Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Unable to access UEFI BIOS settings

    So I boot up my system, it hangs on the ROG splash screen (the one that prompts the user to press F2 or DEL to enter the BIOS settings) for almost 2 minutes before starting to load windows.
    During all that time, even if I do press F2 or DEL, the system does not go to the BIOS screen. Nothing happens. What could be the issue?

    I'm running Crosshair VI Hero, BIOS revision 1002 and ryzen 1800X
    Last edited by nihsel; 05-04-2017 at 03:05 PM.

  2. #2
    Try more Array tommiboi PC Specs
    tommiboi PC Specs
    MotherboardSabertooth Mark 1 Z170
    Processor6600K Delidded
    Memory (part number)Gskill 3200
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX GTX 980 TI EKWB watercooled
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , Benq XL2411T
    Storage #1Samsung 850 evo SSD 250
    Storage #2M.2 nvme Samsung 960 500 ( 2x in raid 0 )
    CPU CoolerEK Predator 360(rebuild with 280 extra rad)
    CaseBequiet pro 900 Orange
    Power SupplyBequiet Pure Power 9 700W
    Keyboard Corsair rapid fire (RBG)
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Logitech G933
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z4
    OS Windows 10 pro
    Accessory #1 Watch
    Accessory #2 Bracelet
    Accessory #3 1 earing

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    171

    Hi,

    Got a Cmos button ? nope ? try removing the back up battery for 10 sec or more doesnt really matter. Could be a memory isseu. Did you over clock or use an XMP setting. I had samething after installing my SLI setup. But I used the button for memory check on motherboard to much and went haiwire.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by tommiboi View Post
    Hi,

    Got a Cmos button ? nope ? try removing the back up battery for 10 sec or more doesnt really matter. Could be a memory isseu. Did you over clock or use an XMP setting. I had samething after installing my SLI setup. But I used the button for memory check on motherboard to much and went haiwire.
    thanks for the reply!
    I've tried the CMOS button and removing the backup battery. There were no changes...
    I've never overclocked or changed any setting... I just put the PC together last week and this issue was present from the start.

  4. #4

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    261

    I'd also try a different keyboard, and try using different ports on the motherboard. It's possible that it's a USB compatibility issue and maybe the USB 2.0 vs the 3.0 ports would show different behaviors with your keyboard.

    There are USB compatibility settings in the BIOS -- but you can't get to them so obviously not helpful.

    I didn't catch whether you were using a wireless keyboard or not -- but some of those can have issues and you might want to try a hard wired one. My mouse is wireless but I've stayed with a hard-wired USB keyboard.

    Hopefully you get it going.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array GrooveIsNow PC Specs
    GrooveIsNow PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1700
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Flare X F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1NVidia GTX 1060
    MonitorBen-Q GL2760H, GW2270
    Storage #1Samsun Evo 950 M.2 250GB
    Storage #2Kingston SSD Now 480GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseCorsair 460x RGB
    Power SupplyEVGA GS 650w
    Keyboard Corsair Straffe Cherry MX Red
    Mouse Corsair Katar
    OS Windows 10
    GrooveIsNow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    This! Have you tried flashing the bios again?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Thank you all for the replies!

    Quote Originally Posted by entropic-remnants View Post
    I'd also try a different keyboard, and try using different ports on the motherboard. It's possible that it's a USB compatibility issue and maybe the USB 2.0 vs the 3.0 ports would show different behaviors with your keyboard.

    There are USB compatibility settings in the BIOS -- but you can't get to them so obviously not helpful.

    I didn't catch whether you were using a wireless keyboard or not -- but some of those can have issues and you might want to try a hard wired one. My mouse is wireless but I've stayed with a hard-wired USB keyboard.

    Hopefully you get it going.
    It's a wired keyboard (logitech G510). I've tried multiple usb ports, 2.0 and 3.0. no changes. I haven't tries a different keyboard yet, though.


    Quote Originally Posted by GrooveIsNow View Post
    This! Have you tried flashing the bios again?
    yeah I have. the MOBO came with BIOS revision 702, if i remember correctly. I flashed it to 902 and later to 1002. no changes...

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array BaneSilvermoon PC Specs
    BaneSilvermoon PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero x370
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)G-skill 4x8 F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX-RX480-O8G
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 1TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerCase Integrated 360mm Liquid AIO
    CaseDEEPCOOL GENOME ROG
    Power SupplySilverstone Strider SST-ST1200-PT
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Stealth
    Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
    OS Win10 Home
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk X6

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    122

    I would look at the keyboard thing. My old Logitech keyboard I had did that. Had to get into the BIOS with a different keyboard and change the USB settings in order for my Logitech keyboard to work before I got into windows.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16



    Yep logitech G510s keyboard wont post to bios. You have to use another keyboard. I have the same issue right now. My msi tomahawk works fine with it though. Asus is really lazy with ryzen it seems. Also as of right now my $100 msi tomahawk b350 overclocks better than the $250 C6H. Sorry not sorry.
    Last edited by MrGreaseMonkkey; 05-06-2017 at 02:10 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    thank you for the replies.

    I'm coming from an FX build with crosshair V formula-z, and I gotta say I am very disappointed with my VI Hero.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •