Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array StarJack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    187

    GL702VMK Thunderbolt 3?

    I have a GL702VMK kaby lake refresh which I purchased on April 10th and it seems my Thunderbolt 3 configuration is unavailable within the BIOS (BIOS 300). It is grayed out. Was hoping an ASUS representative or someone with knowledge of this issue could point me in the right direction for a solution or explain why it's unavailable.

    Thanks in Advance,
    StarJack



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thunder-prob.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	295.1 KB 
ID:	65083

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Bran187 PC Specs
    Bran187 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)GL502VMK
    MotherboardMSI Z97 SLI Krait Edition
    Processori7 4790
    Memory (part number)16 GB GSkill DDR3
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070
    MonitorHP Pavilion 32q
    Storage #1120 GB SSD
    Storage #21TB HDD
    CPU CoolerCM 212
    CaseFractal Define R4
    Power SupplySeasonic 650W
    Keyboard Corsair K55
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
    Headset Plantronics Rig
    Mouse Pad Glteck XXL
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    204

    StarJack I love how you keep fighting the good fight. Cheers.

    I also would very much appreciate to have Asus clear up all the GL series thunderbolt confusion. Because there is a lot of it. lol

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array StarJack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    187

    Quote Originally Posted by Bran187 View Post
    StarJack I love how you keep fighting the good fight. Cheers.

    I also would very much appreciate to have Asus clear up all the GL series thunderbolt confusion. Because there is a lot of it. lol
    I've accepted the heat issue and have dealt with it as best I could. If my Thunderbolt 3 will not work that will be the last straw. I am not a rich guy and had to sell an amp and a guitar to purchase this laptop. ASUS support response has been mediocre at best. Fanboys can flame all they want, ASUS needs to respond with specifics about the Thunderbolt 3 issues on these laptops.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array StarJack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    187

    The options for Thunderbolt 3 were unavailable because there was no user BIOS password set, only administrator. So that is that I guess. Before spending money on an EGPU how do we know if the TB3 is capable of the 40GBPs and will work with the firmware being so far behind as others have stated?

    StarJack

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by StarJack View Post
    The options for Thunderbolt 3 were unavailable because there was no user BIOS password set, only administrator. So that is that I guess. Before spending money on an EGPU how do we know if the TB3 is capable of the 40GBPs and will work with the firmware being so far behind as others have stated?

    StarJack
    What's weird though, my TB settings were available, and I haven't set any passwords at all.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    218

    Quote Originally Posted by StarJack View Post
    The options for Thunderbolt 3 were unavailable because there was no user BIOS password set, only administrator. So that is that I guess. Before spending money on an EGPU how do we know if the TB3 is capable of the 40GBPs and will work with the firmware being so far behind as others have stated?

    StarJack
    That's the 6 million dollar question.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array StarJack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    187

    Unfortunately you cannot tell your NVM firmware version with the current Thunderbolt software unless you have a device connected. But..

    "Intel is working on an updated version of the Thunderbolt software that should provide the firmware information without needing to connect a Thunderbolt device."

    I have no idea what NVM my kaby lake refresh GL702VMK is but I'll require at least 14 from what I'm reading.



    Sent from my SM-G925W8 using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    218

    My G752VT has had an updated NVM for external GPU support. It's only been out for a month or so. It is possible to see the NVM version without a device connected. The new NVM actually states eGPU compatibility when you run the TB Software and click on settings or details. Something like that. I'm posting on my phone so cannot check.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array StarJack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    187

    Quote Originally Posted by BoutTime01 View Post
    My G752VT has had an updated NVM for external GPU support. It's only been out for a month or so. It is possible to see the NVM version without a device connected. The new NVM actually states eGPU compatibility when you run the TB Software and click on settings or details. Something like that. I'm posting on my phone so cannot check.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    When I run the Thunderbolt software it doesn't even put an icon in the system tray to select "Settings" like you see in examples online. The app is empty with no menu options whatsoever. There is no indication of thunderbolt hardware in the device manager. Under USB I have "USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller - 1.0" for what that is worth.

    I really hope ASUS doesn't abandom the GL702VM series. Especially after the customers have dealt with other issues (heat/throttling) with these systems.

    -StarJack

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array StarJack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    187

    So I have the Thunderbolt software displaying details now and this is what I see, there is no controller listed, controller driver is unknown:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thunderbolt3.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	177.8 KB 
ID:	65123

    Here is an example of what I should see (from an example online of a working thunderbolt setup). I do not see the controller portion with NVM details.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thunderbolt3-2.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	108.8 KB 
ID:	65124

    -StarJack
    Last edited by StarJack; 06-04-2017 at 10:11 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •