Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    CPU jumpy temperatures

    I thought it was a bug, but I see that it continues after BIOS updates...it is IDLE
    Check it!

    My build: 1800x | CH6 | Kraken X61
    Last edited by mallrats; 05-29-2017 at 12:27 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    261

    I remember seeing a discussion maybe on overclock.net where it was talked about and the temperature used can be the "greater" or "lesser" of one temperature sensor or another. I kind of question temperature accuracy on these anyway. My 1700 was reporting temps below ambient or ridiculously high if I touched the PLL voltage and took it out of Auto.

    For me the solution was to set SenseMI Skew to Disabled. But I don't have your chip so I'm not sure what you're seeing. I don't use that AMD software to overclock -- I prefer to do things in the BIOS -- and I monitor temperature with HWINFO64 which I can recommend. On that you'll get a temperature from the motherboard for the CPU, and one from the Tctl sensor and the Crosshair VI reported temperature is usually about 5 degrees higher than the Tctl on my mobo.

    Like I said, figuring out the "real" temperature can be a leap of faith but my system is reliable so I guess it's not too far off.
    Tired of trolls and mods that act like this platform has no problems and it's the users fault. Later.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by mallrats View Post
    I thought it was a bug, but I see that it continues after BIOS updates...it is IDLE
    Check it!

    My build: 1800x | CH6 | Kraken X61
    A lot of people have that issue, including me, Here is my topic on the matter:
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...es-jumps/page2

    I have tried a lot of things, but crappy software development is crappy nothing helped me , hopefully someday there will be a fixed bios

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Thank you guys!

    I will wait until they get a fixed BIOS... but one more question: The real problem is in the CPU, in the MOBO or both?

    Thanks again!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •