Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Deadbc77 PC Specs
    Deadbc77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Fury X
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Fury X

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Things that make me go hmmm... Overclocking my 1700

    When i set a manual 3.9 GHZ 1.325 v overclock in bios (v 1107) reboot ,and recheck bios to confirm that they are set which they are.
    Then when i boot into Windows 10 something strange happens. My clock speeds are set in stone at 1.55GHZ whether on desktop,running
    AIDA64 stress test,or Cinebench. Bios overclock : https://valid.x86.fr/v815ak

    When i clear cmos boot back in to windows 10 @stock setting with the Ryzen balanced power running i get this : https://valid.x86.fr/h824zv

    They only way it seems i can overclock is through Ryzen Master Overclocking software : https://valid.x86.fr/wzflpv

    So i'm baffled ,am i missing something somewhere ? Because i rather set this up in the bios ...but everything i do there Windows locks me down at 1.55GHZ

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    How are you manually overclocking? stock baseclock with x39 multipler or playing with the baseclock a little?? or Custom Pstate?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Use the High Performance power plan and before changing the settings in the BIOS restore defaults.

    I didn't have this problem with my 1700...

    3.9Ghz @ 1.325v is very ambitious regardless of your actual problem with an 1700.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Frikencio View Post
    Use the High Performance power plan and before changing the settings in the BIOS restore defaults.
    Or the RYZEN power plan released by AMD

    It comes with the chipset driver
    http://support.amd.com/en-us/downloa...indows+10+-+64

    That'd be interesting to know, does High performance actually offer better performance than the plan released by AMD?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Deadbc77 PC Specs
    Deadbc77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Fury X
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Fury X

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Ross350 View Post
    How are you manually overclocking? stock baseclock with x39 multipler or playing with the baseclock a little?? or Custom Pstate?
    Just the basic x39 multiplier with manual voltage settings stock base.
    Settings stay set in bios, but in Windows they don't stick

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Deadbc77 PC Specs
    Deadbc77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Fury X
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Fury X

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Frikencio View Post
    Use the High Performance power plan and before changing the settings in the BIOS restore defaults.

    I didn't have this problem with my 1700...

    3.9Ghz @ 1.325v is very ambitious regardless of your actual problem with an 1700.
    I'll try the high performance plan ,and it was stable @ 1.35v (AIDA64) so i lower it as far as i could and anything lower than 1.325 it would crash (stress test)

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by Deadbc77 View Post
    I'll try the high performance plan ,and it was stable @ 1.35v (AIDA64) so i lower it as far as i could and anything lower than 1.325 it would crash (stress test)

    Aida64 stress test is weak, use Intel Burn Test or Prime95 BETA FMA3 with Small FTT

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array AfterShock PC Specs
    AfterShock PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1080TI
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorAsus VE278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP500 M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i V2 Extreme
    Casecorsair crystal 570x
    Power SupplyCORSAIR RMx Series 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe mk2
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset AfterGlow
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterBuffalo WZR-1750DHP

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Quote Originally Posted by Ross350 View Post
    Or the RYZEN power plan released by AMD

    It comes with the chipset driver
    http://support.amd.com/en-us/downloa...indows+10+-+64

    That'd be interesting to know, does High performance actually offer better performance than the plan released by AMD?
    the amd power plan fixed the core parking bug that the default balanced plan had so it shouldn't have any performance difference.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I have the exact same problem. I am to the point where Ryzen Master can't even overclock. I even tried the built in wizard to OC in the UEFI and it got me a whopping 93Mhz and then blue screens windows on boot every time. So currently, I have to run my 1700 at stock settings because all manual OCing will do is make me boot into Windows at 1550Mhz. WTF is going on?

    My multiplier will get set to 15.50 if I do any OCing in the UEFI. It says it isn't but that's how it is in Windows and benchmarking. Windows itself will report the OC but when I run CPU-Z or another of it's type, it says 1550Mhz. Benchmarking shows performance at 1550Mhz.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    261

    None of you having the problem have told us what BIOS version you're using. That could be quite important.
    Tired of trolls and mods that act like this platform has no problems and it's the users fault. Later.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •