Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array jakesno PC Specs
    jakesno PC Specs
    MotherboardHero IX
    Processori7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Vengence 16GB DDR4 3000 CL15
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080
    MonitorAcer XR38
    Storage #1Samsung Pro 960 512gb m.2
    Storage #2Samsung Pro 850 512gb
    CPU CoolerKraken x52
    CaseCorsair 570x
    Power SupplyEVGA G3 750w
    Keyboard G.skill KM780r
    Mouse Razer DB wired
    Headset Arctis 7
    OS W/10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterASUS AC1300
    Accessory #1 Archer T9E

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Help updating HERO IX BIOS - First Timer

    Current BIOS is v 0505 out of the box. I'd like to update to v0801 instead of v0906
    I've used the system for 4 or 5 days and I've read that I need to disconnect hard drives or clear the CMOS or rename the update file and I'm confused as well as nervous because I've heard if it aint broke, don't fix it. However v0505 seems old within the current convention, and I'm having issues connecting my monitor via DP (HDMI2 is fine) as well as the system recognizing my Arctis 7 headset via the USB I/O ports.
    I have downloaded every driver I can find as well as used windows update. GeForce Experience says I have the latest drivers as well.
    I've read different things other than what's in the manual so I'd be grateful for a step by step guide.
    Also there must be general "Best Bios" settings for headphones, DP high res displays. I'll worry about OC BIOS settings down the road.
    XMP is set to auto and using mostly stock BIOS settings.
    I have v0801 loaded on a flash drive. It's the only data on the drive. MAXIMUS-IX-HERO-ASUS-0801.CAP 16386KB

    Specs:
    HERO IX
    i7-7700k
    M.2 500GB Samsung
    SATA 500GB SSD Pro
    Kraken x52
    Strix 1080Ato8
    16GB RAM
    750w EVGA3
    ACER XR38

    Thank you for your consideration!

  2. #2
    TeamROG Folding@Home Array ottoyu34 PC Specs
    ottoyu34 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB (F4-3600C16D-16GTZR)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GTX1080 Ti OC
    MonitorLG IPS LED 27"
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX300 525GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Ed.
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K65
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-2300 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U
    ottoyu34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    805

    You can install EZ Update utility which updates the BIOS in Windows environment.

    Else you can use EZ Flash 3 in UEFI which can flash via a USB drive.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array jakesno PC Specs
    jakesno PC Specs
    MotherboardHero IX
    Processori7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Vengence 16GB DDR4 3000 CL15
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080
    MonitorAcer XR38
    Storage #1Samsung Pro 960 512gb m.2
    Storage #2Samsung Pro 850 512gb
    CPU CoolerKraken x52
    CaseCorsair 570x
    Power SupplyEVGA G3 750w
    Keyboard G.skill KM780r
    Mouse Razer DB wired
    Headset Arctis 7
    OS W/10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterASUS AC1300
    Accessory #1 Archer T9E

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by ottoyu34 View Post
    You can install EZ Update utility which updates the BIOS in Windows environment.

    Else you can use EZ Flash 3 in UEFI which can flash via a USB drive.
    The reason for the detailed post was for a call for step by step guidance to execute EZ Flash 3. However, thank you for responding.
    Do I rename the file, disconnect drives or components, clear CMOS etc.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi jakesno

    Clear the cmos before flashing the bios, if using the bios flashback feature rename the bios file to M9H.CAP when using EZ Flash 3 you don't have to rename it.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array jakesno PC Specs
    jakesno PC Specs
    MotherboardHero IX
    Processori7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Vengence 16GB DDR4 3000 CL15
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080
    MonitorAcer XR38
    Storage #1Samsung Pro 960 512gb m.2
    Storage #2Samsung Pro 850 512gb
    CPU CoolerKraken x52
    CaseCorsair 570x
    Power SupplyEVGA G3 750w
    Keyboard G.skill KM780r
    Mouse Razer DB wired
    Headset Arctis 7
    OS W/10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterASUS AC1300
    Accessory #1 Archer T9E

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi jakesno

    Clear the cmos before flashing the bios, if using the bios flashback feature rename the bios file to M9H.CAP when using EZ Flash 3 you don't have to rename it.
    Thanks Nate152
    So I'll rename the file to M9H.CAP and reboot into Bios
    navigate to EZ Flash 3
    Push the "clear cmos" button for 3 seconds
    I should still have a bios screen to follow the directions.

    Question: Will I need to reinstall Windows10? Programs and Drivers etc?

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    You don't have to rename the bios file when using EZ Flash 3, you only need to rename the bios file when using the bios flasback feature.

    Go into the bios and hit F5 this will reset the bios to defaults then navigate to EZ Flash 3.

    You should also be able to update the bios from the Asus data base, you can do this in the bios as well and doesn't require a usb flash drive, just make sure you're hard wired to the internet when using this.

    No you won't have to reinstall windows or anything.

    Let us know how it goes.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by jakesno View Post
    I have v0801 loaded on a flash drive. It's the only data on the drive. MAXIMUS-IX-HERO-ASUS-0801.CAP 16386KB
    Make sure that the pendrive is FAT32 formatted and the BIOS file is the only file on it.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array jakesno PC Specs
    jakesno PC Specs
    MotherboardHero IX
    Processori7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Vengence 16GB DDR4 3000 CL15
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080
    MonitorAcer XR38
    Storage #1Samsung Pro 960 512gb m.2
    Storage #2Samsung Pro 850 512gb
    CPU CoolerKraken x52
    CaseCorsair 570x
    Power SupplyEVGA G3 750w
    Keyboard G.skill KM780r
    Mouse Razer DB wired
    Headset Arctis 7
    OS W/10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterASUS AC1300
    Accessory #1 Archer T9E

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Make sure that the pendrive is FAT32 formatted and the BIOS file is the only file on it.
    Thanks guys. Update was successful, however I'm getting Q-code 40 from time to time. The only settings I've changed is turning on stock XMP settings. I get them whether XMP is on or off and I haven't been gaming or OC'ing at all.

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Awesome, good to hear the bios update was successful !

    Q-code 40 means your pc resumed from the S4 sleep state.

    With windows set to never put the pc to sleep I still sometimes get code 40 in fact mine is showing code 40 right now. It's nothing to be concerned with although with sleep disabled it should be showing code A0.

    Maybe this could be addressed in the bios.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array BradHa PC Specs
    BradHa PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7700K 4.2-4.5 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4 3200 C16
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming GeForce GTX 1080 8GB GDDR5X
    MonitorAcer 27" LED & LG 27# LED
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO Series - 512GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 2 TB FireCude SSHD
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62 All-in-One CPU Liquid Cooling System
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D CC-9011022-WW System Cabinet Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 GS, 80+ GOLD 850W
    Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Keyboard
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
    Headset HyperX
    BradHa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Also first timeupdating bios, couple of questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    You don't have to rename the bios file when using EZ Flash 3, you only need to rename the bios file when using the bios flasback feature.

    Go into the bios and hit F5 this will reset the bios to defaults then navigate to EZ Flash 3.

    You should also be able to update the bios from the Asus data base, you can do this in the bios as well and doesn't require a usb flash drive, just make sure you're hard wired to the internet when using this.

    No you won't have to reinstall windows or anything.

    Let us know how it goes.
    So first timer here also. I have not overclocked my system and was planning on using the EZ Flash 3 method from within the bios. I have my new bios on a thumb drive. Do I need to reset my CMOS if the system is not overclocked? I'm in an unfortunately tight spot and getting the back of the computer is a bit of a pain. Plus I am not using the USB BIOS Flashback button.

    This makes me nervous, probably shouldn't. I am running version 906 and will be upgrading to 1301. Is this just a matter of going into EZ Flash 3 and running the method?

    Another weird thing is that my thumb drive is NOT showing up on the dive list, no matter if I put it in first or add it while in the bios. My hard drives are on the list, seems like I could just add it from there. ????
    Last edited by BradHa; 08-05-2019 at 10:33 PM. Reason: additional info

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •