Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 14 of 14
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    my ch6 have just one pin missing,and your have 2 no?Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20170501_002349.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	787.6 KB 
ID:	64323
    im not 100% sure that is the problem but might be.
    in my case also reset bios button its not working but they aproved a rma.and i can say that the support was very good.
    i can't say the same about the quality control from asus.i belive that if they see the RGB lights working they approve
    Last edited by lcbbcl; 04-30-2017 at 10:33 PM.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    261

    I think you've nailed it. He has a broken pin. I didn't notice that when I looked at his photo before but the pin right above the deleted pin appears to be broken. Well seen!

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Quote Originally Posted by BaneSilvermoon View Post
    I was under the impression that Mercurius was referring to the bottom left pin. Which I'm not familiar enough with to know if that is normal or not.
    I did notice there's only nine pins though, and the USB3 splitter that Korth linked has slots for ten pins.
    Actually, the Intel specification (I linked) has only 19 pins. Pin 20 is not present - another keying mechanism designed to prevent users from connecting the thing backwards when the plug lacks a hole for this pin (so it just won't fit when plugged backwards, even when the other physical key mechanism is absent).

    But it turns out that some mobo receptacles have 19 pins and some have 20 (even though "Pin 20" has no electrical connection or function on the mobo). So the manufacturers of the USB3 things that plug into these receptacles typically don't block Pin 20 (even though it has no electrical connection or function on the cable) - if they did then their 19-pin device wouldn't be able to plug into mobos with 20 pins. Not many people are willing to physically remove a pin (with end-cutters) from their new $500 motherboard, but lots of people would be willing to buy a compatible USB3 device (or PC chassis) offered by another manufacturer.

    Again, this isn't a detail outlined in official USB.ORG standards and specifications. Meaning that manufacturers just do whatever they want to do (or whatever they need to do) to sell a working USB3 interface between their stuff and somebody else's stuff - the physical-keying feature or pin-keying feature (or even both) are often absent to "maximize" compatibility.
    Last edited by Korth; 05-01-2017 at 12:07 AM.

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array Mercurius360 PC Specs
    Mercurius360 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16D-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 FTW Hybrid
    MonitorLG 34UM68
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1TB M.2 Internal SSD
    Storage #2Seagate BarraCuda Pro 10TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken x62
    CaseFractal Design Define C
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 650W 80+ Gold
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 350
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
    Headset Turtle Beach Earforce Recon (PS4)
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 ASUS External Bluray Drive
    Mercurius360's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by lcbbcl View Post
    my ch6 have just one pin missing,and your have 2 no?Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20170501_002349.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	787.6 KB 
ID:	64323
    im not 100% sure that is the problem but might be.
    in my case also reset bios button its not working but they aproved a rma.and i can say that the support was very good.
    i can't say the same about the quality control from asus.i belive that if they see the RGB lights working they approve
    That's what I feared. A broken pin loses one USB 3.0 port...oh well. Maybe I'll get a USB 3.0 hub, instead of removing everything. Sending it for an RMA, while I go back to my old PC, until the new motherboard arrives will be a pain...especially when I have to buy thermal paste, specific kind of alcohol and swabs to remove the old thermal paste, and need a place for the parts to store until the new one arrives...or does ASUS send a new one first, before having me send the other back?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •