Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 109

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Exclamation ASUS ROG Radeon RX 470 Strix Gaming OC 4GB | loses connection to monitor

    When playing any video game the monitor keeps losing connection to the video card, the issue is not just my video card, it is every single ASUS ROG Radeon RX 470 Strix Gaming OC 4GB

    The issue seems to be the upper two states of the video card, state 6 and 7, the voltage and frequency.

    Can Asus please release another bios update for this video card that fixes the issue, the previous bios update did not fix the issue.

  2. #2
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    417

    hi James,
    Try to install the new Radeon Software Crimson ReLive Edition , if still lose connection to monitor
    You may contact the service center in local to help RMA service

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    This is not a helpful reply.

    I am trying to contact Asus about releasing a new bios to fix this specific model of video card, the issue is not just my video card, it is every single "ASUS ROG Radeon RX 470 Strix Gaming OC 4GB".

    Who can I contact about getting Asus to release a new bios for this series of card?

    From the looks of it this forum is just users trying to help other users.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Smile

    Would just like to mention that Asus has finally released a new bios for this video card and after using it now for a few hours it seems to have fixed the problem.

    For those with this card the bios can be found on the Asus website.

    US Website : https://www.asus.com/Graphics-Cards/...Desk_Download/

    Australian Website : https://www.asus.com/au/Graphics-Car...Desk_Download/

    Found in the Windows 10 tab under bios.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    GPU Clock Throttling

    Quote Originally Posted by James-Pro View Post
    Would just like to mention that Asus has finally released a new bios for this video card and after using it now for a few hours it seems to have fixed the problem.

    For those with this card the bios can be found on the Asus website.

    US Website : https://www.asus.com/Graphics-Cards/...Desk_Download/

    Australian Website : https://www.asus.com/au/Graphics-Car...Desk_Download/

    Found in the Windows 10 tab under bios.
    Updated the bios and the issue seems fixed. However it was very disappointing to see that even though after a bios update was provided after a long time, the gpu throttling issue has still not been fixed. I own a Asus Dual OC 480 as well as Strix 470 OC. Even after increasing the gpu temp target to 75C via asus tweakII software, the gpu never goes above 69C and the clock speed is reduced instead. This kind of issue is not present in the 480 Dual OC but is there in the Strix 470 OC and also has been covered in various reviews. It seems very misleading for ASUS to advertise higher overclock (1270) speeds while it cannot even maintain stock speeds (1250). Please fix the issue or at least clarify due to what technical reason you do not want the gpu to exceed 70C.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    I've put in a lot of hours now and it has not black screened once.... this bios absolutely fixed that issue, Been playing Everspace and it's running smooth.

    Have you tried using Wattman instead of the asus utility?

    I set my target temp to 70 and it seems to be fine... although it is winter here and the card has a 120mm fan pointed directly at it, housed inside Antec 900 case... so it isn't really getting a chance to get hot.
    Last edited by James-Pro; 07-01-2017 at 10:57 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Well it's been a while since reporting this issue a second time, no new bios.. seems Asus don't care.

    I won't be buying this brand again, it's been nothing but a bad experience..

  8. #8
    Ex-employee Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    108
    Posts
    2,154

    I have reported this issue over to our team, however the number of reports is still very few as most people have reported that the issue is fixed with the latest vBIOS. Please help share you full system specifications, graphics driver, GPU Tweak II version, and OS version. Thanks.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by Bahz View Post
    I have reported this issue over to our team, however the number of reports is still very few as most people have reported that the issue is fixed with the latest vBIOS. Please help share you full system specifications, graphics driver, GPU Tweak II version, and OS version. Thanks.
    The issue happens with the current bios update, just to a lesser extent... It is frustrating.

    Current OS used is Windows 8.1, I also dual boot with Windows 10 on a separate partition, the issue is present on both.

    Current Driver version used is 17.8.1, the issue is present using every single driver version including the one that comes on the support CD that comes in the box with the video card, I purchased this card 4 months ago now.

    Motherboard is ASUS M5A97 R2.0, CPU is AMD FX 8320, Memory is G.Skill Ripjaws X F3 8GB, SSD is Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, Power Supply is Corsair HX650W, Monitor is BenQ GW2270, Monitor is connected via HDMI.

    GPU Tweak II is not used or installed.

    The video games I was playing when this issue happened was Fallout 4 and The Witcher 3.

    If a new bios could be released to fix this problem 100% that would be fantastic.

    *edit*

    Issue is reported on Guru3D forums with the new bios update applied, one user mentioned he sold his ASUS RX 470 due to the issue and got a 1060, also mentioned he saw the issue reported on AMD forums with the new bios being used.

    https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/ne...oc-4gb.415250/
    Last edited by James-Pro; 08-24-2017 at 12:54 AM. Reason: more information

  10. #10
    Ex-employee Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    108
    Posts
    2,154

    Great, thanks for getting back to me with this information.

Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •