Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Unhappy I7 7700k + Z270E problems

    I'm puzzled why this machine refuses to boot.
    I started with thise specs:
    I7 7700k + Maximus VIII Hero (Z170) + Crosair Vengence 1x16 LPX 3200 MHz
    I opdated the BIOS as the first thing and ran default settings.

    Only managed to make it boot sucsesfully once, for 3 hours before it BSODed.

    Any other tries, resulted in thise BSOD's:
    - ATTEMPTED WRITE TO READONLY MEMORY
    - SYSTEM THREAD EXCEPTION NOT HANDLED
    - KMODE NOT HANDLED
    - KERNEL SECURITY CHECK FAILURE

    I was told LPX memory can result in bad behaviors and switched them with G.Skill TridentZ 1x16GB 3200GHz, with no different results.
    Today I tried with another motherboard: Strix Z270E. It still refuses to boot, even the ISO USB from Microsofts website. (Same BSOD messages)

    Thise are my specs atm:
    I7 7700k + Strix Z270E + G.Skill TridentZ 1x16GB 3200GHz
    Nothing have been oc'ed (besides once enabling XMP, to see if it would fixed it).

    I start to wonder if the CPU is DOA (dead-on-arrival), as its the only part that havn't been replaced besides the powersupply. However the CPU displays the BIOS fine and the readings on the powersupply seems ok.

    Any ideas what could cause the problem?
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos IMAG0758.jpg  


  2. #2

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Clear your CMOS and try the Windows install again.
    Turned off the PC
    Waited 30 seconds
    Circuited the CLRTC for 8 seconds to clear the cmos.
    Now it refuses launch or display anything.
    [Edit]
    Added GPU to see if it would show anything, no luck.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Did you put the cap back to its default position after clearing your CMOS?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    367

    Is this really a 1X16GB kit? As in one single stick at 16GB? Can you post the exact model number of this memory, should look similar to F4-3200C14D-16GTZR

  6. #6
    TeamROG Folding@Home Array ottoyu34 PC Specs
    ottoyu34 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB (F4-3600C16D-16GTZR)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GTX1080 Ti OC
    MonitorLG IPS LED 27"
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX300 525GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Ed.
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K65
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-2300 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U
    ottoyu34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    805

    What power supply do you have? All plug firmed connected?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    valley 8100

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Did you put the cap back to its default position after clearing your CMOS?
    There is no cap for the CLRTC, the only cap on the board is the OC-pwd cap to give more power.

    Quote Originally Posted by chevell65 View Post
    Is this really a 1X16GB kit? As in one single stick at 16GB? Can you post the exact model number of this memory, should look similar to F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Its a 2x16GB kid, but only running with 1 stick until I can get it to boot.

    Tried to take the battery out for 15 mins .. it still won't display anything on the screen after I cleared CMOS.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    367

    Exact model number of this 2x16GB kit may be helpful....

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by chevell65 View Post
    Exact model number of this 2x16GB kit may be helpful....
    TridentZ DDR4 2x16GB
    Model number: f4-3200c16d-32gtza

    https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3200c16d-32gtza

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Quote Originally Posted by Nak200 View Post
    There is no cap for the CLRTC, the only cap on the board is the OC-pwd cap to give more power.
    That's odd.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ROG Strix Z270E Gaming clear cmos.PNG 
Views:	79 
Size:	86.0 KB 
ID:	64083

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •