Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array DTX3 PC Specs
    DTX3 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus X99 Deluxe 2
    Processori7 5960x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-3200
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte G1 Gaming 980ti
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte G1 Gaming 980ti
    MonitorPG278QR and BenQ XL2420Z
    Storage #1Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro 512gb SSD
    CPU CoolerDeepcool Captain 240 EX
    CasePhanteks Luxe
    Power SupplySeasonic Snow Silent 1050w
    Keyboard Corsair K95 rgb
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Astro A50 v2
    Mouse Pad Steel Series XXL
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterAsus AC68U
    DTX3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Unhappy PG278QR Vertical Line Issue

    Hey y'all

    Had this monitor for a few months now and have noticed I'm getting vertical lines which run down the left hand and centre of the screen

    I've uploaded a quick video here:



    If I switch the monitor off and on again the issue goes away. It does return again but at random times. It's more noticeable whilst gaming.

    I've read elsewhere that it may require a firmware update, however this apparently requires special equipment which only Asus can do. So I'll have to RMA it and pay for postage, which will probably be a fortune since it's a big monitor.

    Any ideas?
    Last edited by DTX3; 04-24-2017 at 08:46 AM.
    ================================================== ==============
    i7 5960x Extreme | SLI GTX 980ti | Corsair Dominator DDR4 3200Mhz | Seasonic Snow White PSU
    Asus X99 Deluxe 2 | 2x Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD | Deepcool Captain 240 EX White
    PG278QR and BenQ XL2420Z | Corsair K95 | Logitech G502 | Astro A50 Gen 2 | Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
    http://imgur.com/a/ynvB1

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Legolas PC Specs
    Legolas PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wifi AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8600k oc 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Samsung DDR4 16GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS NVIDIA GTX 1080
    MonitorASUS MS246
    Storage #1Samsung MZVPV256
    Storage #2Samsung MZVPV256
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110I v2
    Power SupplyPC 1200W Turbo-Cool 1200
    Keyboard ASUS SK2045

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    242

    I recommend troubleshooting.
    Did you ever try to change the video cables? Does it have same issue on another computer? Overclocking video card?
    What resolution do you use? Did you try another resolution with lower refresh rate?
    Sincerely,
    Legolas

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Having the exact same issue with PG258Q.
    Usually shows up when changing resolution/launching fullscreen game, happens both when GSYNC is on/off.
    Tried on windows 7 and 10, with intel hd 630, GTX 970 and GTX 1080 so it's definitely a firmware issue.
    Power cycle is the solution usually but for such an expensive monitor this is an insult .

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array DTX3 PC Specs
    DTX3 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus X99 Deluxe 2
    Processori7 5960x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-3200
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte G1 Gaming 980ti
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte G1 Gaming 980ti
    MonitorPG278QR and BenQ XL2420Z
    Storage #1Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro 512gb SSD
    CPU CoolerDeepcool Captain 240 EX
    CasePhanteks Luxe
    Power SupplySeasonic Snow Silent 1050w
    Keyboard Corsair K95 rgb
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Astro A50 v2
    Mouse Pad Steel Series XXL
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterAsus AC68U
    DTX3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    So after a bit of testing and trying on another PC. I believe the issue to be G-Sync. With this on, it happens often. I switched it off for a few days and not once experienced the issue.

    As "Christizzz" mentioned, I tried turning this to 165hz oc mode with G-sync on and the issue does not happen. It's only when running on anything lower like 144hz...

    So for now and rather than RMAing and paying crazy postage prices, I'm left with only this as a workaround.
    ================================================== ==============
    i7 5960x Extreme | SLI GTX 980ti | Corsair Dominator DDR4 3200Mhz | Seasonic Snow White PSU
    Asus X99 Deluxe 2 | 2x Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD | Deepcool Captain 240 EX White
    PG278QR and BenQ XL2420Z | Corsair K95 | Logitech G502 | Astro A50 Gen 2 | Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
    http://imgur.com/a/ynvB1

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Gald it works...now i am testing an Acer XB271hu manufactured in January 2017 and it has this Line problem... so i guess its not just asus.... the 165Hz works as Well....

    The DELL did not have this problem but the screen had terrible GHosting...

    Now i am left with the ACER which i guess i ll keep...

    Just one question though... do you have COlor Banding on your asus ?

    THank you

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Same Problem

    I have had this problem and several others. I get a vertical line down the middle, I also get the screen shifted sometimes, where a section of the left hand is displaying on the right hand side. I get very fluctating frame rates etc.. I bought the monitor only a couple of weeks ago and have decided to return it for a replacement with amazon. ASUS support told me it was defective and wanted to RMA it. Why would I want to do that on a brand new monitor that I have had for less than 2 weeks? Im glad at least that i found the problems before the return period was up. I will give the replacement a shot, if that doesn't work I will look for something else. So unfortunate for such a pricey monitor. I was really excited about it, but its been nothing but a headache.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    181

    Please send your monitor for RMA with firmware upgrade (STDP2600 FW).

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Pg258q

    I have this problem on two of my PG2568Q
    Asus support is useless I have tried explaining the problem and all they say is this is the first we have heard of this problem and that they want to replace my screen with refurbished ones !

    This is terrible Asus I have spent over £1000 on these screens why would I would to swap for a second maybe third hand screen just to get the same problem!

    I know this thread is old now but there has to be a firmware update for the PG258Q has anyone got there screens fixed ?

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Question

    I just bought another brand version of this monitor that was manufactured in Sep 2017, and it had this issue a couple times within one hour, so I returned it. Is Asus shipping these monitors with the firmware update already on yet, and can anyone confirm the problem is fixed?
    Or has anyone gotten this issue fixed any other way? I loved the panel, but this issue is a deal breaker. Asking about the IPS(AHVA) version, PG279Q. Same exact issue though.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •