Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Medico PC Specs
    Medico PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 850 EVO 2.5" 500GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S 2 fans
    CaseTai Chi
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HXi Series HX850i
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 bit

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    62

    XTU settings in the BIOS

    Hi to all,

    I have a question about XTU settings in the BIOS. It gives a choice between auto and numbers from 1 to 7. Is that settings affects Intel Extreme Tuning functions specially that the benchmark can be completed without BSOD? If it so, what settings should I choose?

    Thanks,
    Medico
    Last edited by Medico; 04-18-2017 at 05:59 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,382

    Hi Medico

    I believe what you are referring to is the LLC setting. LLC helps with v-droop and the higher you go with it the more it will overshoot the voltage you set.

    I have LLC set to 6 and the voltage pretty much stays where I set it at 1.310v, if I set LLC to 7 it will go up to like 1.328v.

    What you can do is monitor the vcore under load and see how much it's overshooting what you're setting and adjust LLC to that, or you can use an offset.

    It seems you need a little more vcore to pass the benchmark hence why LLC at level 7 is passing the benchmark.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array CODE MAXIMUS PC Specs
    CODE MAXIMUS PC Specs
    MotherboardMAXIMUS IX CODE • BIOS 1009
    Processor7700K • 4.5GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX • CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 ver4.31 • 3866MHz • 15-15-15-36-2CR
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX 1080Ti OC
    Sound CardOnboard • SupremeFX S1220
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Intel Optane 900P 480GB
    CPU Cooler2016 EKWB Supremacy EVO • Acetal + Nickel • Straight Distilled Water
    CaseCORSAIR AIR 540
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 850W P2
    Keyboard HyperX FPS Alloy TKL
    Mouse SteelSeries SENSEI 310
    Headset Coolermaster Masterpulse
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QCK Limited
    Headset/Speakers 100W BLACKWEB ZULU 2.1 • Soundbar + 8" Sub • TOSLINK
    OS WIN 10 64bit
    Network RouterNETGEAR X4S • Gigabit fiber optic connection
    Accessory #1 3X Corsair Magnetic Levitation 140mm PWM case fans
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair Magnetic Levitation 120mm PWM radiator fans
    Accessory #3 APC XS 1000 • Backup
    CODE MAXIMUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    123

    XTU Setting 1-7

    Good question. I've researched a bit on the web and cannot find an answer either but I have a feeling it is with saving profiles. Nate, XTU is an overclocking utility by Intel, it was standard on my old Intel Extreme DP67BG board, back then you had to have an extreme board to use it. It makes changes from within OS for overclocking plus has stress tests and benchmarking. I don't believe it is LLC because then there would be two settings in the BIOS for vdroop but you never know until more info becomes of it.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0580.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	95.9 KB 
ID:	64146
    Last edited by CODE MAXIMUS; 04-22-2017 at 11:42 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    We would need Raja, or someone to step in for a detailed explanation, I am not sure exactly what the setting does but it may help with your score in Intel XTU, but it would be a trial and error thing to find out if it helps or not. You would need to reboot and try every step while leaving every other setting in the bios the same. I have not bothered to do this myself.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    855

    When I tried checking all the settings, there was some variation in XTU score only when there were two RAM sticks installed. That setting does nothing when 4 sticks are used.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array meankeys PC Specs
    meankeys PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex / Maximus IX APEX / Rampage V EX V10
    Processor7920X / 5960X / 6950X / 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z - 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #3ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 OC
    Monitor3 X ASUS V248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCool Express SS
    Power SupplyThermaltake Tough Power Grand 1200W
    Keyboard Cyberus
    Headset Tittan
    OS Win 7 64bit
    Network RouterASUS
    meankeys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    1,553

    I believe Nate has the right answer.

    Thanks Nate

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •