Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Lightbulb Switch (software command/tool) speaker and headphone output for Strix

    I just got a Asus STRIX SOAR sound card. It looks like it is not possible to play audio through both the speakers and the headphones at the same time. Is that right?

    Right now the only way that I found to switch between speaker and headphone output is to open Sonic Studio (two clicks, wait a long time), and then click on the speaker or headphone icons on the left. Is there any other way to do this faster, such as an API call, simple software tool, or command-line switch? It would be nice to assign a keyboard or mouse button macro to switch the outputs.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi SeanTek

    You should be able to switch between devices in sonic studio 3 with device routing, unless this is something specific with the onboard sound.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Device routing.png 
Views:	4 
Size:	84.1 KB 
ID:	64780

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Hmmm...that is not what my Sonic Studio looks like though. I am using Strix version of Sonic Studio, "Strix Sonic Studio" v1.1.13. The About Box also shows Sound Card FW v1.03 and Control Box FW - NA - . Here is a screenshot:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sonic studio appearance.png 
Views:	3 
Size:	72.7 KB 
ID:	64788

    The only way to change outputs is to click on the icons in "Output Device".

    is there another version of Sonic Studio that works with this card?

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by SeanTek View Post
    Hmmm...that is not what my Sonic Studio looks like though. I am using Strix version of Sonic Studio, "Strix Sonic Studio" v1.1.13. The About Box also shows Sound Card FW v1.03 and Control Box FW - NA - . Here is a screenshot:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sonic studio appearance.png 
Views:	3 
Size:	72.7 KB 
ID:	64788

    The only way to change outputs is to click on the icons in "Output Device".

    is there another version of Sonic Studio that works with this card?
    I wanted to add that if I connect or disconnect my headphone directly with the headphone output jack on the back of the Strix Soar, the output automatically switches to headphone or speakers appropriately. However, it only works with a direct connection. If you have an extender cable (as anyone would, compared to reaching behind the PC every time!) and plug the headphones into an extender cable, it won't automatically switch.

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Oh ok,

    I'm not familiar with that version of Sonic Studio so it may not have the device routing feature.

    You may just have to switch your speakers and headphones through playback devices as you're doing.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •