Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array govind997 PC Specs
    govind997 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus 9 Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3200C16R
    Graphics Card #1Asus 660Ti
    Storage #1Samsung 960EVO 256GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair 760T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Glorious Extended
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z5500
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 NZXT Hue+
    Accessory #2 NZXT USB Hub

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Samsung 960 EVO m.2 and Maximus 9 Apex

    Hi,

    I am using 256GB 960 evo m.2 with maximus 9 apex board. Currently Samsung magician shows the interface as PCIe Gen3 x2. Is this normal like instead of x4?
    CPU is i7 7700k. Using nvidia 660ti gpu and the 4 sata ports are used. I have updated the nvme driver from Microsoft to Samsung
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Capture.JPG  

    Benchmark.JPG  


  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    I don't think it is normal, my Apex is off the bench at the moment so I cannot test this at the moment

  3. #3

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    855

    Magician reads x4 for me in Win 7.

    Something you can try without too much trouble is to switch the 960 EVO to the socket on the other side of the DIMM.2 card.

  5. #5
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,856

    Check your settings in the BIOS and bench it with Crystalmarks

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array govind997 PC Specs
    govind997 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus 9 Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3200C16R
    Graphics Card #1Asus 660Ti
    Storage #1Samsung 960EVO 256GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair 760T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Glorious Extended
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z5500
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 NZXT Hue+
    Accessory #2 NZXT USB Hub

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Hi Members, sorry for the late reply. As suggested by jab383, this problem was solved by moving nvme to second slot on the DIMM.2 card. But does this mean the slot 1 has some issues?

  7. #7
    TeamROG Folding@Home Array ottoyu34 PC Specs
    ottoyu34 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB (F4-3600C16D-16GTZR)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GTX1080 Ti OC
    MonitorLG IPS LED 27"
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX300 525GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Ed.
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K65
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-2300 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U
    ottoyu34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    805

    I recall my M9Hero has X2 instead of X4 enabled by default. Confirm that first.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •