Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Strix X99 Gaming BIOS Update 1701 Not valid BIOS file?

    Seen there was a new BIOS update to fix the memtest86 issue and wanted to update but...

    -Download from website and put on USB Flash Drive = This is not a valid BIOS file
    -Use EZ Update Windows Utility = No Updates Found
    -Use EZ Update BIOS Utility = Can't connect to the Internet

    STRIX X99 GAMING BIOS 1701
    Fixed memtest86 issue
    Fixed Plextor device issue
    7.25 Mbytes 2017/05/26

    Also strange that they skipped 1601

  2. #2

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Is your USB pendrive FAT32 formatted?
    Yes, I just double check and even on a different flash drive.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,351

    Hi ChaosBlades

    If you're using the bios flashback feature you'll have to rename the bios file after extracting it to the usb flash drive. For the Strix x99 Gaming, I'm not sure what to rename it to, it will tell you in the manual.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi ChaosBlades

    If you're using the bios flashback feature you'll have to rename the bios file after extracting it to the usb flash drive. For the Strix x99 Gaming, I'm not sure what to rename it to, it will tell you in the manual.
    I have updated the BIOS on this motherboard for every version since the first release and never needed to do that. Even multiple times between versions while trying to troubleshoot that stupid Samsung 960 Pro issue. Also checked the manual and it mentions nothing about renaming. I am starting to think this BIOS release is not ment for this motherboard and put on that page in mistake since the EZ Update windows tool says there is no update. Unless someone here can confirm they have upated their Strix X99 Gaming to that specific version.

    Edit: Just tried the BIOS update tool inside AISuite 3 and when it restarted to update the BIOS all I got was "Update Failed.". Someone from ASUS needs to double check this BIOS.
    Last edited by ChaosBlades; 06-06-2017 at 02:11 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array mulderfox PC Specs
    mulderfox PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GP62MVR 7RF
    MotherboardAsus Strix x99 Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)BLS2K8G4D240FSE
    Graphics Card #1Palit GTX1080 Super Jetstream
    MonitorDell 27" S2716DG
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD
    Storage #2HGST 10TB HDD, Toshiba 5TB HDD
    CPU CoolerID Cooling Frostflow 240L
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyThermaltake Smart DPS 750W
    Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys M Pro White
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset/Speakers Thonet and Vander GRUB 2.1 Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    I downloaded it from the website (could not find it when used AI Suite), and updated it from inside the Bios (located the CAP file I extracted from the zip file on my hard drive).

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I resolved this issue... by resetting the BIOS to default via the jumper. I decided to check the older versions and they gave me the same error.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •