly good and some complaining of poor optimization when gaming. Other reviewers basing their results on a 3.5GHz saying locked frequency and skewed graphs showing better results for Intel I7-6900K or 6950X. I take those reviews as Biased with a pinch of salt.
    Just check out the price performance ratio. OMG has Intel been ripping us off.?

    This is my latest build log based on the following specs:
    CPU: RYZEN 7 1800X
    MB: ROG Crosshair VI Hero
    PSU: Antec HCP 850w Platinum Pro
    DIMMs: Corsair 16GB (2X8)DDR4 CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 .
    AIO: Corsair Hydro H115i
    Case: Corsair Graphite 780T with all ML fans.

    BIOS.
    I updated to Bios 1002 to try. Not tried any of the other revisions as yet.
    Qcode listings have many changes and some new unfamiliar listings. Qcode Od is undocumented which I got a lot off originally.
    Once Bios was configured correctly it dosen't happen unless I switch the PSU off atm.
    When I power on, the system Posts but sends me to Bios each time. I have to select boot priority to one of the two entries listed in Boot menu.

    Boot Menu list has two entries:
    1. M.2 Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
    2. Windows Boot Manager (M.2 Samsung SSD EVO 500GB) When I choose this entry Bios then goes to the OS.
    I can't as yet boot straight to Windows. Bios tells me to adjust\disable Fan Speed low limit option. Tried all kinds of settings with no luck yet.

    I had issues with my XMP profile which does not work. I manually keyed in the SPD Timings and Voltage and now clocked at 2933mhz.

    It was easy to get 4GHz on the CPU, I just used the multiplier with BCLK at 100MHz.
    One thing I have noticed is my temperatures dont read correct at 50C idle and research tells me that is an incorrect reading. My temperature probe tells me around 20C lower is correct.

    Initial results based on Cinebench R15, CPUid HWMonitor, Aida64 and CPUz

    I tested for 20mins in AIDA64 and temps got to 76C however the Ryzen Balance set for performance kicked in and increased my fans then temps settled at 67C.
    I wanted to try Realbench stress test but I cant get it to run atm. The app opens but when I click on test nothing happens. Any advice there would be appreciated.

    Here are some Stress test results:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cinebench scores.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	112.7 KB 
ID:	63892
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AIDA64 Temperatures and RAM clocks.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	227.0 KB 
ID:	63893
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AIDA64 Voltages and clocks.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	355.3 KB 
ID:	63894
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	stabilitytest Aida64.png 
Views:	4 
Size:	41.7 KB 
ID:	63896
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AIDA64 stats.jpg 
Views:	288 
Size:	104.8 KB 
ID:	63895

    Initial result are stable at 4.0GHz and i'm not done yet. Any comments or advice much appreciated.

    MM
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My other System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair V Formula Z GPU:EVGA GTX 980 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD FX-9590 Cooler: Corsair Hydro H105 Case: Corsair 750D

    Memory:Corsair Dominator Platinum@1866MHz x 16GB SSD:Samsung 500GB 840 EVO




  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Michelle Rudan...yes way!)
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    Processori7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2GTX Titan X
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorDell U2711
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Monsta 480s, EK Supremacy Evo, Dual EK TitanX WaterBlocks
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the gutter but looking at the stars
    Reputation
    386
    Posts
    11,606

    Will follow this thread with interest...much happier to see real users experience as opposed to for or against paid reviews.

    One question...since AMD have said 1.35v maximum for CPU health and longevity...how come so many people are pushing more voltage? has the 1.35v been too conservative ?

    Is your RAM on the QVL for the board MeanMachine? I wanted to know if the stuff coming from G.Skill for the platform and stuff on the QVL is plug and play...because lots of people were sticking Intel tuned RAM on and having a hard time getting it to run...


  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    I have the 250GB version of the 960 Evo SSD, though without ram sticks, my build is still incomplete (they won't ship for weeks apparently).

    I have been wondering, if there might be a gain to use the official Samsung NVMe drivers as opposed to keep using the one presumably provided by Microsoft. I've also wondered how to do exactly that.

  4. #4
    ROG: Sempai Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVFZ and CVI HERO
    ProcessorFX-9590 and Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX3M2A1866C9 and CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 for Ryzen
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    Storage #2WD 300GB VelociRaptor X 3
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterBelkin N300
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    1,593

    That 1.45V on the core is what it defaulted to on auto and I haven't tried it at 1.35V and yes I think 1.35V is probably safe for 3.5Ghz. Probably will drop temps a little if stability is maintained. I think those recommendations are for AIR cooling specs. This Bios has provision for AIO coolers to clock higher.

    My RAM was not listed on the QVL as I took a chance when ordering. I could exchange them if I want but it's too early yet and I think I can get more yet.
    I'ts early days and I bet more Bios revisions are forth coming. Yea I read many are having issues atm.
    The Bios is so comprehensive and more settings than you can throw a stick at for RAM. I like the Bios but need to research more what all these new settings are about.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My other System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair V Formula Z GPU:EVGA GTX 980 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD FX-9590 Cooler: Corsair Hydro H105 Case: Corsair 750D

    Memory:Corsair Dominator Platinum@1866MHz x 16GB SSD:Samsung 500GB 840 EVO




  5. #5
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Michelle Rudan...yes way!)
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    Processori7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2GTX Titan X
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorDell U2711
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Monsta 480s, EK Supremacy Evo, Dual EK TitanX WaterBlocks
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the gutter but looking at the stars
    Reputation
    386
    Posts
    11,606

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    I think those recommendations are for AIR cooling specs.
    Right you are...that makes more sense then...

    Sure there are lots of BIOS revisions to come...interesting platform for sure!


  6. #6
    ROG: Sempai Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVFZ and CVI HERO
    ProcessorFX-9590 and Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX3M2A1866C9 and CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 for Ryzen
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    Storage #2WD 300GB VelociRaptor X 3
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterBelkin N300
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    1,593

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Will follow this thread with interest...much happier to see real users experience as opposed to for or against paid reviews.

    One question...since AMD have said 1.35v maximum for CPU health and longevity...how come so many people are pushing more voltage? has the 1.35v been too conservative ?

    Is your RAM on the QVL for the board MeanMachine? I wanted to know if the stuff coming from G.Skill for the platform and stuff on the QVL is plug and play...because lots of people were sticking Intel tuned RAM on and having a hard time getting it to run...
    GDAY Arne

    I think those recommendations of 1.35v on the Core are for air cooling and I think it would restrict your OC.
    I left mine atm on Auto as there is an ability in Bios to OC if you have AIO cooling.

    No I don't think my RAM are listed on the QVL. I took a chance when ordering and could return them if they don't work.
    This Bios is so comprehensive. Trying to get my head around some of the RAM configs and settings is going to take me a while so I can understand some frustration.

    Sorry guys my reply took so long to go thru and I thought it was not going to happen. Now I cant delete it.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 04-12-2017 at 11:34 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My other System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair V Formula Z GPU:EVGA GTX 980 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD FX-9590 Cooler: Corsair Hydro H105 Case: Corsair 750D

    Memory:Corsair Dominator Platinum@1866MHz x 16GB SSD:Samsung 500GB 840 EVO




  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array SexyTerrorisT PC Specs
    SexyTerrorisT PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    Processor1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 SC
    Monitor23' Acer 120 Hz GD245HQ
    Storage #1Samsung 1TB 960 Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-SUPREMACY EVO AMD, EK-CoolStream XE 360 ,EK-CoolStream CE 280 , EK-XTOP Revo Dual D5 PWM Serial
    Case750D airflow edition
    Power SupplySeasonic 850 Prime Titanium
    Keyboard Razer Lycosa
    Mouse Razer Lachessis 5600
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    32

    Sweet build mate! I am waiting ram to restock and sent to me so i can build mine!

    I also go the feeling of a ton of paid reviewers out there, or just plain ignorant people that don't know what they are talking about.
    Games might be better of right now on higher clocked 4 core cpu but with new games that will utilise Vulkan and DX12 API from the get go and not added towards the end of development as a marketing ploy will be pushing draw calls from all cores not just 1... Couple of bios updates and faster memory for Ryzen and the argument is barely relevant anymore for higher clocked i7 or i5 quad cores.

    Intel has been ripping us off with marginal performance gains since the introduction of the Nehalem and price gauging. AMD has finally returned into the fray at a point of time were intel is stuck at 14 nm! Wise move for AMD to licence samsung lithography process and ARM patents.

    I wouldn't push voltage above 1.4 volts even with water. You should strive to use the get it stable with the least voltage possible if you want your cpu to live a long life.

  8. #8
    ROG: Sempai Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVFZ and CVI HERO
    ProcessorFX-9590 and Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX3M2A1866C9 and CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 for Ryzen
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    Storage #2WD 300GB VelociRaptor X 3
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterBelkin N300
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    1,593

    Quote Originally Posted by SexyTerrorisT View Post
    Sweet build mate! I am waiting ram to restock and sent to me so i can build mine!

    I wouldn't push voltage above 1.4 volts even with water. You should strive to use the get it stable with the least voltage possible if you want your cpu to live a long life.
    Yea thanks for that SexyTerrorisT Being a new platform and all will take some time to sort teething problems out especially the new Bios and temperature sensing issues.

    I'm not too concerned with the Core voltage as is on auto atm cause my temps are in check. I was worried at first as temp readings I found were about 20C lower than what was being actually reported.
    I found this statement from AMD saying the primary temperature reporting from a sensor called “T Control,” or tCTL for short.
    The tCTL sensor is derived from the junction (Tj) temperature—the interface point between the die and heatspreader—but it may be offset on certain CPU models so that all models on the AM4 Platform have the same maximum tCTL value to ensure they have a consistent fan policy.
    AMD also say they are confident software will soon adjust automatically for this offset and report the true temperature when required.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My other System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair V Formula Z GPU:EVGA GTX 980 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD FX-9590 Cooler: Corsair Hydro H105 Case: Corsair 750D

    Memory:Corsair Dominator Platinum@1866MHz x 16GB SSD:Samsung 500GB 840 EVO




  9. #9
    ROG: Sempai Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVFZ and CVI HERO
    ProcessorFX-9590 and Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX3M2A1866C9 and CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 for Ryzen
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    Storage #2WD 300GB VelociRaptor X 3
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterBelkin N300
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    1,593

    Quote Originally Posted by Decoman View Post
    I have the 250GB version of the 960 Evo SSD, though without ram sticks, my build is still incomplete (they won't ship for weeks apparently).

    I have been wondering, if there might be a gain to use the official Samsung NVMe drivers as opposed to keep using the one presumably provided by Microsoft. I've also wondered how to do exactly that.
    Sorry for the late response Decoman

    I took a gamble on the RAM I chose cause I didn't want any further delays. It was the MB availability for me that caused a delay.

    I haven't as yet tried the official Samsung NVMe drivers so from what you said I looked into it and found this article: http://www.sqlskills.com/blogs/glenn...t-nvme-driver/
    The official Samsung NVMe drivers can be found here: http://www.samsung.com/semiconductor.../overview.html

    Here are my benchmark results as per Samsung Magician.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Samsung SSD 960 pro Bechmark.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	70.4 KB 
ID:	63916
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 04-12-2017 at 11:33 PM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My other System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair V Formula Z GPU:EVGA GTX 980 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD FX-9590 Cooler: Corsair Hydro H105 Case: Corsair 750D

    Memory:Corsair Dominator Platinum@1866MHz x 16GB SSD:Samsung 500GB 840 EVO




  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array SinartNZ PC Specs
    SinartNZ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMU16GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti Founders Edition
    MonitorAcer X34
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1TB NVMe M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseNZXT H440 Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 750W 80+ Gold Full Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech 633
    OS Windows 10 X64 Pro

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    I'd highly recommend using the Samsung NVMe drivers they a very noticeable difference to drive performance, I'm now using the 082 EFI you can find in the other thread here with Corsair CMU16GX4M2C3200C16 and no longer have any cold boot issues like i was with the older EFI version
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Memory.jpg 
Views:	253 
Size:	73.6 KB 
ID:	63923

    Just interested in your OpenGL score seems a little low for a 1080

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cine.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	81.4 KB 
ID:	63928

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Sorry for the late response Decoman

    I took a gamble on the RAM I chose cause I didn't want any further delays. It was the MB availability for me that caused a delay.

    I haven't as yet tried the official Samsung NVMe drivers so from what you said I looked into it and found this article: http://www.sqlskills.com/blogs/glenn...t-nvme-driver/
    The official Samsung NVMe drivers can be found here: http://www.samsung.com/semiconductor.../overview.html

    Here are my benchmark results as per Samsung Magician.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Samsung SSD 960 pro Bechmark.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	70.4 KB 
ID:	63916

Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •