Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    MSI B350 TomaHawk Overclocks better than C6H. WHY? (And Other issues)

    As this title states, I'm getting better overclocks with the TomaHawk $100 motherboard. I just got a new board from asus RMA today as Old one bricked and it took over 1 month to receive the one I have today. Here are my results amounts other issues. Used Bios 1107 and 1002. Do you guys think I have a faulty board or is it a bios issue for the overclocking.

    TomaHawk B350.
    Test Settings
    Ryzen 1700x Tridend z RGB 3000Mhz @ 2933Mhz (A-XMP) CPU SOC @ 1.1v

    3.9Ghz 1.34v Pass 30Mins Aida 64
    LLC works
    Correct CPU Temperature readings
    Logitech keyboard G510s works.
    Dram @ 1.35v Reads 1.35v

    CH6
    Test Settings
    Ryzen 1700x Trident z RGB 3000Mhz @ 2133Mhz 1.35v, CPU SOC @ 1.1v

    3.9Ghz 1.34v Failed under 2mins in
    3.9Ghz 1.35v Failed under 2 mins in
    3.9Ghz 1.375v failed under 2 mins in
    3.9Ghz 1.4v Pass 30mins aida 64
    LLC Broken
    Incorrect Temperature Readings
    Dram @ 1.35v Reads 1.395V
    Logitech Keyboard G510s still does not work in bios (-_-)
    Last edited by MrGreaseMonkkey; 05-06-2017 at 03:33 AM. Reason: added more info

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Assuming same cpu?

    I am assuming this is with the exact same cpu and ram?

    Hmm I have both of those boards. Have 1600 in the MSI board, and a 1800x in the ch6. I only tried to trade out the ram g.skill 3000 ran on the ch6 at 3200 , can only get it stable at 2933 on msi. May have to go back and try trading out the processors and see what I get. That is interesting tho.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Georgeh9516 View Post
    I am assuming this is with the exact same cpu and ram?

    Hmm I have both of those boards. Have 1600 in the MSI board, and a 1800x in the ch6. I only tried to trade out the ram g.skill 3000 ran on the ch6 at 3200 , can only get it stable at 2933 on msi. May have to go back and try trading out the processors and see what I get. That is interesting tho.

    Yes, exact same CPU and Ram.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    I decided to run the 1700x processor overnight with 3.9Ghz clock and 1.344v on the Msi TomaHawk B350 and it passed. 11hrs stable. Reinserted the crosshair board ran the test at 3.9Ghz 1.35-1.375v failed in 4mins.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 3.9Ghz 1700x latest microcenter 1.344v 11 Hours.JPG  


  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    My C6H + Golden sample OCs beautfilly

    I'm running a 1700 (not X) @ 4Ghz 1.375 LLC 1. It's BOINC stable and with my Corsair H115i it's temps stay reasonable (below 70C). Under normal conditions, even when gaming, it MIGHT hit mid 50s but usually stays under 50C.

    BOINC is my primary stability test (though I also did P95 for 10 hours, AIDA64 for a couple of hours). In my experience nothing pushes a CPU as hard as BOINC does or is as effective at rooting out any issues with a chip.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by MysticPixie View Post
    I'm running a 1700 (not X) @ 4Ghz 1.375 LLC 1. It's BOINC stable and with my Corsair H115i it's temps stay reasonable (below 70C). Under normal conditions, even when gaming, it MIGHT hit mid 50s but usually stays under 50C.

    BOINC is my primary stability test (though I also did P95 for 10 hours, AIDA64 for a couple of hours). In my experience nothing pushes a CPU as hard as BOINC does or is as effective at rooting out any issues with a chip.
    There's nothing wrong with the chip. 3.9Ghz @ 1.345v is stable enough to render 2 movies with handbreak H265 (1hr each) and multiple 4k videos (1hr 45min) in adobe premiere and survive a 11hr stress test with one of the most popular stress test program, Aida 64. My theory is voltage reading is incorrect. Applying 1.35v to 1.385v on my dram reads 1.41v....So its possible its giving it too much voltage or its giving it what i entered either way the reading is incorrect and it may apply to the cpu. I will be buying a multi meter to confirm. However im very disappointed Asus has not fixed my keyboard issue yet. I understand they've had little time to make a bios for the board. I just hope its a bios issue and not a hardware issue holding back my overclock.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Update. After 3 days of having the Cross-hair 6 hero, one of my ram sticks died. So I purchased the Trident Z RGB 3000Mhz ram on ryzen launch 3-4-2017. On 3-24-2017 the board bricks with "updating bios bug". So I purchased the MSI TomaHawk B350 board in until I got my replacement. Everything was fine with the mis board, Nice Overclock with 3.9Ghz at 1.345v and 2933Mhz @ 1.35v (reading 1.35v) using A-XMP for the dram. Received a new crosshair 6 Hero board on 5-5-2017, updated bios to 1107, tried overclocking but could only get 3.8Ghz at 1.35v, incorrect temps, applying 1.35v to 1.385v on the Ram (did not go higher than 1.385v) reads 1.41v in bios. Put the ram back to 2133 @1.25v to rule out stability issues with ram.
    Applied 1.46v effective with LLC to cpu @ 4Ghz, after 8 mins system gave the usual error code indicating insatiability. Rebooted to Error Code 1F, 03 and 61. Ram failed 5-08-2017, 3 days after having this board. I have ordered Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz (on sale) as the replacement. As of now I've suspended overclocking until I get a multi meter so I can see what is going on. Maybe the ram took its natural course or the board chose the faith of the ram. Thanks for all for your help.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FlanK3r PC Specs
    FlanK3r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero+Asus 970 Pro Gaming/AURA (and many others)
    ProcessorCore i7-6700K + FX-8370 (and many others)
    Graphics Card #1Strix R9 390X DCIII OC
    Graphics Card #2AMD RX 480
    Graphics Card #3Saphire R9 270X Toxic
    Graphics Card #4ROG GTX980TI Poseidon
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512 GB
    Storage #2HyperX 3K 240GB
    CPU CoolerRaijintek Triton + Silentium Fera
    CaseNZXT Noctis and Bitfenix Pandora LED
    Power SupplyCM V850 + Corsair TX750
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
    Mouse Razer Deathadder + A4tech 750BK
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Roccat Tatto
    OS Windows 10 + Windows 7
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC55U
    FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    110
    Posts
    597

    What level of LLC did you used at Crossahir? I can recommend manual voltage and LLC3 + phases at optimized
    Who knows me, knows me ....AMD 3000+, AMD x2 4600+ EE, AMD X4 955 BE C2,2x AMD X4 965 BE C3, AMD X4 970 BE C3, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD x6 1100T BE, 2x AMD FX-8120, 2x AMD FX-8150, FX-6300, FX-8300, FX-8320E, FX-8320, FX-8350, FX-8370, FX-8370E, FX-9370, FX-9590, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, A8-5600K, A10-5800K, A10-6800K, A10-7850K, A10-7870K, A 5150, Athlon x4 860K, Intel i7-5960X, i7-6700K, Intel i7-4770K, Intel i7-980x, Intel i7 2600k, Intel i7-3770K, i7-3930K.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    261

    I have to run higher than desired voltages to get my 1700 up to 3.9 on my Crosshair -- but even then it only works on a load line setting of 3.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Do you have anything other than the ATX 24-pin powering the motherboard?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •