Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 41
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Quote Originally Posted by injurer View Post
    I'm running a 4x8@2666 Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 kit perfectly fine a bit over 3200 and even lowered the original timings. It works both with 1T and 2T BIOS.

    It's perfectly stable and I was running AIDA64 stress test for a couple of hours without issues. The only thing you should have in mind I've adjusted the base clock at around 120 MHz.

    http://hwbot.org/submission/3508576_...ram_1630.4_mhz
    http://hwbot.org/image/1815446.jpg

    The exact model is: CMD32GX4M4A2666C15

    I'm also waiting to receive a 2x16 Corsair Dominator Platinum kit @3200 to see if I can push it at even higher speeds and to see how a 2 stick kits works with Ryzen.
    There's obviously a distinct difference between the Corsair Dominator and Corsair Vengeance then, as my 32gb (4 x 8) Vengeance LPX 3200C16 will not run any higher than 2933Mhz. no matter what BCLK setting etc, the system won't boot above that.

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array BaneSilvermoon PC Specs
    BaneSilvermoon PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero x370
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)G-skill 4x8 F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX-RX480-O8G
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 1TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerCase Integrated 360mm Liquid AIO
    CaseDEEPCOOL GENOME ROG
    Power SupplySilverstone Strider SST-ST1200-PT
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
    OS Win10 Home
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk X6

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    122

    I've got 4x8 Flare X running at 3200 currently, but I had to loosen the timings. I'm currently working on tightening them back up to see where the limit is.
    F4-3200C14D-16GFX

  3. #23
    ROG Enthusiast Array SexyTerrorisT PC Specs
    SexyTerrorisT PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    Processor1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 SC
    Monitor23' Acer 120 Hz GD245HQ
    Storage #1Samsung 1TB 960 Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-SUPREMACY EVO AMD, EK-CoolStream XE 360 ,EK-CoolStream CE 280 , EK-XTOP Revo Dual D5 PWM Serial
    Case750D airflow edition
    Power SupplySeasonic 850 Prime Titanium
    Keyboard Razer Lycosa
    Mouse Razer Lachessis 5600
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by BaneSilvermoon View Post
    I've got 4x8 Flare X running at 3200 currently, but I had to loosen the timings. I'm currently working on tightening them back up to see where the limit is.
    F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Sweet are you running them lower than 18-16-16-38? Did you need to tweak voltages to manage?

  4. #24
    ROG Enthusiast Array SexyTerrorisT PC Specs
    SexyTerrorisT PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    Processor1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 SC
    Monitor23' Acer 120 Hz GD245HQ
    Storage #1Samsung 1TB 960 Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-SUPREMACY EVO AMD, EK-CoolStream XE 360 ,EK-CoolStream CE 280 , EK-XTOP Revo Dual D5 PWM Serial
    Case750D airflow edition
    Power SupplySeasonic 850 Prime Titanium
    Keyboard Razer Lycosa
    Mouse Razer Lachessis 5600
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by chevell65 View Post
    I don't know if you guys have noticed this or not but the entirety of the Prime K sequence ends up repeating itself after about 8 hours with most CPU's.
    Yes indeed. Its just a power virus

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array BaneSilvermoon PC Specs
    BaneSilvermoon PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero x370
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)G-skill 4x8 F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX-RX480-O8G
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 1TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerCase Integrated 360mm Liquid AIO
    CaseDEEPCOOL GENOME ROG
    Power SupplySilverstone Strider SST-ST1200-PT
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
    OS Win10 Home
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk X6

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    122

    Quote Originally Posted by SexyTerrorisT View Post
    Sweet are you running them lower than 18-16-16-38? Did you need to tweak voltages to manage?
    I literally spent the entire day yesterday playing with RAM settings. I work from home and started screwing with it four hours before my shift, had a slow night, and ended up spending 12+ hours sitting nearby my PC adjusting and testing things.The lowest timings I've gotten to post were 17,17,17,37. Which was quickly unstable in windows.

    Oddly, I still haven't seen ANY improvement whatsoever from changing voltages. I ended up just assuming that it's because the RAM is running below it's stock settings, so it must not be pushing the RAM itself hard enough to benefit from voltage changes, but who knows. I may still mess with that some more for tightening later. Perhaps I'm missing some other voltage setting that is needed.
    The timings I settled in on yesterday were 18,16,16,45 at stock voltage. I left memtest running overnight and after 1300% pass, had about 5 errors.

    So I lazily bumped them all up one. CPU-Z currently reads 20, 17, 17, 46.
    I let memtest run while I was doing stuff earlier and got a 750% pass with no errors, which is probably good enough to consider this a stable base to work from for now.

  6. #26
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Some kits benefit greatly from tuning ProcODT.

  7. #27
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by BaneSilvermoon View Post
    I literally spent the entire day yesterday playing with RAM settings. I work from home and started screwing with it four hours before my shift, had a slow night, and ended up spending 12+ hours sitting nearby my PC adjusting and testing things.The lowest timings I've gotten to post were 17,17,17,37. Which was quickly unstable in windows.

    Oddly, I still haven't seen ANY improvement whatsoever from changing voltages. I ended up just assuming that it's because the RAM is running below it's stock settings, so it must not be pushing the RAM itself hard enough to benefit from voltage changes, but who knows. I may still mess with that some more for tightening later. Perhaps I'm missing some other voltage setting that is needed.
    The timings I settled in on yesterday were 18,16,16,45 at stock voltage. I left memtest running overnight and after 1300% pass, had about 5 errors.

    So I lazily bumped them all up one. CPU-Z currently reads 20, 17, 17, 46.
    I let memtest run while I was doing stuff earlier and got a 750% pass with no errors, which is probably good enough to consider this a stable base to work from for now.
    I got the F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR kit, and got it running with 18,16,16,36, haven't done a stress test yet but seems stable so far, gaming etc. Also tried your 20,17,17,46 that worked too. I had the kit running @ 3000mhz 14,14,14,34 at first.

    So which one would be faster, 3000mhz 14,14,14,34 or 3200mhz 18,16,16,36?

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array BaneSilvermoon PC Specs
    BaneSilvermoon PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero x370
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)G-skill 4x8 F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX-RX480-O8G
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 1TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerCase Integrated 360mm Liquid AIO
    CaseDEEPCOOL GENOME ROG
    Power SupplySilverstone Strider SST-ST1200-PT
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
    OS Win10 Home
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk X6

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    122

    Quote Originally Posted by CAP1TAL View Post
    So which one would be faster, 3000mhz 14,14,14,34 or 3200mhz 18,16,16,36?
    Clock cycle time is better at the lower timing settings.
    CL/((Freq/2)x1000) = Xns
    14/((3000/2)x1000) = 9.33ns
    18/((3200/2)x1000) = 11.25ns

    My system seems to respond much better to lower timings at 2933 as well. But personally, due to the Ryzen Infinity Fabric, I'm not even considering lowering the frequency.

    I've been doing a lot of memory testing this week to see exactly how tight I can get the timings stable at stock voltage. Appears it's going to be a bit higher than I was running.
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...it?usp=sharing

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    221

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Some kits benefit greatly from tuning ProcODT.
    For anyone, like me, who didn't know what ProcODT (Processor On-Die Termination) is, here is a link that should explain it: https://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/me...emory_part_3/8

  10. #30
    ROG Enthusiast Array SexyTerrorisT PC Specs
    SexyTerrorisT PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    Processor1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 SC
    Monitor23' Acer 120 Hz GD245HQ
    Storage #1Samsung 1TB 960 Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-SUPREMACY EVO AMD, EK-CoolStream XE 360 ,EK-CoolStream CE 280 , EK-XTOP Revo Dual D5 PWM Serial
    Case750D airflow edition
    Power SupplySeasonic 850 Prime Titanium
    Keyboard Razer Lycosa
    Mouse Razer Lachessis 5600
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by danjw View Post
    For anyone, like me, who didn't know what ProcODT (Processor On-Die Termination) is, here is a link that should explain it: https://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/me...emory_part_3/8
    Great link! Thanks!

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •