Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Crosshair VI hero Flashing when press start button

    Hey guys!

    First sorry if i post in the wrong place, and sorry for my bad english.

    So i have the specs:

    ryzen 1800x
    Crosshair VI hero rev 1.03
    16 GB g skill ( f4-3200c14d-16gtzr)
    240 gb samsung evo pro
    amd R9 280
    corsair TX850

    So what happens is when i push the start button the mother board start flashing the leds the Q code flash the number 8 and the fans spins very slow.

    i already stick one memory, mount the pc outside the case, flash the last bios(1201) and beta bios (9945) and i'm getting the same error dont boot.I think i need RMA but idk if the CPU is ok because the CPU led flash red.

    the video shows what happens:


    plz ignore the sounds

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198

    Remove everything except the power leads and use the flashback option. This ensures you don't have a corrupted revision update.

    Check the pins on the CPU and reseat.

    Add one mem stick

    Try before you insert a graphics card. If it still fails at same point then look to RMA. Hopefully you bought the CPU and board from same supplier.

    If you receive a different error then add you graphics card and build up in small amounts.

    Qcode 8 error was a common issue with the CH6 on early release. Mostly it was fixed by revision update.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    261

    And code 8 basically means "CPU not running".
    Tired of trolls and mods that act like this platform has no problems and it's the users fault. Later.

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by syldon View Post
    Remove everything except the power leads and use the flashback option. This ensures you don't have a corrupted revision update.

    Check the pins on the CPU and reseat.

    Add one mem stick

    Try before you insert a graphics card. If it still fails at same point then look to RMA. Hopefully you bought the CPU and board from same supplier.

    If you receive a different error then add you graphics card and build up in small amounts.

    Qcode 8 error was a common issue with the CH6 on early release. Mostly it was fixed by revision update.
    I try and get the same error , the cpu pins are OK.
    My is from the release rev 1.03 ,has arrived to me 22/05/2017 i bought 01/04/2017 from newegg both cpu and CH6, so i RMA both CPU+motherboard?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    79

    The "8" error has happened to me in the past with BIOS 9945, so it is not necessarily a CPU/socket problem. Could just mean the BIOS settings are not right.

    Hold down the clear CMOS button for 10 seconds and try again.

    In the future you might want to clear the CMOS before and after flashing.

    Some people have had to cut the power and remove the battery for awhile to fully clear the CMOS. You objective would be to force the BIOS into safe mode. Maybe try the safe boot button at the bottom of the motherboard - see the manual.
    Last edited by PeZzy; 05-25-2017 at 05:59 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by PeZzy View Post
    The "8" error has happened to me in the past with BIOS 9945, so it is not necessarily a CPU/socket problem. Could just mean the BIOS settings are not right.

    Hold down the clear CMOS button for 10 seconds and try again.

    In the future you might want to clear the CMOS before and after flashing.

    Some people have had to cut the power and remove the battery for awhile to fully clear the CMOS. You objective would be to force the BIOS into safe mode. Maybe try the safe boot button at the bottom of the motherboard - see the manual.
    Same error when using the safe button, i guess i was unluck ... i will RMA.
    thanks for the help guys

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •