Page 24 of 29 FirstFirst ... 14 22 23 24 25 26 ... LastLast
Results 231 to 240 of 290
  1. #231
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Moloch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Quote Originally Posted by jab383 View Post
    Meankeys: I'm with Raja on this -- 4400 RAM sticks booted XMP settings at 4400 on the first try with a 7740X. With a 7820X, the XMP setting boots at 4200 ratio with 101.6MHz BCLK = 4266. That speed ran fully stable much to my surprise.

    With the 7740X and BIOS 702, the DRAMs ran at 4133 and 4400 with tighter timings with DRAM voltage (Vdimm) at 1.60v and also ran at 4133 even tighter. This is typical of my experience with b-die. Bandwidth in Aida64 was better with the tighter timings at 4133, especially when BCLK was pushed to get 4200. I agree that there is a bandwidth, but not latency, cost to the higher clocks.

    Raja: I do have a related issue.

    I switched to 7820X CPU and BIOS 802 at the same time. Since then, POST will finish and running in Windows is stable only with 1.40Vdimm. Voltages from 1.425 to 1.625 end POST with Q-code BD (insert standard rant about undefined Q-codes). If CPU input voltage is pushed to 2.40v, DRAMs at elevated Vdimm finish POST about 20% of the time, mostly ending at Q-Code BD. It seems that the 7740X is an ordinary 4-core Skylake and the 7820X is a much different animal. Am I missing some setting? Could one of the Aux voltages help here?
    I believe 7740x is kaby-lake-x, not Skylake-x

    7740x is only dual channel memory, while 7820x is qaud channel

    The quad channel memory of Skylake will not reach the same speed as dual channel kaby-lake, as raja mentioned a few posts above (also in the user manual)

  2. #232
    ROG Member Array asustts PC Specs
    asustts PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel 7960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 4x8GB F4-3200C14Q-32GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080
    MonitorDell Ultrawide 1440 - 34"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro
    Storage #22x 970 EVO
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller custom water loop
    CaseCaseLabs BH8
    Power SupplyCorsair 850HX
    OS Win 10x64

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by WonderSausage View Post
    My Asus Hyper M.2 x16 card just arrived from Amazon.

    The heatsink is pretty hefty. There is a tiny external switch on the card bracket to turn the fan on/off.

    Four Intel 600p 1TB drives arrive tomorrow. I'm tempted to throw the thing in my x299 gaming system to see if the VROC drivers are ready yet (the gaming system is a Gigabyte Aorus X299 Gaming 9).

    BTW Newegg has a 2 per buyer limit on 600p drives so the workaround is to order another 2 from neweggbusiness which uses a separate account.
    I can't see the results! Ditto for Mavtop and iBruce who are exploring Optane M.2 Raid 0. Plus the Intel 900P is rumored to ship by end of year . .
    To keep all options open my Intel 750 1.2 has gone to the auction house. Running now off an HGST 4GB spinner. Very retro!! How technology continues to spoil us.

  3. #233
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    855

    Molloch: oops - brainslip.

    I'm not trying to get faster speeds - 4200 or 4266 is great for a 7820X. I am trying to raise DRAM voltage to get tighter timings at the 4200 speed.

  4. #234
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    I'm in a bit of a conundrum. I have Corsair Dominator Platinum Blackout Special Edition Ram that clocks in at 3200MHz. Aesthetically, it simply rocks with the black/red theme. RAM speed shouldn't be important when you are talking 3200 to 4000MHz, but I like having the top of everything. Since I'm going to be using my old x99 MB and CPU, I have to get some new RAM anyway. So stick with the Special Edition RAM and get some cheaper RAM for the other computer or go for something that is 4200 with my i9-7900x?
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  5. #235
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Moloch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Quote Originally Posted by jab383 View Post
    Molloch: oops - brainslip.

    I'm not trying to get faster speeds - 4200 or 4266 is great for a 7820X. I am trying to raise DRAM voltage to get tighter timings at the 4200 speed.
    I assume you have set the DIGI+ setting for DRAM voltage to 140%?

    I can only guess it is related to 7740x being a different animal from 7820x. It has twice as many cores, 12 more cpu lanes, twice as many memory channels... I'm not certain how different KBL-X is from SKL-X... the R6Apex has a pin which can be installed in the cpu-slot for extra DMI(?) voltage with 7740x, which could damage the 7820x if installed... very different cpus indeed

    I mostly saw the BD post code when my ram was set too high MHz. Anything over 4200 gives me BD. I didn't try going beyond 1.41v, and eventually dropped it down to 4000 where my ram is very happy

    Perhaps raja could give you a better answer or some idea how to get your voltages higher.

  6. #236
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Moloch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Quote Originally Posted by Brighttail View Post
    I'm in a bit of a conundrum. I have Corsair Dominator Platinum Blackout Special Edition Ram that clocks in at 3200MHz. Aesthetically, it simply rocks with the black/red theme. RAM speed shouldn't be important when you are talking 3200 to 4000MHz, but I like having the top of everything. Since I'm going to be using my old x99 MB and CPU, I have to get some new RAM anyway. So stick with the Special Edition RAM and get some cheaper RAM for the other computer or go for something that is 4200 with my i9-7900x?
    Is 3200 the XMP speed, or the fastest you can clock it at? If 3200 is XMP, it might be possible to hit 4000 on the Apex with it (don't quote me on that)

    Perhaps test it and see before ordering new ram? Of course that means if you don't like it, you'll be waiting a week for newegg to deliver new ram

    Personally I'd want mine to go 4000 with a 7900x. 3200 is a loss of about 20% on a fairly vital component.

  7. #237
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    Quote Originally Posted by Moloch View Post
    Is 3200 the XMP speed, or the fastest you can clock it at? If 3200 is XMP, it might be possible to hit 4000 on the Apex with it (don't quote me on that)

    Perhaps test it and see before ordering new ram? Of course that means if you don't like it, you'll be waiting a week for newegg to deliver new ram

    Personally I'd want mine to go 4000 with a 7900x. 3200 is a loss of about 20% on a fairly vital component.
    That is the XMP. Corsair says the RAM can go to 3600 MHz, i couldn't do that because the R5E10 can't go higher than 3333MHz. SO yeah I'll try and bump it up to 3600MHz. I'd be happy with that. I'm getting the R6E.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  8. #238
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array meankeys PC Specs
    meankeys PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex / Maximus IX APEX / Rampage V EX V10
    Processor7920X / 5960X / 6950X / 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z - 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #3ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 OC
    Monitor3 X ASUS V248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCool Express SS
    Power SupplyThermaltake Tough Power Grand 1200W
    Keyboard Cyberus
    Headset Tittan
    OS Win 7 64bit
    Network RouterASUS
    meankeys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    1,553

    Quote Originally Posted by jab383 View Post
    Meankeys: I'm with Raja on this -- 4400 RAM sticks booted XMP settings at 4400 on the first try with a 7740X. With a 7820X, the XMP setting boots at 4200 ratio with 101.6MHz BCLK = 4266. That speed ran fully stable much to my surprise.

    With the 7740X and BIOS 702, the DRAMs ran at 4133 and 4400 with tighter timings with DRAM voltage (Vdimm) at 1.60v and also ran at 4133 even tighter. This is typical of my experience with b-die. Bandwidth in Aida64 was better with the tighter timings at 4133, especially when BCLK was pushed to get 4200. I agree that there is a bandwidth, but not latency, cost to the higher clocks.

    Raja: I do have a related issue.

    I switched to 7820X CPU and BIOS 802 at the same time. Since then, POST will finish and running in Windows is stable only with 1.40Vdimm. Voltages from 1.425 to 1.625 end POST with Q-code BD (insert standard rant about undefined Q-codes). If CPU input voltage is pushed to 2.40v, DRAMs at elevated Vdimm finish POST about 20% of the time, mostly ending at Q-Code BD. It seems that the 7740X is an ordinary 4-core Kabylake and the 7820X is a much different animal. Am I missing some setting? Could one of the Aux voltages help here?
    Thanks buddy - Till you and Raja enlighten me my expectations were high. Makes sense More cores more stress on the cpu. Now that I am done with competitions I am going to put the 12 core back on the bench and do some testing.

  9. #239
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by jab383 View Post
    Meankeys: I'm with Raja on this -- 4400 RAM sticks booted XMP settings at 4400 on the first try with a 7740X. With a 7820X, the XMP setting boots at 4200 ratio with 101.6MHz BCLK = 4266. That speed ran fully stable much to my surprise.

    With the 7740X and BIOS 702, the DRAMs ran at 4133 and 4400 with tighter timings with DRAM voltage (Vdimm) at 1.60v and also ran at 4133 even tighter. This is typical of my experience with b-die. Bandwidth in Aida64 was better with the tighter timings at 4133, especially when BCLK was pushed to get 4200. I agree that there is a bandwidth, but not latency, cost to the higher clocks.

    Raja: I do have a related issue.

    I switched to 7820X CPU and BIOS 802 at the same time. Since then, POST will finish and running in Windows is stable only with 1.40Vdimm. Voltages from 1.425 to 1.625 end POST with Q-code BD (insert standard rant about undefined Q-codes). If CPU input voltage is pushed to 2.40v, DRAMs at elevated Vdimm finish POST about 20% of the time, mostly ending at Q-Code BD. It seems that the 7740X is an ordinary 4-core Kabylake and the 7820X is a much different animal. Am I missing some setting? Could one of the Aux voltages help here?

    Are you running the b-die profile?

  10. #240
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    855

    Raja: "Are you running the b-die profile?"

    Not really. I'm running at 4200 rather than 4000 and I expect more from the b-die if Vdimm can be raised. 15's in primaries would not be out of the question at 1.60+v. That's what raised the question. (I have yet to get any b-die sticks that scale with voltage up to 1.8.)

    Since then, pushed timings improved to 17.17.16.26.1 plus tighter seconds. That profile boots reliably at 1.40Vdimm and idles in Windows, but isn't stable under load. Using TurboV core in windows, Vdimm can be raised to 1.55v which runs unconditionally stable. I just have to remember to load that TurboV profile at every boot. Refresh proved to be a driver. tREFI couldn't go over 22000 at 1.40Vdimm under load, but 32767 tREFI runs well with 1.55v. Similarly, 325tRFC boots and idles at 1.40Vdimm, but needs 1.55v for full stability. 275tRFC runs stable in windows at 1.55v, but does not boot at 1.40v. Still working on third timings. There is still room for bandwidth and latency improvements if POST would succeed with Vdimm over 1.40.
    Last edited by jab383; 09-22-2017 at 06:42 PM.

Page 24 of 29 FirstFirst ... 14 22 23 24 25 26 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •