Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    GTX 1060 STRIX 6gb idle mode

    Hello guys, so i got problem with my GTX 1060 not entering idle mode. I did set the power management to optimal (tried even adaptive) in my nvidia control panel but the card always run at full clock speed also at temperature of 50-60C and its basically doing nothing. I used newest drivers, even tried to uninstall them with DDU and install older ones but still no luck. Only time when it went to idle was after uninstallation of the newest drive and installation of the older ones but right after restart it went to full speed again. I dont know what am i missing. I have windows 10. Any ideas what could i try? The card has some coil whine when it runs at full speed and it drives me crazy, when im just working in windows.

    Thank you
    Last edited by reEvo; 04-19-2017 at 06:22 PM.

  2. #2
    TeamROG Folding@Home Array ottoyu34 PC Specs
    ottoyu34 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB (F4-3600C16D-16GTZR)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GTX1080 Ti OC
    MonitorLG IPS LED 27"
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX300 525GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Ed.
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K65
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-2300 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U
    ottoyu34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    805

    How many monitors do you have connected? Try connecting just one monitor.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by ottoyu34 View Post
    How many monitors do you have connected? Try connecting just one monitor.
    Sadly i have only one monitor and its running at 60hz.

  4. #4

  5. #5
    TeamROG Folding@Home Array ottoyu34 PC Specs
    ottoyu34 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB (F4-3600C16D-16GTZR)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GTX1080 Ti OC
    MonitorLG IPS LED 27"
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX300 525GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Ed.
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K65
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-2300 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U
    ottoyu34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    805

    Install any GPU utility or even GPU-Z

    Report back with what clock speeds and fans speed it is running at.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    guys thank you for trying to help me, i feel like utter moron. Solved it, i found out that despite my OS was newly installed i got some bitcoin miner running in background and it was sucking my GPU so it was basicaly running at 75% all the time. I got rid of it and now it clock down when idle. Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •