Page 25 of 29 FirstFirst ... 15 23 24 25 26 27 ... LastLast
Results 241 to 250 of 290
  1. #241
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Moloch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Just finished a full hour of Aida64 stability testing with my 7820x.

    I went with a target of <85°C core temps, keeping in mind it is still summer, with room temp of ~25°C/77°F. This puts my idle temps around 31-33C

    I tried to get my coldest core to 4.9, but it was not stable at 1.275v (it booted windows, but instantly crashed under full load), which was pushing my temp target of 85C

    I ended up with 2 cores at 4.5, 2 at 4.6, and 4 at 4.8. I'm happy with that given my cpu was bought as "used - no returns" for $200 off retail

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	temps.jpg 
Views:	191 
Size:	95.0 KB 
ID:	67588

    Fun Fact: When numbered 1-8, rather than 0-7... all my 4.8 cores are prime numbers (2,3,5,7)

  2. #242
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    Good job!

    So question about RAM. WHen you talk about DDR4 RAM that has a default 1.35 voltage, what would be considered a safe cap of voltage for overclocking? The Corsair Dominator Platinum SE, I have seen people bump it up to 1.45v and I feel safe with that voltage, but looking here some people are putting 1.55, 1.65v???
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  3. #243
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    853

    Brighttail: By the DDR4 spec, DRAM voltage up to 1.95 should cause no harm. The problem is that DDR4 is not guaranteed to work with that high voltage. I normally run seriously pushed speed and timings at 1.60v...1.58 ... 1.62... somewhere in there. The Samsung b-die I use often throw errors when voltage goes over 1.62. Some people have DDR4 sticks that scale up to 1.80v, but those appear to be rare.

    DDR4 usually runs its XMP profile at the stated voltage or maybe .050v higher. That's always quite safe.

  4. #244
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I can not set adaptive voltage properly ? It did not act like in the BIOS description, voltages are all over the place according to HWInfo. Is there a bug in BIOS ?

  5. #245
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    Quote Originally Posted by jab383 View Post
    Brighttail: By the DDR4 spec, DRAM voltage up to 1.95 should cause no harm. The problem is that DDR4 is not guaranteed to work with that high voltage. I normally run seriously pushed speed and timings at 1.60v...1.58 ... 1.62... somewhere in there. The Samsung b-die I use often throw errors when voltage goes over 1.62. Some people have DDR4 sticks that scale up to 1.80v, but those appear to be rare.

    DDR4 usually runs its XMP profile at the stated voltage or maybe .050v higher. That's always quite safe.
    Yeah I might consider 1.5 MAYBE 1.6 but nothing higher....
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  6. #246
    ROG Member Array asustts PC Specs
    asustts PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel 7960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 4x8GB F4-3200C14Q-32GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080
    MonitorDell Ultrawide 1440 - 34"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro
    Storage #22x 970 EVO
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller custom water loop
    CaseCaseLabs BH8
    Power SupplyCorsair 850HX
    OS Win 10x64

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by WonderSausage View Post
    My Asus Hyper M.2 x16 card just arrived from Amazon.

    The heatsink is pretty hefty. There is a tiny external switch on the card bracket to turn the fan on/off.

    Four Intel 600p 1TB drives arrive tomorrow. I'm tempted to throw the thing in my x299 gaming system to see if the VROC drivers are ready yet (the gaming system is a Gigabyte Aorus X299 Gaming 9).

    BTW Newegg has a 2 per buyer limit on 600p drives so the workaround is to order another 2 from neweggbusiness which uses a separate account.
    Any updates? My build is currently in limbo; just sold my Intel 750 and am running on a 'spinner'. So now I'm waiting on a rumored Intel 900p or if the Hyper M.2x16 card pans out I'll go in this direction.

  7. #247
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    I too have issues with adaptive voltage. Seems that it is not even applied. Can anybody confirm this behaviour? thx

  8. #248
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisk2305 View Post
    I too have issues with adaptive voltage. Seems that it is not even applied. Can anybody confirm this behaviour? thx
    Maybe you should post up screenshots showing how you've set it.

  9. #249
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array mpoffo PC Specs
    mpoffo PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR = 32 GB 3200 Kit
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Geforce 1080 FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia Geforce 1080 FE
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorNvidia Surround (5960 x 1080)
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro256 GB/850 Evo 500 GB
    Storage #2WD 2 TB & 4TB Black Hard Drives
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 - RGB
    Mouse Corsair Glaive
    Headset Turtle Beach Surround
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1 Surround THX Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk x10 R9000 w/ Plex
    Accessory #1 Corsair Comm. w/ Corsair HD Fans - NZXT Hue +
    Accessory #2 DX Racer King Series Chair
    Accessory #3 3D Printer/HTC VIVE
    mpoffo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    254

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisk2305 View Post
    I too have issues with adaptive voltage. Seems that it is not even applied. Can anybody confirm this behaviour? thx
    What are your issues? I use it and it works for me although voltage does not seem to go past 1V when I have the ceiling at 1.2. I had a issue with my power options in windows also changing the min CPU usage to 100% pegging it at max core. That was an easy fix.
    RVIE X299 System:
    Windows 10 Prof 64-bit | Intel Core i9 7900x | ASUS Rampage VI Extreme | Corsair AX 1200i PSU
    Corsair 900D | 32 GB 3200 G.SKILL Trident RGB Series | EVGA GTX 1080 in SLI (x2) | Nvidia 2D Surround Set-up
    Samsung 840 PRO 256 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | Intel 520 SATA SSD 240GB HD | 2 & 4 TB WD Black Hard Drive
    Creative Sound Blaster Z | Logitech THX 5.1 speaker setup

  10. #250
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    Voltage never gets above 1V according to CPU-Z. Also my OC settings don't seem to work properly.

    Sync all cores, Multi 47, AVX and AVX512 neg. offset to 5. Now tried Offset instead of adaptive Voltage with +0.025 and this is the result:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	apex1.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	293.8 KB 
ID:	67821

    This is latest prime95 with AVX disabled because I wanted to see the 4.7Ghz. CPU does throttle although temps are quite low.what the heck is wrong here? Thx in advance.

    EDIT: Another thing I noticed is that my 960 pro is running quite low with 2500/1700 seg. read/write (already switch Dimm M.2 Slots - now at the left side of the socket). Anybody experienced smth. similar?
    Last edited by chrisk2305; 10-01-2017 at 01:09 PM.

Page 25 of 29 FirstFirst ... 15 23 24 25 26 27 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •