Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    3866Mhz GSkill F4-3866C18D-16GTZR wrong frequency

    Hi All!

    I'm having some issues to make my memories work in the right frequency. I've downgraded to BIOS 080, tried to enable the XMP profile, manual configurations and couldn't get it to work.

    MOtherboard: Asus ROG Strix Z270E Gaming
    CPU: Core i7-7700K

    The label on the memory states CL 18 -19-19-39 at 1.35v.
    What I did in the BIOS was to set:
    DRAM Frequency -> 3866Mhz
    DRAM Voltage -> 1.35 (BIOS updates to 1.3530 automatically)
    DRAM CAS LAtency -> 18
    DRAM RAS to CAS Delay -> 19
    DRAM RAS ACT Time -> 39
    Command Rate -> 2T (on the BIOS I've only something like 2N and not 2T, but I think is the same)

    Even tried with VCCIO and system agent voltage at 1.2v like I saw in some posts in the community.

    Can someone help me?

    Thanks!!

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Hi, I've had the same problem with ROG Code , bought the same memory as you - 4x4GB and was able to boot only if up to 3600Mhz , but no luck with 3866.

    What I did was:

    1. disabling XMP profile
    2. Put Timings manually
    3. Increased DRAM voltage to 1.38v manually
    4. Increased VCCIO to 1.3v

    Those above helped me with booting even with 4000Mhz, no problem with stability, windows, games, etc.

    Just try my settings and than lower values to see if system can boot or not, if not - increase it again.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Continue tweaking your VCCIO and SA voltages. Here are some guidelines:

    DDR4 frequency range Required CPU VCCIO Voltage range Required CPU System Agent Voltage range
    DDR4-2133 ~ DDR4-2800 1.05V ~ 1.15V 1.05V ~ 1.15V
    DDR4-2800 ~ DDR4-3600 1.10V ~ 1.25V 1.10V ~ 1.30V
    DDR4-3600 ~ DDR4-4266 1.15V ~ 1.30V 1.20V ~ 1.35V

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by pawelkpl View Post
    Hi, I've had the same problem with ROG Code , bought the same memory as you - 4x4GB and was able to boot only if up to 3600Mhz , but no luck with 3866.

    What I did was:

    1. disabling XMP profile
    2. Put Timings manually
    3. Increased DRAM voltage to 1.38v manually
    4. Increased VCCIO to 1.3v

    Those above helped me with booting even with 4000Mhz, no problem with stability, windows, games, etc.

    Just try my settings and than lower values to see if system can boot or not, if not - increase it again.

    Thanks a lot!! this worked with this simple configurations and I can work with the 3600Mhz frequency. Although like you said the 3666Mhz it's not booting the computer.. could have some to do with the VCCIO and SA voltages like Chino posted? Even though you didn't change your SA voltages. or did you?

    Thanks a lot

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Continue tweaking your VCCIO and SA voltages. Here are some guidelines:

    DDR4 frequency range Required CPU VCCIO Voltage range Required CPU System Agent Voltage range
    DDR4-2133 ~ DDR4-2800 1.05V ~ 1.15V 1.05V ~ 1.15V
    DDR4-2800 ~ DDR4-3600 1.10V ~ 1.25V 1.10V ~ 1.30V
    DDR4-3600 ~ DDR4-4266 1.15V ~ 1.30V 1.20V ~ 1.35V


    I've managed to make it work with the settings of pawelklp above but when I change to the 3866Mhz it stops working.. now I think it is something to do with this settings.
    There's any relationship between this to settings and the memory voltage? Or do I have to try multiple configurations to make it work?

    Thank You for your help

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Both VCCIO and SA voltages are sensitive. They will require patient tweaking. Brute forcing isn't the way to go unfortunately.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hi,

    i have this ram : F4-3200C16D-16GTZR

    *How can I set it to better in bios?*

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Both VCCIO and SA voltages are sensitive. They will require patient tweaking. Brute forcing isn't the way to go unfortunately.
    So there's no easy way to make it work... I'll try and find way to tweak them but without a relationship between them and the ram voltage/frequency it's like shooting in the dark.

    I'll let you know if i can find something else

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by SphinxPT View Post
    So there's no easy way to make it work... I'll try and find way to tweak them but without a relationship between them and the ram voltage/frequency it's like shooting in the dark.

    I'll let you know if i can find something else
    Also try using Maximus Tweak Mode 1.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Also try using Maximus Tweak Mode 1.
    Hi Chino,

    I was trying to do that yesterday but that Maximus Tweak modes aren't present on Strix motherboards I think. At least I couldn't find it.

    Or am I missing it in the AI Tweak tab?

    Thank you

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •