Page 142 of 193 FirstFirst ... 42 92 132 140 141 142 143 144 152 192 ... LastLast
Results 1,411 to 1,420 of 1921
  1. #1411
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Still haven't been able to get a r6e ordered. I'm somewhat thinking of jumping ship and doing a z370 8700k 6 core build instead. I primarily want to do synth music production with lots of simultaneous vst plugins running. It'd also be nice to dual boot a hackintosh on it as I own a lot of mac specific audio software. What do you guys think? I'm also a programmer though who works with large datasets. I'm currently on a early 2010 mac pro dual quad core xeons (2.8ghz) .*

  2. #1412
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    275

    Quote Originally Posted by apricity View Post
    For what it's worth this link showed me a rev 1 pdf also on my work computer under chrome windows 10:*
    https://www.ekwb.com/shop/EK-IM/EK-IM-3830046994486.pdf even on cache clears

    However, at home on my mac under safari that same link shows the rev 2 pdf.
    Yeah, that's weird. Like I asked tistou77 earlier today, do you know if your office where you work also uses some kind of proxy server that is caching Web content? Company networks have often used various proxy servers that sit between your computer and the Internet. Previously, this was done to reduce network traffic. But more often nowadays companies may use a proxy server to snoop and monitor the Internet activity and Web browsing of their employees. To make matters worse, the previous Rev.1 and the current Rev.2 versions of EK's R6E monoblock Installation Manual use the exact same "EK-IM-3830046994486.pdf" name and same URL address, and this may confuse browser caching or a company's proxy caching to think that it is the same file and serve you the older Rev.1 file if you previously accessed the Rev.1 Installation Manual on your work computer and your company's proxy server has cached the older PDF version that uses the same name.

    So I still think that what you and tistou77 are seeing is due to the Rev.1 file being cached on your side of the network. EK's website does not appear to have multiple front-end Web servers sitting behind a load balancer where one server still has the older file. Newegg has multiple Web servers sitting behind load balancers. And at midnight PST every night, if you repeatedly [F5] and refresh their home page or their "Shell Shocker" or "Daily Deals" listings, you may display either the previous day's home page design or the next day's home page design, depending upon which Web server Newegg's load balancer directs you to. But within 5 or 10 minutes after midnight, all the Web servers are then displaying the updated home page, Shell Shocker, and Daily Deals for the next day. But that is not what is going on with EK's site. So the problem lies on your end with some kind of caching going on.

  3. #1413
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    Quote Originally Posted by apricity View Post
    Still haven't been able to get a r6e ordered. I'm somewhat thinking of jumping ship and doing a z370 8700k 6 core build instead. I primarily want to do synth music production with lots of simultaneous vst plugins running. It'd also be nice to dual boot a hackintosh on it as I own a lot of mac specific audio software. What do you guys think? I'm also a programmer though who works with large datasets. I'm currently on a early 2010 mac pro dual quad core xeons (2.8ghz) .*
    Honestly it all depends on what your needs are. If you have no more need than six cores the z370 is a very viable option and may save you some money, but you have to wait.l This board, by all reviews I have seen, is equivalent to the Apex and in some cases better to overclock 8, 10, 12, 18 core processors. It is also incredibly beautiful with some nice features like the 10G chip, better sound, ect.

    By the time the z370 comes out, you should have already been able to order this motherboard, but then I go back to, what are your needs? If 6 cores will do just fine and you game a lot, the z370 is going to be the route you want to go. If you want the best of the best or need more than 6 cores, I'd wait.

    For me, I don't need more than 6 cores, tho I'm sure I'll find a use for 10. But I love the platform and I love this board so that is where I'm going for the next 3 + Years.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  4. #1414
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    275

    Quote Originally Posted by apricity View Post
    Still haven't been able to get a r6e ordered. I'm somewhat thinking of jumping ship and doing a z370 8700k 6 core build instead. I primarily want to do synth music production with lots of simultaneous vst plugins running. It'd also be nice to dual boot a hackintosh on it as I own a lot of mac specific audio software. What do you guys think? I'm also a programmer though who works with large datasets. I'm currently on a early 2010 mac pro dual quad core xeons (2.8ghz) .*
    If you like Macs, have a lot of Mac audio software, and work with large datasets, the 8700K with 6 cores would work. But some audio production software like Pro Tools can scale well out to 10 cores.

    I don't know what your budget is, but another option for having an absolute beast of a digital audio-processing workstation is to wait for Apple's next iMac Pro that is due out in December. It will be equipped with Intel's new 18-core Xeon W-2195 chip that is similar to the i9-7980XE, but has two AVX-512 FMA units instead of one on the 7980XE, along with a 5K display. For what you want to use the computer for, the Xeon W-2195 chip will be far better than an 8700K or HCC i9 chip because it has dual AVX-512 acceleration. I always prefer BYOPC, but if you like Macs, that 18-core iMac Pro arriving at the end of this year would make the perfect music production workstation.

  5. #1415
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Quote Originally Posted by apricity View Post
    Still haven't been able to get a r6e ordered. I'm somewhat thinking of jumping ship and doing a z370 8700k 6 core build instead. I primarily want to do synth music production with lots of simultaneous vst plugins running. It'd also be nice to dual boot a hackintosh on it as I own a lot of mac specific audio software. What do you guys think? I'm also a programmer though who works with large datasets. I'm currently on a early 2010 mac pro dual quad core xeons (2.8ghz) .*
    I feel your pain Bro. on the auto notify list but no one is notifying me. Seems the Egg had a short supply that went quick a few weeks ago. I'm going to wait it out though. Was tempted to go with the Apex but looking for other features, specifically the on board wireless AD. Using a card in my current build as my AC5300 router sits downstairs and its too much of a PITA to run an Ethernet cable to my home office. I understand the Apex is mostly for hardcore OCing but that single caveat is keeping me from it. There are a few other niceties that Im going to hold out for. Have everything else but the MOBO and CPU in hand or on the way. Dont want to order a CPU and sit on it waiting and run out a return window with never having installed it to test it out. I did see a few places listing ETA within a week or two. NextWarehouse says 45 on the way with an ETA of 10/3 which is updated from last weeks ETA of 10/15. Waited this long, a little longer wont kill me. I can test drive the 1080 ti strix OC cards that will be here soon on my M9F 7700K build while Im waiting. Going with a monster Obsidian 900D case to go with it. On the fence of the 7900 or 7920. Probably pay the premium to get one from silicon lottery delidded and ready to go. They have gotten some 7920s to 4.7GHz and 7900s to 4.8GHz. Seeing they have good supply of delidded 7920s at 4.4GHz and 7900s at 4.5 GHz tells me there are a fair amount of goose eggs. Dont think Im going to entertain anything else like the 7980xe. I do a fair bit of tasks that could use the extra cores but I dont want to lose single core performance and have to pay that much extra to do it.
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 09-29-2017 at 03:13 AM.

  6. #1416
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    eh.. the new mac pros are a bit out of my budget and I'd rather build my own. However, I hadn't really researched the Xeon W line. I guess I don't quite understand how it differs from skylake x other than ecc support and will have to do some reading. Do none of the skylake x chips have 2 avx-512 fma units? Also I see xeon W goes in a lga2066 socket, but could I put one in a r6e motherboard? (nevermind i see you need a*C422 motherboard.)
    Last edited by apricity; 09-29-2017 at 03:45 AM.

  7. #1417
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    275

    Quote Originally Posted by apricity View Post
    eh.. the new mac pros are a bit out of my budget and I'd rather build my own. However, I hadn't really researched the Xeon W line. I guess I don't quite understand how it differs from skylake x other than ecc support and will have to do some reading. Do none of the skylake x chips have 2 avx-512 fma units? Also I see xeon W goes in a lga2066 socket, but could I put one in a r6e motherboard? (nevermind i see you need a C422 motherboard.)
    If you don't care about aesthetics and pretty RGBs and want to build a digital audio workstation, the C422 chipset mobos will be out later this year, probably around December when the Xeon-W CPUs are also released. Gigabyte already published specs for their first C422 mobo. Asus and others will likely also release similar C422 workstation mobos:

    http://b2b.gigabyte.com/Server-Mothe...-HP0-rev-10#ov

    Basically, Intel has segmented the previous X99 LGA2011 market into two branches now: the X299 HEDT for enthusiast/hobbyist desktops and the C422 workstation mobos for more serious processing work. They both use LGA2066 sockets, but the CPUs are not interchangeable due to different chipsets. The main differences between X299 and C422 chipsets are 48 PCIe lanes instead of 44 on the X299, and ECC and 512-GB memory support on the C422. But the Xeon-W CPUs have two AVX-512 FMA units, whereas all the SKL-X i9 CPUs have one, and that is what will likely give you a far better performance boost on audio production software. So the Xeon-W CPUs have the same dual AVX-512 acceleration that is also on Intel's 28-core Xeon Platinum server CPUs.

    On a per-core basis, Xeon-W is more expensive than SKL-X i9 CPUs, but if you are going to get into some serious audio production work, it would be worth it. The 10-core Xeon W-2155 is about $1440, compared to $1000 for the 10C i9-7900X and $1400 for the 14C i9-7940X. And the 18-core Xeon W-2195 is $2553, compared to $2000 for the 18C i9-7980XE. For your audio work, I think the 10-core W-2155 would hit the best price-vs-performance sweet spot since some audio software like Pro Tools can make full use of 10 cores right now:

    https://ark.intel.com/compare/125042,126793

    I had seriously thought of making two or three W-2155/C422 video/photo-processing workstation builds myself instead of using the R6E, but I opted for the R6E mobo bling instead (as shallow as that may sound ;-) But mobo appearance may not matter as much to you.

    Since you are a programmer, I don't know how much vector computing you do and what kind of "large datasets" you work with (I previously wrote signal analysis code to process terabytes of seismic data), but I think all of the C++ compilers now already support 512-bit vector variables and vector operations, as well as scalar operations for most of the AVX-512 instructions (e.g. Microsoft, GCC, Intel's compiler, etc). And AVX-512 instructions will become more prevalent in software for 3D modeling, data compression algorithms, and audio/video/image processing as time goes on, so a 10-core Xeon-W may actually run faster than a 14-core SKL-X i9 under those workloads.

    Edited to add: Regardless of which chipset and mobo you go with, I would aim for 8 to 12 cores for a digital audio workstation build. 6 cores is on the small side. And you rapidly hit diminishing returns once you go past 12 or 14 cores for just about all audio software packages.
    Last edited by DragonPurr; 09-29-2017 at 06:12 AM.

  8. #1418
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE 2.6GHz
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL 3.2 GHz 16-16-18-36 2T
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG UD590D
    Storage #1INTEL600P 1TB
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 10 2021 Insider Preview 19592.1001
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    493

    The truth about AVX-512/FMA unit all SKL-X SKUs.

    Quote Originally Posted by DragonPurr View Post

    Basically, Intel has segmented the previous X99 LGA2011 market into two branches now: the X299 HEDT for enthusiast/hobbyist desktops and the C422 workstation mobos for more serious processing work. They both use LGA2066 sockets, but the CPUs are not interchangeable due to different chipsets. The main differences between X299 and C422 chipsets are 48 PCIe lanes instead of 44 on the X299, and ECC and 512-GB memory support on the C422. But the Xeon-W CPUs have two AVX-512 FMA units, whereas all the SKL-X i9 CPUs have one, and that is what will likely give you a far better performance boost on audio production software. So the Xeon-W CPUs have the same dual AVX-512 acceleration that is also on Intel's 28-core Xeon Platinum server CPUs.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IntelFMA2.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	103.4 KB 
ID:	67739

    Hope this information from Intel help all of you to discuss. All SKL-X SKUs have 2 FMA/ AVX-512 unit since 7800X->7980XE.

  9. #1419
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    Lookie what came!! Still no monoblock or the better thermal pads, but I'm hoping this weekend I can test bench it on an AIO.

    I was going through the board looking for scratches and such. I found some apparently in the armour but then I lifted the plastic over them and the scratches were in the plastic, not in the armour. No bent pins that I can see. There was some smudging under the asus eye on the black portion, but it easily wiped clean with a microfiber cloth. Definitely the board was handled by someone probably NOT wearing gloves when putting it into the box. I haven't taken it fully apart like Dragonpurr tho. I'll look at it more tomorrow.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	239.7 KB 
ID:	67772
    Last edited by Brighttail; 09-29-2017 at 02:48 PM.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  10. #1420
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Has anyone else been having problems with Windows 10 and their NICs?
    At first everything was fine and both would connect to the network, now the 10G NIC won't recognize the network (or will say it's unplugged) and the Intel NIC is either not recognising the network, or my download speeds are ~3mbps while upload is ~100mbps (meanwhile my laptop will get 100/100 from the same port).

Page 142 of 193 FirstFirst ... 42 92 132 140 141 142 143 144 152 192 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •