Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 98
  1. #41
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Hi BlackX As far as I am aware, only the Impact MBs were able to show temps on the Qcode LED and I personally would much rather consult with my Bios for temperatures and fan control.
    You mention a boring Qcode 24. I have no idea what that is as it's not documented. Are you not able to access Bios.?
    I think his comment was that he would like the thing (when no errors have occurred) to display the temp. While instead, it shows a non-error code 24 the entire time the machine is running. Which is less useful than previous boards he's had from Asus which worked the way he described.

  2. #42
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    OK moving on, Iv'e been evaluating "Process Lasso v9" as compared to v8 which I have been using for some time.
    I wanted to see any differences between the Ryzen Balance algorithm (supposedly reducing the timers and thresholds for P-state transitions) and what Process Lasso offers as some gains may be had. Nothing concrete as yet till tests are complete but PL does have plenty of settings to play with. I certainly found some fps gains with certain AAA games using version 8.

    Initially difficult to learn (for me) what the settings have to offer however once setup correctly, it just sits there in the background doing it's bit. I like the way it controls and prioritizes certain services and selected apps and for core parking control.
    I would encourage any Ryzen users to give it a try and comment appropriately their findings.

    There is also a new AMD Ryzen plan for W10 just released: https://community.amd.com/community/...unity-update-3
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 04-26-2017 at 11:21 PM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #43
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Iv'e received email queries from a few PC builders wanting to Liquid cool their 1800X Ryzen chip. The issue is regarding mounting the Corsair AIO coolers on the Crosshair VI HERO MB. There is some conjecture out there as to mounting brackets and backplates for the AM4 platform.

    This article by Corsair lists various AIOs and tables those which are ready out of the box to fit the MB and here is a link to the article's marketing hype back in February:
    http://www.corsair.com/en-gb/company...-for-amd-ryzen

    I found this not to be true as my H115i would not fit with the existing mounting brackets supplied and the backplate. I have read of others who have tried a plastic backplate and others who have tried to jury rig by using cardboard packers to meet the standoff lengths with disastrous results. So don't think of going that way. When I say disastrous I mean high temps due to insufficient pressure between CPU and HSF.
    Here is a pic showing the offset spacing for the AM4 and AM3 hole positions.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Crosshair vi mounting holes.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	248.1 KB 
ID:	64213

    I was lucky to have an AM3 backplate on hand which worked well with the Standoffs supplied.
    Maybe new shipments will remedy this little oversite for a $4 metal backplate or hopefully a mounting bracket to suit the AM4 hole positions will be forthcoming for those who encounter this annoying oversite. I'm also told the Ryzen CPUs that come with the Wraith cooler are OK.

    This also does not apply to many pre existing Air Coolers and many brands are offering free mounting brackets to suit. My advice is to check with Corsair and order either the correct mounting brackets or a Backplate to suit like this one: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/191967659604?rmvSB=true

    The hype also lists my RAM which I ordered at the time (having read the article) and I ordered based on this listed recommendation CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 Dominator Platinum.
    Well straight up they did not work at their rated speed and required a fair bit of Bios Tweaking.
    So the moral of this one is yet again: Beware of market hype even from reputable manufacturers and double check with Corsair if your going AIO.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  4. #44
    ROG Enthusiast Array SinartNZ PC Specs
    SinartNZ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMU16GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti Founders Edition
    MonitorAcer X34
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1TB NVMe M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseNZXT H440 Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 750W 80+ Gold Full Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech 633
    OS Windows 10 X64 Pro

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Finally added the last and final item to my Ryzen build today, dropped the Founders Edition 1080Ti for a Gigabyte GV-N108TAORUS-11GD GeForce GTX1080 Ti Aorus Series.

    UserBench Score: http://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/3521256
    Realbench Score: coming once i get the stupid thing to work correctly.

  5. #45
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Iv'e received email queries from a few PC builders wanting to Liquid cool their 1800X Ryzen chip. The issue is regarding mounting the Corsair AIO coolers on the Crosshair VI HERO MB. There is some conjecture out there as to mounting brackets and backplates for the AM4 platform.

    This article by Corsair lists various AIOs and tables those which are ready out of the box to fit the MB and here is a link to the article's marketing hype back in February:
    http://www.corsair.com/en-gb/company...-for-amd-ryzen

    I found this not to be true as my H115i would not fit with the existing mounting brackets supplied and the backplate. I have read of others who have tried a plastic backplate and others who have tried to jury rig by using cardboard packers to meet the standoff lengths with disastrous results. So don't think of going that way. When I say disastrous I mean high temps due to insufficient pressure between CPU and HSF.
    Here is a pic showing the offset spacing for the AM4 and AM3 hole positions.

    I was lucky to have an AM3 backplate on hand which worked well with the Standoffs supplied.
    Maybe new shipments will remedy this little oversite for a $4 metal backplate or hopefully a mounting bracket to suit the AM4 hole positions will be forthcoming for those who encounter this annoying oversite. I'm also told the Ryzen CPUs that come with the Wraith cooler are OK.

    This also does not apply to many pre existing Air Coolers and many brands are offering free mounting brackets to suit. My advice is to check with Corsair and order either the correct mounting brackets or a Backplate to suit like this one: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/191967659604?rmvSB=true

    Microcenter (if you're lucky enough to live near one) sells am3 backing plates (plastic - so no shorts) for less than 5 bucks i believe in store. That's what i used on my Arctic liquid freezer 240 before they had sent out their am4 mounting bracket. I have yet to switch over.

    Kinda funny that a top end expensive motherboard couldn't afford a couple bucks for a piece of plastic or metal but spent way more than that on packaging to look all nice that nobody cares about.

  6. #46
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    142

    I noticed on one thread, a guy said he was having stability problems and the pc not booting until he added both cpu power cables. I checked the manual online and it says to plug in both. most of the time with normal desktops and one card, that isn't necessary. maybe that's something some of you could try.
    my parts havnt arrived yet so I wont know if this has any effect until next week.
    AsusCrosshairVIHero - 2700x@4.30Ghz~1.373v
    32Gb G.Skill RGB Trident 16gb3466Mhz + 16gb4266Mhz DDR4@3466mhz
    Titan Xp
    1TbSamsung960EVO M.2 1TbSamsung850EVO SSD Seagate2TB/3Tb CorsairForceGt 64gb
    TTtoughpower1200w80
    Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered glass side panal

  7. #47
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Quote Originally Posted by purecain View Post
    I noticed on one thread, a guy said he was having stability problems and the pc not booting until he added both cpu power cables. I checked the manual online and it says to plug in both. most of the time with normal desktops and one card, that isn't necessary. maybe that's something some of you could try.
    my parts havnt arrived yet so I wont know if this has any effect until next week.
    Hi purecain Thanks for your contribution and yes it certainly is an important requirement.

    The Crosshair VI Hero MB has 24pin, 8pin and 4pin EATX12V power plugs and sockets and all should be occupied for the system to boot correctly as detailed in the MB Manual.
    You also need a decent quality Gold certified and efficient PSU as MIN. The manual says 350W MIN. ?
    I recommend a Gold or Platinum certified 550W MIN and 650W if you intend to OC and 850W for SLI. The PSU is the lifeblood of your system and should not be underestimated.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 04-30-2017 at 03:06 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  8. #48
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    An interesting observation.
    After some fan profile mods in Bios and Link , I ran Process Lasso on Bitsum Highest Performance settings.
    As you see during AIDA64 test (run for 10mins) and at 4GHz my temps maxed out at 54C and when the fans kicked in to first stage, temperature stabilized at 52C.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bitsum Highest Performance.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	890.3 KB 
ID:	64287

    Can this be true.?
    If so the Bitsum Highest Performance algorithm has given me a drop in temperature compared to the AMD performance algorithm.
    Admittedly, I managed my fan profiles more carefully but Geez this is a great find. Such an exciting platform to work with.

    I must crosscheck the results with HWMonitor however, I think HWInfo is accurate and I'll check see if a 4.2GHz OC or better is achievable. I do however want to see a Bios improvement to be able to OC my RAM at the same time. Patience is the key now, so I'm gonna wait till all these Beta Bios testing is out of the way.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  9. #49
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    The Crosshair VI Hero MB has 24pin, 8pin and 4pin EATX12V power plugs and sockets and all should be occupied for the system to boot correctly as detailed in the MB Manual.
    First we have The Stilt (AMD Oracle) state this. Then if members think perhaps the 12 pin or 4 pin connector supplies differing power plane, "we" have Raja@ASUS is post.

    So I use just 12 pin .
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  10. #50
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    First we have The Stilt (AMD Oracle) state this. Then if members think perhaps the 12 pin or 4 pin connector supplies differing power plane, "we" have Raja@ASUS is post.

    So I use just 12 pin .
    I read those comments too and thought, Oh what the hell, the manual states 4pin and 8pin so that's good enough for me. My understanding was that the extra 4pin would be to assist the CPU when OCing which I intend to do a lot of. You do what you feel you must.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •