Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Maximus IX Hero display issue

    Hello,
    So I just started building a new rig after being out of the DIY scene due to work travel. Still waiting for my video card to arrive, but wanted to set everything up in the case and get Window's loaded ahead of time, but ran into an issue where the motherboard posts a code of A0 (IDE hand off so everything I've read says this means all my components should be working correctly together), but I have nothing displayed on the monitor. My current set up is

    Maximus IX Hero MB
    I7-7700K with Kraken X61 cooler
    16GB Corsair DDR4 3000MHz (in A2 and B2 slots)
    Samsung 960 EVO M.2 250Gb (in M.2_2 port)
    ASUS Blueray optical drive (in SATA 1 port)
    Samsung 950 EVO 1Tb (in SATA 2 port)

    waiting for
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW video card

    I'm trying to find a speaker to see if that helps, but wanted to know if anyone else had ran into this issue. I read something where updating the BIOS helped, but since this is a new board wouldn't think I'd need to update so soon. Any thoughts would be appreciated in the meantime. Not sure if I just need to wait until I have the video card, but thought that with the build in graphics I could at least do a little. Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    Hi eniac101

    Code AO means everything is working like it should.

    Try clearing the cmos and updating the bios with the bios flashback feature.

    If still no help try different monitor cables, HDMI, Displayport.

    I'd also disconnect all drives except for the one you're installing windows to, once windows is installed then install your other drives.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array mcleod52 PC Specs
    mcleod52 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)n/a
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-7600K Kaby Lake
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 Windforce
    MonitorLG 27UD69-W
    Storage #1Plextor M8Pe M.2 2280 256GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X52
    CasePhantek P400S
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red
    Mouse ASUS ROG Gladius II
    Headset Bloody M660 MOCI
    Headset/Speakers Lepai LP-188HA + Polk Audio RTiA3's & PSW 303
    OS Windows 10 64 bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    Just to ask a stupid question. Have you confirmed the monitored is configured for the HDMI port you have it connected to?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I'll try the CMOS and Bios idea. There are no stupid questions, but yes, I double and triple checked the monitor setting was correct. I also tried both DVI ports on the monitor just in case 1 was bad.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Just wanted to update after I tried the CMOS and Bios, still no display, so I borrowed a video card and low and behold success. Not sure why I couldn't get the onboard video to work, but no issues as everyone thought. Guess I should've just waited for all my parts to arrive. Thanks for the help.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array mcleod52 PC Specs
    mcleod52 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)n/a
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-7600K Kaby Lake
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 Windforce
    MonitorLG 27UD69-W
    Storage #1Plextor M8Pe M.2 2280 256GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X52
    CasePhantek P400S
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red
    Mouse ASUS ROG Gladius II
    Headset Bloody M660 MOCI
    Headset/Speakers Lepai LP-188HA + Polk Audio RTiA3's & PSW 303
    OS Windows 10 64 bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    Still odd the on-board video did not work. I had just the opposite problem upon first boot, could boot from on-board and not the GPU in the PCI slot. Did my windows install and BIOS upgrade then was able to use the GPU in the PCI slot.

    Glad things are working for you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •