Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    Strix 1070 causes Error 62

    I replaced my gtx 670 with the 1070. My computer now won't boot. It goes to the bios screen and freezes giving an error 62 installation PCH runtime services. Everything is the same & it runs with the 660. 850 watt PSU is fine and 660 actually draws more power. I've checked forums, manufacturers sites & online. Help!!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Last edited by StoneCold52; 04-18-2017 at 03:24 AM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Hi StoneCold52

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    What windows version are you using and did you do a windows UEFI install ?

    Can you try the ROG Strix 1070 in another pc ?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    Windows 10 already installed. The 1070 was the only change. I don't have access to another pc to test. Everything worked when my 660 was in. Power supply is the corsair 850. Cables connected.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    In the bios on the boot tab try disabling CSM and set secure boot to "Other Os".

    Does this get you to boot ?

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    I can't get past the splash screen. No response to open up bios settings. This is really frustrating.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    Strix 1070 causes Error 62

    Just to give a more complete picture, I built this almost 5 years ago and it ran perfectly until I replaced my 670 with the 1070. Here's the setup:

    Intel Core i7-3770 Ivy Bridge Quad-Core 3.4GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 1155

    GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H-WB LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

    Corsair Vengeance Blue 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM Dual Channel Memory Kit 1.5V

    OCZ Vertex 3 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) VTX3-25SAT3-120G

    Cooler Master Silent Pro M - 850W Power Supply with 80 PLUS Bronze Certification and Semi-Modular Cables

    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced Blue Edition - High Air Flow Full Tower Computer Case with USB 3.0 and All-Black Interior

    Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus - CPU Cooler with 4 Direct Contact Heatpipes

    ASUS GeForce GTX 670 DirectX 11 GTX670-DC2-2GD5 2GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card replaced with:

    ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 8GB ROG STRIX OC Edition Graphic Card STRIX-GTX1070-O8G-GAMING

    This setup ran perfectly until I put in the 1070. As I said, now it won't boot, I get the 62 error code and I can't even get into the bios config. HELP


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Last edited by StoneCold52; 04-18-2017 at 02:40 AM.

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Have you cleared the cmos, I know nothing about the Gigabyte boards.

    Maybe a bios update will get you going, do you have the latest bios ?

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    I haven't yet, its next on my to do list. Gigabyte doesn't make it very easy to get a bios update. I'm going to keep looking. I think what bothers me is that the build has been bulletproof for almost 5 years. I come up with $400+ and it doesn't work. I researched it due to reviews regarding compatibility concerns & went with the asus card over gigabyte. I'm not saying anything is wrong with the card, it's just frustrating to take a working system and turn it into a doorstop with a quality product. Thanks and I'll keep trying.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Let us know if the latest bios gets you going, it shouldn't be difficult to update it.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    Strix 1070 causes Error 62

    You wouldn't think they would make it hard, but Gigabyte's web site is confusing. That's a good part of the reason I bought the Asus card. Thanks & I'll keep you posted (pun intended).


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •