Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 34
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    1,475

    I can post only one video clip per post, why?

    ASUS ROG Rampage VI Apex Mainboard First Look



    She is amazing. ASUS really launch great motherboard only if price is affordable same as Strix last year example many people will buy her instead of
    GIGABYTE, ASRock, MSI. This is one of nicest ASUS motherboard line ever, this time and Deluxe is nicer, I very rear liked deluxe, now I like.
    Competition will try to catch ASUS with many different models and few premium but I suggest to look Amazon - ASUS - ROG - Maybe bundle with processor
    Do you remember how many people jump on MSI Godlike when ASUS had only Rampage V Extreme, now many of them were sad when RVE10 was launched.
    This is good ROG line for Intel Xtreme chipset, 2014 ASUS had small offer, with only 3 ROG boards, and two of them are launched 2 years after first.


  2. #22
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    80

    Bootable RAID-0

    Hi guys,

    Could you tell me if I can use 2 SAMSUNG 960 PRO (RAID-0) as Win 10 Pro bootable drive ?? (x299 series as R6E or R6Apx)

    Thank you very much in advance

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719


  4. #24
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    80

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    Thanks for the link.

    I may be wrong but I understood that the text refers only to the use of VROC. (Hyper Hi Speed - CPU directly).
    Is there no possibility of creating RAID 0 via RSTe ? (and bootble ?)


  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Quote Originally Posted by Beto556 View Post
    Is there no possibility of creating RAID 0 via RSTe ? (and bootble ?)
    I don't know the answer to that. And I won't until I can own X299 or read reports posted by reliable X299 owners.

    I can say that a fully-striped performance RAID0 which multiplies M.2 bandwidths might be basically useless in practice. The combined bandwidth could exceed (and get throttled by) the bus capabilities, or it could saturate the motherboard/PCH and end up throttling other bandwidths/functions.

    Besides, do you seriously think a single Samsung 960 PRO isn't fast enough? It already makes storage access so fast that games never see load-screens or wait around for texture batches or whatever. There comes a point with storage (just as with RAM speeds) that more is meaningless in real life and only helps inflate the brag and swag seen on eclectic benchmarks. Multi-Gbps transfers are indeed meaningful for some sorts of things (like, say, datacenters running webservers which instantly provide Wikipedia pages to thousands of simultaneous users), but gaming just doesn't fit into that category.

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    80

    Thank you for your opinion.
    In fact I use for video rendering (sometimes 3D) and of course, sometimes Project Cars. (No one is iron)
    I already use 2 Samsung 840 PRO (RAID 0) which give me 1G / s
    So I would like to be able to increase this average write / read with 2 960PRO in RAID 0
    Actually I agree that there is still no RAID literature on x299
    Asus is taking a long time to advance information from QVL MEM and RAID
    Anyway, thank you for your answers.

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    ASUS is probably constrained by Non-Disclosure Agreements imposed by Intel (since Intel clearly has invested a lot of hope in this particular issue, as the stupid money-grabbing RAID keyfob gizmo clearly asserts). Manufacturers and vendors have jumped the gun and violated NDAs before, then been punished by losing privileges on subsequent product releases, a costly punishment in an industry where being earlier to market equates to getting more sales and where unethical practices can inflict irrepairable damage to brand reputations/loyalties. Money talks, and we all want the very latest and greatest available the soonest moment it becomes available, but we the people are also a fickle and treacherous lot with mercenary spending habits, lol.

    My system specs include 4xSATA Samsung SSDs in RAID0, alongside a 8xPCIe2 BladeDrive SSD. These are capable of moving a whole lot of data very quickly at prices roughly similar to Samsung 960 NVMe SSDs. You'll find that specific-performance Enterprise SSDs can be much faster than general-performance Consumer SSDs - all the way up to the Seagate Nytro XP7200 SSD (which admittedly can be somewhat difficult to obtain through consumer channels).
    Last edited by Korth; 06-23-2017 at 02:26 AM.

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    80

    agree with you
    Your storage solution is at least excellent. Congratulations.
    I always liked the dedicated solutions (miss my first Adaptec SCSI RAID card)
    I think it's best to wait for the launch and testing of these new boards.
    My 3970X (5.0ghz) will have to wait a little longer to retire.

    Regards

  9. #29

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Chino is correct, the X299 chipset brings the features of the Z270 chipset to the HEDT platform, the onboard M.2 slots can be used for a raid array on the PCH, Intel VROC will need that Intel dongle which needs to be purchased separately plus an add on pcie card to mount your M.2 drives as explained here on https://www.pcper.com/news/Storage/A...RAID-0-20-SSDs

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •