Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 98
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    80
    Posts
    916

    Quote Originally Posted by Saltyfish View Post
    I manage to get to 4160mhz on air but it sucks that cpu-z crashes everytime when I try to validate. Now I can't submit this on HWbot.
    You have instability, if you can't get CPU-Z validation you've got no chance of getting any bench runs IMO.

    For example my 1st R7 1700 on 3.8GHz stability tested profile, without any increase of voltage will hit 3.95GHz for CPU-Z validation. Not tested my 2nd for validations, but here is HWBot subs CB15 and 3DM FS.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  2. #22
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Interesting to note the variations in voltages per different CPU's.

    So my current (stable enough for me at the moment) set up is the following

    1800X @ 4.015Ghz using a 110 BCLK and 36.5 multiplier

    2933Mhz (D.O.C.P 5) for my Vengeance LPX 3200CL16 32Gb (4x8) RAM. Currently this RAM will not clock any higher on the latest bios

    Voltages

    CPU core set to offset (+0.0125) but note, no custom P states have been set.
    DRAM voltage 1.35v
    DRAM boot 1.35v
    LLC level 2

    GPU R9 290

    With a Swiftech H220X (cooler that's drying up a bit!)

    I haven't stress tested it for any lengthy periods, but short runs Cinebench, Realbench and CPU-Z stress proved fine, temps rose to the 'corrected value of 65-70C and the CPU voltage remained around the 1.375v level at max during those short runs. (very brief spikes above that occasionally)

    Cinebench score marks are quite varied, from upwards of 1780, down to 1650, so I'm guessing I need to see what else Windows is doing in the background before coming to a settled score with that !
    Last edited by Theagg; 04-16-2017 at 07:40 PM.

  3. #23
    ROG Enthusiast Array SinartNZ PC Specs
    SinartNZ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMU16GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti Founders Edition
    MonitorAcer X34
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1TB NVMe M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseNZXT H440 Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 750W 80+ Gold Full Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech 633
    OS Windows 10 X64 Pro

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    As I wondered your 1080 score is rather low, compared to what my Gigabyte G1 8GB @stock boost clocks is giving me in cinebench.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cine1080.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	117.0 KB 
ID:	64019

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    A couple of observations regarding the GTX-1080 Hydro.
    Cinebench R15 as observed by others seemed low FPS originally but that was with no changes to Nvidia Control and no Overclock using Precision X OC.
    I have now implemented necessary changes in Nvidia Control Panel. I modified 3D Global settings in Power Management to "Prefer Maximum Performance"

    Also, I have now allowed K Boost with the following OCs.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cinebench 4.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	334.3 KB 
ID:	64022

    Frame rates gone up from 54.49fps in OpenGL to 123.81fps in two easy moves. = 112% increase approx in performance.

    Note: Anyone using RAZER Synapse will have to exit the product as "K" Boost does not work due to rzcefrenderprocess.exe being active.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 04-17-2017 at 01:54 PM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  5. #25
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    95

    Seems that the bios error code "8" is not limited to just me and there are many people who seemingly have stable running machines (even those not overclocked) and they'll find their computer locked up after being on overnight or rebooted on it's own.

    Just wondering if the OP has experienced that yet. Using bios 0082, it's taken a lot of manual voltage settings to just get the cpu stable at it's stock frequency as it seems the "auto" settings set things too low. Everything from the core cpu voltage, to SOC voltage to ram voltage. Even the 1.8v pll runs low when things are left to Auto with this bios.

    To make matters worse, AMD has Ryzen Master putting out values that differ (lower vcore readings, stupid temp offset applied with wrong function so you get nonsense idle temperatures now) from the bios and Asus Suite software. Making it hard to track down why code "8" is happening when the system appears perfectly stable otherwise. People are even questioning if the mounting pressure / backplate is to blame (i use a am3 plastic backing plate).

    So yea, just wondering if the OP or other 1800x owners have been noticing overnight lockups or reboots on their otherwise stable system. Since manually adjusting a number of voltages to be within the "recommended ambient range" that appeared too low under Auto, I have not had code 8 occur yet, but i need to give it a few more days to be sure i've corrected my issue.

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Sorry to here your having issues Darth Ender and thanks for contributing.

    I have no lockups but my system refuses to come out of sleep mode correctly atm. Instead of returning to Windows the system reboots on occasion. (not all the time)

    Also, I am on Bios 1002 and have not tried 0082. What I do know is Qcode 08 is a micro code loading issue when System agent tries to initiate and usually relates to a peripheral device as it's PCH (Peripheral Controller Hub)

    Regarding the backplate, I used the metal AM3+ backplate with no issues. I don't know who should provide it, ASUS or the Cooler manufacturer however, one or the other should provide an AM3+metal backplate for the AM4 platform. I was lucky to just have one laying around. I would have been stuck otherwise.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  7. #27
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Sorry to here your having issues Darth Ender and thanks for contributing.

    I have no lockups but my system refuses to come out of sleep mode correctly atm. Instead of returning to Windows the system reboots on occasion. (not all the time)

    Also, I am on Bios 1002 and have not tried 0082. What I do know is Qcode 08 is a micro code loading issue when System agent tries to initiate and usually relates to a peripheral device as it's PCH (Peripheral Controller Hub)

    Regarding the backplate, I used the metal AM3+ backplate with no issues. I don't know who should provide it, ASUS or the Cooler manufacturer however, one or the other should provide an AM3+metal backplate for the AM4 platform. I was lucky to just have one laying around. I would have been stuck otherwise.
    The word at overclocker.net is that 08 is just a general cpu error. http://www.overclock.net/t/1624603/r...locking-thread (down towards the bottom of the first page it's brought up). Where are you seeing that it's related to PCH?

    I'm also running linux and forcefully disabling dpms so my video card doesn't goto sleep ...though i have forgotten recently to disable dpms and nothing bad happened when waking up the monitor like it did back when i first got the board with a pre-1001 bios.

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Qcode 08 is listed in my MB manual and stands for "System agent initialization after microcode loading"
    A majority of threads I have read and answered and listed in my notes, many relate to peripheral device issues and the PCH Hub. Not always but worth checking into as a possible cause.
    Is not the 0082 Bios for the B350 chipset.?
    I don't use Linux so can't help there.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  9. #29
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Qcode 08 is listed in my MB manual and stands for "System agent initialization after microcode loading"
    A majority of threads I have read and answered and listed in my notes, many relate to peripheral device issues and the PCH Hub. Not always but worth checking into as a possible cause.
    Is not the 0082 Bios for the B350 chipset.?
    I don't use Linux so can't help there.
    So then, it's safe to say that it is irrelevant since the 08 error must be occuring after the error that resulted in the reboot in the first place.

    0082 is one of the test bios's for this board. There are many.

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Quote Originally Posted by Darth Ender View Post
    So then, it's safe to say that it is irrelevant since the 08 error must be occuring after the error that resulted in the reboot in the first place.

    0082 is one of the test bios's for this board. There are many.
    Well i'm sticking with 1002 till something better comes out as I'm stable atm.
    Consider irrelevance at your own peril. I'm certainly no expert in Bios micro-coding so consult with elmor to fix your specific issues.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 04-18-2017 at 06:18 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •