Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 109
  1. #81
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Seems I spoke too soon. The no signal black screen crashes are still there, but only show up while gaming now. I started using my desktop again for gaming, and got a black screen crash in the middle of a pubg match. Left it running Unigine Valley after that to test for stability, and it crashed yet again after 4 days. I was able to connect to it while it was giving no signal, but all I saw was a black screen remotely as well.

    Hitting the reset button let me boot up and connect via RDB, or onboard graphics. According to Device Manager, there is no AMD gpu installed, only the HD4600 graphics. Event Viewer shows no issues, aside from the expected "system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first" ATIFlash also says that it cannot find dioscrete ATI Video Card. In order to get the GPU to show up again, I had to shut down (instead of restart) in Windows, and turn it back on.

    I also swapped out the motherboard (Asrock Z97 Killer) for an Asrock H81M to see if that was the issue, and got the same result.

    Edit 16-03-2018: got a second crash in under 36 hours of uptime. When I woke up, the screen was receiving no signal and I couldn't connect via remote desktop anymore. Upon rebooting there was a 0x00000116 (0xffffd30a0d8494a0, 0xfffff80ddea0f818, 0xffffffffc0000001, 0x0000000000000003) bugcheck in the event log. After rebooting (vs shutting down and turning on the pc), the video card is still no longer present in device manager, and the fans on the GPU don't turn. Right as the PC reboots, the ROG logo turns white and then back to red, as normal. I am using Radeon Software 18.3.1

    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    VIDEO_TDR_FAILURE (116)
    Attempt to reset the display driver and recover from timeout failed.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: ffffd30a0d8494a0, Optional pointer to internal TDR recovery context (TDR_RECOVERY_CONTEXT).
    Arg2: fffff80ddea0f818, The pointer into responsible device driver module (e.g. owner tag).
    Arg3: ffffffffc0000001, Optional error code (NTSTATUS) of the last failed operation.
    Arg4: 0000000000000003, Optional internal context dependent data.
    
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    
    DUMP_CLASS: 1
    
    DUMP_QUALIFIER: 400
    
    BUILD_VERSION_STRING:  10.0.16299.248 (WinBuild.160101.0800)
    
    SYSTEM_PRODUCT_NAME:  To Be Filled By O.E.M.
    
    SYSTEM_SKU:  To Be Filled By O.E.M.
    
    SYSTEM_VERSION:  To Be Filled By O.E.M.
    
    BIOS_VENDOR:  American Megatrends Inc.
    
    BIOS_VERSION:  P2.00
    
    BIOS_DATE:  01/18/2016
    
    BASEBOARD_MANUFACTURER:  ASRock
    
    BASEBOARD_PRODUCT:  H81M
    
    BASEBOARD_VERSION:                        
    
    DUMP_TYPE:  2
    
    BUGCHECK_P1: ffffd30a0d8494a0
    
    BUGCHECK_P2: fffff80ddea0f818
    
    BUGCHECK_P3: ffffffffc0000001
    
    BUGCHECK_P4: 3
    
    FAULTING_IP: 
    atikmpag+f818
    fffff80d`dea0f818 48895c2408      mov     qword ptr [rsp+8],rbx
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  GRAPHICS_DRIVER_TDR_FAULT
    
    CPU_COUNT: 8
    
    CPU_MHZ: dab
    
    CPU_VENDOR:  GenuineIntel
    
    CPU_FAMILY: 6
    
    CPU_MODEL: 3c
    
    CPU_STEPPING: 3
    
    CPU_MICROCODE: 6,3c,3,0 (F,M,S,R)  SIG: 1E'00000000 (cache) 1E'00000000 (init)
    
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x116
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  System
    
    CURRENT_IRQL:  0
    
    ANALYSIS_SESSION_HOST:  DESKTOP-IK1KPIA
    
    ANALYSIS_SESSION_TIME:  03-16-2018 08:51:10.0149
    
    ANALYSIS_VERSION: 10.0.14321.1024 amd64fre
    
    STACK_TEXT:  
    ffff9581`5e3e2a18 fffff80d`de8dce10 : 00000000`00000116 ffffd30a`0d8494a0 fffff80d`dea0f818 ffffffff`c0000001 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    ffff9581`5e3e2a20 fffff80d`de8a7059 : fffff80d`dea0f818 ffffd30a`0ffe60a0 ffffd30a`0ffe6170 00000000`00000000 : dxgkrnl!TdrBugcheckOnTimeout+0xec
    ffff9581`5e3e2a60 fffff80d`de8a7b75 : ffffd30a`0d8401a0 00000000`10000000 ffffd30a`0ffe60a0 00000000`10000000 : dxgkrnl!DXGADAPTER::PrepareToReset+0x159
    ffff9581`5e3e2ab0 fffff80d`de8dc5a5 : 00000000`00000100 00000000`00000000 ffffd30a`144ef250 ffffd30a`14ea2700 : dxgkrnl!DXGADAPTER::Reset+0x229
    ffff9581`5e3e2b20 fffff80d`de8dc6f7 : 00000000`00000000 ffffd30a`144ef230 ffffd30a`0c4c2b60 fffff802`43c9aa20 : dxgkrnl!TdrResetFromTimeout+0x15
    ffff9581`5e3e2b50 fffff802`43cca4d5 : ffffd30a`14ea2700 fffff80d`de8dc6d0 ffffd30a`0c4c2b60 ffffd30a`0c4c2b60 : dxgkrnl!TdrResetFromTimeoutWorkItem+0x27
    ffff9581`5e3e2b80 fffff802`43da5b87 : ffffd30a`14ea2700 00000000`00000080 ffffd30a`0c4cb040 ffffd30a`14ea2700 : nt!ExpWorkerThread+0xf5
    ffff9581`5e3e2c10 fffff802`43e0bbe6 : ffff9a81`7e3aa180 ffffd30a`14ea2700 fffff802`43da5b40 00000000`00000002 : nt!PspSystemThreadStartup+0x47
    ffff9581`5e3e2c60 00000000`00000000 : ffff9581`5e3e3000 ffff9581`5e3dd000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiStartSystemThread+0x16
    
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    
    THREAD_SHA1_HASH_MOD_FUNC:  3aa6aac2005fb728aff349df2b5f504893184b97
    
    THREAD_SHA1_HASH_MOD_FUNC_OFFSET:  1ab971779083cc77f0ce40ee82015486869b0d0f
    
    THREAD_SHA1_HASH_MOD:  3225689ea8bf23dca00cdfd517975e0703e07271
    
    FOLLOWUP_IP: 
    atikmpag+f818
    fffff80d`dea0f818 48895c2408      mov     qword ptr [rsp+8],rbx
    
    FAULT_INSTR_CODE:  245c8948
    
    SYMBOL_NAME:  atikmpag+f818
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    
    MODULE_NAME: atikmpag
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  atikmpag.sys
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  5a99f4d2
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  0x116_IMAGE_atikmpag.sys
    
    BUCKET_ID:  0x116_IMAGE_atikmpag.sys
    
    PRIMARY_PROBLEM_CLASS:  0x116_IMAGE_atikmpag.sys
    
    TARGET_TIME:  2018-03-16T05:13:52.000Z
    
    OSBUILD:  16299
    
    OSSERVICEPACK:  248
    
    SERVICEPACK_NUMBER: 0
    
    OS_REVISION: 0
    
    SUITE_MASK:  272
    
    PRODUCT_TYPE:  1
    
    OSPLATFORM_TYPE:  x64
    
    OSNAME:  Windows 10
    
    OSEDITION:  Windows 10 WinNt TerminalServer SingleUserTS
    
    OS_LOCALE:  
    
    USER_LCID:  0
    
    OSBUILD_TIMESTAMP:  2018-02-10 00:34:33
    
    BUILDDATESTAMP_STR:  160101.0800
    
    BUILDLAB_STR:  WinBuild
    
    BUILDOSVER_STR:  10.0.16299.248
    
    ANALYSIS_SESSION_ELAPSED_TIME: 9801
    
    ANALYSIS_SOURCE:  KM
    
    FAILURE_ID_HASH_STRING:  km:0x116_image_atikmpag.sys
    
    FAILURE_ID_HASH:  {e300aa8c-6915-3f37-7957-d2e4fc30a6fd}
    Edit 18-03-2018
    Got yet another crash after 48 hours.

    Edit 22-03-2018:
    Enabled iGPU, started up Unigine Valley while my monitor was connected to the RX 470 to get it to run on that card, and then connected my monitor to the iGPU. After 3 days it crashed (exception code 0xc0000005), as well as the instance of GPUz that I had open monitoring my card.
    I tried to open up Radeon Settings, and that caused the computer to lock up (frozen screen, couldn't connect via RDP or team viewer, even though the computer still showed up as online an hour later for those services, and a regular clicking sound could be heard on the headphone out every 15 seconds). I hit the reset button, and once again the RX 470 is missing from Device Manager.
    Last edited by fiveofeight; 03-22-2018 at 10:53 AM.

  2. #82
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    After a few more months of using the card for some pretty heavy gaming I have found that the newest Bios released on the Asus website + undervolting the upper state voltage to 1135mV + keeping the default frequency of 1250Mhz and it has not lost signal with the monitor once since last year.

    I wish Asus would release a bios where the default voltage for the upper state "State 7" is 1135mV instead of it's default value of 1150mV

    The issue is a voltage issue not a frequency issue.


  3. #83
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by James-Pro View Post
    After a few more months of using the card for some pretty heavy gaming I have found that the newest Bios released on the Asus website + undervolting the upper state voltage to 1135mV + keeping the default frequency of 1250Mhz and it has not lost signal with the monitor once since last year.

    I wish Asus would release a bios where the default voltage for the upper state "State 7" is 1135mV instead of it's default value of 1150mV

    The issue is a voltage issue not a frequency issue.

    My voltages are different than yours, I had 1143 for the State 7 and when I changed it to 1135 I got black screen 5 minutes into the game. Doesn't increasing voltage increase stability? Maybe I could try and reduce frequency, maybe I should disable state 7 fully? What are safe voltages to try out, and what about memory frequency/voltage?

  4. #84
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by drtwdiablo View Post
    My voltages are different than yours, I had 1143 for the State 7 and when I changed it to 1135 I got black screen 5 minutes into the game. Doesn't increasing voltage increase stability? Maybe I could try and reduce frequency, maybe I should disable state 7 fully? What are safe voltages to try out, and what about memory frequency/voltage?
    Is it the same model video card? Is it the same bios?



    I have not changed anything to do with the memory, only lowered the voltage of the state 7, at first I thought I needed to underclock and also undervolt the card to make it stop black screening, but now all I do is undervolt.

    My guess is this OC model card is drawing too much voltage in high load scenarios which causes the black screen / lost connection to monitor.

    It's kind of funny that the moderator said it's only a few people having this issue yet this thread has a little over 13 thousand views, gee willikers I wonder why.

  5. #85
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by James-Pro View Post
    Is it the same model video card? Is it the same bios?



    I have not changed anything to do with the memory, only lowered the voltage of the state 7, at first I thought I needed to underclock and also undervolt the card to make it stop black screening, but now all I do is undervolt.

    My guess is this OC model card is drawing too much voltage in high load scenarios which causes the black screen / lost connection to monitor.

    It's kind of funny that the moderator said it's only a few people having this issue yet this thread has a little over 13 thousand views, gee willikers I wonder why.
    Yep, everything is exactly identical. It's a shame I bought new PSU the other day giving my GPU benefit of the doubt, but now I'm sure something is wrong with the card. Also did a clean windows install yesterday with new drivers (removed windows ones with DDU) and it still black screens It's so hard to test because it can happen that it goes without crash for a day or it crashes 3-4 times a day. It's driving me crazy. I think I'm just going to wait for GPU prices to go down so that I can buy a new one.

  6. #86
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by drtwdiablo View Post
    Yep, everything is exactly identical. It's a shame I bought new PSU the other day giving my GPU benefit of the doubt, but now I'm sure something is wrong with the card. Also did a clean windows install yesterday with new drivers (removed windows ones with DDU) and it still black screens It's so hard to test because it can happen that it goes without crash for a day or it crashes 3-4 times a day. It's driving me crazy. I think I'm just going to wait for GPU prices to go down so that I can buy a new one.
    Try 1225Mhz at 1135mV, basically 25Mhz slower along with the lowered voltage on State 7.

    For the longest time I thought it was my power supply too, it's a Corsair HX650W which has a really good 12volt rail, I was like.... there is no way I'm pushing it to the max, I've run more power hungry cards in the past with it.

    Then Asus unwilingly coughed up the bios that "fixed stability issues" ... *insert sacastic face here* .... and for a while it was fine but then it black screened again, so I figured it was "more stable" just not "fixed", so I then lowered just the voltage and left the frequency at default and since the end of last year haven't had a black screen once, including in the game that was prone to trigger the black screen "Fallolut 4", which I've probably put in about 30 hours into since last year.

    Ahh yes, using video cards to play video games what a crazy world we live it, I'm thinking about a new video card too, everything has been pushed up like 200 dollars more expensive because of miners. sigh.

    Also, how is the video card connected to the Monitor? I am using HDMI.
    Last edited by James-Pro; 03-27-2018 at 12:32 AM.

  7. #87
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by James-Pro View Post
    Try 1225Mhz at 1135mV, basically 25Mhz slower along with the lowered voltage on State 7.

    For the longest time I thought it was my power supply too, it's a Corsair HX650W which has a really good 12volt rail, I was like.... there is no way I'm pushing it to the max, I've run more power hungry cards in the past with it.

    Then Asus unwilingly coughed up the bios that "fixed stability issues" ... *insert sacastic face here* .... and for a while it was fine but then it black screened again, so I figured it was "more stable" just not "fixed", so I then lowered just the voltage and left the frequency at default and since the end of last year haven't had a black screen once, including in the game that was prone to trigger the black screen "Fallolut 4", which I've probably put in about 30 hours into since last year.

    Ahh yes, using video cards to play video games what a crazy world we live it, I'm thinking about a new video card too, everything has been pushed up like 200 dollars more expensive because of miners. sigh.

    Also, how is the video card connected to the Monitor? I am using HDMI.
    First I was using some Raidmax Cobra PSU in my old Phenom II build with RX 470x and this problem occured a few times but it was so rare that I really didn't suspect anything. I got 2-3 black screens while playing Metal Gear Solid and like 2 BSOD while playing Witcher 3, after that I remember I played World of Warcraft and other stuff like crazy but it never happened again. Since I got my Ryzen build I remember playing Overwatch with my friend literally 10 hours a day for a week without any problems, and then black screen started to happen like every single day. I had EVGA 600W BQ which is like tier 4 PSU, so I decided to get Corsair RM650i, at least now I have a good PSU. I was updating GPU drivers like every new version that comes out, it was 17.x.x version so maybe there is a stable version of drivers or something that allowed me to play for that one week.

    Also I'm sending the card back today, it's still under warranty. They'll probably test it for an hour in Heaven or Furmark and return it as working so I'll have time fiddling with the settings you gave me, if they give me store credits I'll probably go for a newer card and if they fix it then great xD

    I have it connected to 2 monitors, both DVI. One is connected through an active VGA->DVI connector so I thought that was making some kind of conflict but I tried it with a single monitor and it still black screened.

  8. #88
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by drtwdiablo View Post
    Also I'm sending the card back today, it's still under warranty. They'll probably test it for an hour in Heaven or Furmark and return it as working so I'll have time fiddling with the settings you gave me, if they give me store credits I'll probably go for a newer card and if they fix it then great xD
    When you do the RMA maybe mention that this specific model of video card by Asus has this problem of losing connection to the monitor when playing video games but it's very hard to predict when it will happen, if they allow you to get a replacement card don't get the same card, and if possible get a different brand.

    In retrospect I wish I got a 1060 by Evga -___-
    Last edited by James-Pro; 03-27-2018 at 09:56 AM.

  9. #89
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by James-Pro View Post
    In retrospect I wish I got a 1060 by Evga -___-
    M2 =(

    I still having the issue, last week 2 crashes. And if the "experimental bios" isnt a solution.. =(....

  10. #90
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Still have the same issue with the card with the new bios, and now Asus won't issue an RMA anymore as it is out of warranty. I bought an MSI Radeon RX 470 off of Ebay and ran Unigine Valley for 2 weeks 24/7 on the PC, and had 0 issues with crashes/ no signal, so it's 100% the card and not something else in the system. Not impressed that I was sent 2 RX 470s that were defective, had to pay for the shipping back to Asus twice, and now Asus will not replace it. Additionally the front fan has already started to fail, after just a few months it is spinning way slower than the other fan.

    @James-Pro. might be because I have the non-oc version of the card (max clock speed is 1206MHz), but voltages are a lot lower for my STRIX RX470-4G:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FYCGb5P.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	78.7 KB 
ID:	73596

    For comparison this is what my voltages on the MSI card are, which has no stability issues:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	9jzczdf.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	79.8 KB 
ID:	73597

    Those voltages are also linked to your Asic quality afaik, so it will auto adjust for every card (you can check that in GPU-z, go to advanced>asic quality in the dropdown), my Asus card is 90.9, and the MSI is 61.6%).

Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •