Page 149 of 193 FirstFirst ... 49 99 139 147 148 149 150 151 159 ... LastLast
Results 1,481 to 1,490 of 1925
  1. #1481
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array smithkid PC Specs
    smithkid PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Surface Pro 3
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme
    Processor7900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX O8G
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX O8G
    Monitor7 various
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2WD 1TB Blue M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerAquacomputer NEXT cuplex kryos vision cu/cu
    CaseLianli PC-T70FX includes T70-1
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard FILCO Majestouch Convertible 2 BT/USB 104 Key - Cherry Brown
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset/Speakers Mackie
    OS W10
    Network RouterTP-Link ER-5120
    smithkid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    Quote Originally Posted by rzotti View Post
    HI Guys !

    I just completed the first stage of my build - all in but the custom cooling and a few bells and whistles, which will still take some days to ship out of EKWB. Want to share some lessons learned and my experience so far:

    !
    Are you on 802 BIOS which has 960 "fixes"?

  2. #1482
    ROG Member Array rzotti PC Specs
    rzotti PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel I9 7900x @ 4.6GHZ (dellided/binned)
    Memory (part number)2 x16GB G.Skill DDR4 TridentZ RGB 4266Mhz PC4-34100 CL19 1.4V Dual Channel Kit (2x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GEFORCE STRIX 1080 TI OC
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GEFORCE STRIX 1080 TI OC
    MonitorSAMSUNG 29" ULTRAWIDE MONITOR S29E790C
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO x3 (2 in raid 0, 1 for boot)
    Storage #2WD BLACK 6TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CUSTOM COOLING
    CasePHANTEKS ELITE
    Power SupplyEVGA 1600W
    Keyboard CORSAIR GAMING K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse LOGITECH G903 WIRELESS GAMING MOUSE
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by smithkid View Post
    Are you on 802 BIOS which has 960 "fixes"?
    Yes, I am. Updating the BIOS was the first thing I did once I finished putting everything together. I thought the 802 BIOS fixes were for the Sandisk M2`s though, not for the 960's.

  3. #1483
    ROG Member Array rzotti PC Specs
    rzotti PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel I9 7900x @ 4.6GHZ (dellided/binned)
    Memory (part number)2 x16GB G.Skill DDR4 TridentZ RGB 4266Mhz PC4-34100 CL19 1.4V Dual Channel Kit (2x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GEFORCE STRIX 1080 TI OC
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GEFORCE STRIX 1080 TI OC
    MonitorSAMSUNG 29" ULTRAWIDE MONITOR S29E790C
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO x3 (2 in raid 0, 1 for boot)
    Storage #2WD BLACK 6TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CUSTOM COOLING
    CasePHANTEKS ELITE
    Power SupplyEVGA 1600W
    Keyboard CORSAIR GAMING K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse LOGITECH G903 WIRELESS GAMING MOUSE
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by Brighttail View Post
    I wonder if you can load the Samsung drivers with the m.2 in a PCI-e slot, then move them over to the DIMM.2. Same with Firmware updates.
    How can you tell that the samsung driver isn't being used or working. I was able to install it just fine, but then i was trying the M.2 in PCI, the M.2 slot and the DIMM.2 slot. After it was installed tho, all those slots had the same speed for each.

    I too got an Enthoo Elite today. Thing is huge. I think the flight case itself is $200-300 of the price. I am going to watercool with three rads and two reservoirs but it is going to be softubing first. I need to get a feel for the size/space first.
    I am pretty sure you could get Magician to update the firmware and even use the Samsung driver turning off raid support and leaving the DIMM2 on the chipset. I am afraid however on what could happen once you moved back to the CPU/Raid Support. Interesting also that once I made a test on booting like that - DIMM2 on chipset with no raid support - I could see both the M2 on the chipset slot under the cover and JUST ONE of the the M2s on the DIMM2. I have not delved deeper to see why the second one was not appearing though.

    You will love the Elite. It is a breeze to work with and it simply looks astonishing - specially after you finish your build. Even turned off, you can see the Rampage light effects through the tempered glass door - it is really nice. I will install a similar rad config, but with only one loop. You may want to have one radiator in the bottom (up to 480), one on the front (up to 360) and one on the top (420 or 480). You should be able to install the one in the front and the one in the bottom under a push/pull configuration for improved performance too. However if you go with two loops, you may be able to push/pull only the bottom one - so allowing you space for the 2 reservoirs in the front. If you go for a separate reservoir/pump configuration, you can also install the pumps on the back, close to the PS area, for further space in the front. This case really gives lots of options.
    Last edited by rzotti; 10-06-2017 at 02:38 PM.

  4. #1484
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    Quote Originally Posted by rzotti View Post
    I am pretty sure you could get Magician to update the firmware and even using Samsung driver turning off raid support and leaving the DIMM2 on the chipset. I am afraid however on what could happen once you moved back to the CPU/Raid Support. Interesting also that once I made a test on booting like that - DIMM2 on chipset with no raid support - I could see both the M2 on the chipset slot under the cover and JUST ONE of the the M2s on the DIMM2. I have not delved deeper to see why the second one was not appearing though.

    You will love the Elite. It is a breeze to work with and it simply looks astonishing - specially after you finish your build. Even turned off, you can see the Rampage lighting effects through the tempered glass door - it is really nice. I will install a similar rad config, but with only one loop. You may want to have one radiator in the bottom (up to 480), one on the front (up to 360) and one on the top (420 or 480). You should be able to install the one in the front and the one in the bottom under a push/pull configuration for improved performance too. However if you go with two loops, you may be able to push/pull only the bottom one - so allowing you space for the 2 reservoirs in the front. If you go for a separate reservoir/pump configuration, you can also install the pumps on the back, close to the PS area, for further space in the front. This case really gives lots of options.
    I'm going to start with soft tubing but I will have a 420x140x45mm Rad up top and a 280x140x45 rad on the right side to cool the CPU. I have a 280x140x60 rad for the bottom loop for the GPU and I have the ability to add a 420x140x30 rad somewhere if I wanted/needed. I found a neat little device that allows you to install reservoirs to a radiator, so that means using the radiator bracket on the back wall, I could put one reservoir in the normal slot next to the radiator mounting area and another reservoir right next to it using that radiator mounting area. If not I can use the little reservoir area on the left side of the computer.

    The bottom rad is 60mm thick and in the Enthoo Primo I could do push/pull with room to spare. My biggest issue will be finding a way to install everything with soft tubing and make it look good. I have a feeling that it may be a jumbled mess until I can go hard tubing, but that is okay. I would have to learn all about bending, measuring, cutting, burring, ect. People say use PETG cause it is easier but many fluids don't like it so I may have to do acrylic which is probably better tho I may have to buy extra. Lucky for me I already have like 18 fittings for it. Ideally if I had the courage I'd go glass but that presents a whole slew of issues.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  5. #1485
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hi, good news here too, i live in germany and received my R6E yesterday. I have decided on the Thermaltake Chaser MK1 for this build, even though it's only specified as ATX it fits the board easily. Installed my 7900x paired with 64 GB of corsair RGB ram and a samsung 960 pro nvme with 1tb last night.

    Got two questions for you about that build:

    For now i`m using a noctua NH-D15 which is a really tight fit between the cooler and my gtx1080ti strix in the first slot. One of the mounting clips for the fans is touching the backplate of the gpu lightly. I would suppose this is not a problem as both, the cooler and the backplate are (hopefully) grounded to the case?

    My other question regards the airflow in the case. I got a front 200mm intake and a 140mm out at the back of the case. On the side panel another 200mm intake fan which is situated directly over my 1080ti sli cards providing cool air. On top of the case there are two 200mm fans currently facing outwards. The one top fan on the rear of the case can pull out the hot cpu air, but i´m not so sure about the one near the front. I think it could disturb the airflow of the noctua pulling air out of the top rather than into the cpu. What`s your advice on that, remove that fan? Would turning it around make sense to pull in more air directly for the cpu?
    Last edited by mib1982; 10-06-2017 at 06:52 AM.

  6. #1486
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    I received the board from Amazon UK last tuesday and I absolutely love it! The looks are awesome and so is the performance. The only thing I'm still not sure about is where to place the GPU. I have 1 GTX1070 and placed it in the third PCI-e slot. But now it's hiding a bit of the beautiful armor. In what slot do you guys have the GPU placed?

  7. #1487
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array meankeys PC Specs
    meankeys PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex / Maximus IX APEX / Rampage V EX V10
    Processor7920X / 5960X / 6950X / 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z - 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #3ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 OC
    Monitor3 X ASUS V248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCool Express SS
    Power SupplyThermaltake Tough Power Grand 1200W
    Keyboard Cyberus
    Headset Tittan
    OS Win 7 64bit
    Network RouterASUS
    meankeys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    1,553

    If your only using 1 GPU it should go in the 1st slot closest to the CPU - Got any pictures

  8. #1488
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    Quote Originally Posted by meankeys View Post
    If your only using 1 GPU it should go in the 1st slot closest to the CPU - Got any pictures
    I agree, the first slot hides the least amount of the armou.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  9. #1489
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Gonna try that tomorrow, thanks!

  10. #1490
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by MarkMeijer10 View Post
    Gonna try that tomorrow, thanks!
    I just wish i could find the damn board in the USA somewhere. Is there really only 2 places to buy it from? Newegg and B&H Photo?

Page 149 of 193 FirstFirst ... 49 99 139 147 148 149 150 151 159 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •