Page 185 of 193 FirstFirst ... 85 135 175 183 184 185 186 187 ... LastLast
Results 1,841 to 1,850 of 1925
  1. #1841
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    *bump*

  2. #1842
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,854

    Quote Originally Posted by F_H_S View Post
    *bump*
    Uhhh, Whats this?

  3. #1843
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Uhhh, Whats this?
    I was asking for instructions how to install Windows 10 on a single SSD (960 Pro) on the DIMM.2 riser card as I seem not to be the only one having this problem. The manual doesn't explain anything about how to do that. The only way I can run an NVMe SSD is on the M.2 slot under the heat sink, hooked up to the chipset. The SSD runs at half speed like this.

    I "bumped" the thread because i got no answers from my question (#1840) on the bottom of the previous page.

  4. #1844
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array smithkid PC Specs
    smithkid PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Surface Pro 3
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme
    Processor7900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX O8G
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX O8G
    Monitor7 various
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2WD 1TB Blue M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerAquacomputer NEXT cuplex kryos vision cu/cu
    CaseLianli PC-T70FX includes T70-1
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard FILCO Majestouch Convertible 2 BT/USB 104 Key - Cherry Brown
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset/Speakers Mackie
    OS W10
    Network RouterTP-Link ER-5120
    smithkid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by F_H_S View Post
    I was asking for instructions how to install Windows 10 on a single SSD (960 Pro) on the DIMM.2 riser card as I seem not to be the only one having this problem. The manual doesn't explain anything about how to do that. The only way I can run an NVMe SSD is on the M.2 slot under the heat sink, hooked up to the chipset. The SSD runs at half speed like this.

    I "bumped" the thread because i got no answers from my question (#1840) on the bottom of the previous page.
    I have installed windows 10 on 960 Pro in both DIMM.2 and M.2 slot. I found the DIMM.2 slot marginally faster as have others. As to how to install W10, I suggest you use default BIOS settings and have no other drives connected. Add other drives after install.

    EDIT: Just use MS drivers. Don't load any Samsung ones.
    Last edited by smithkid; 12-22-2017 at 10:25 PM.

  5. #1845
    ROG Enthusiast Array Aysberg PC Specs
    Aysberg PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)4 x F4-3200C14-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC Ultra Gaming (11G-P4-2382)
    Graphics Card #2EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC Gaming (11G-P4-2382)
    Monitor1x LG 34GK950G / 2 x HP DreamColor Z27x
    Storage #12 x Samsung NVMe 970 EVO 2TB / Samsung NVMe 3 x 960 EVO 1TB
    Storage #24 x SanDisk SDSSDHII960G
    CPU Coolercuplex kryos NEXT
    CaseLianLi PC-A75X
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Roccat LEADR
    Headset AKG K712 + ModMic 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1909
    Network RouterMikroTik CRS317-1G-16S+RM
    Accessory #1 Mellanox ConnectX-3
    Accessory #2 Asus Hyper M.2 X16 Card

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    70

    Quote Originally Posted by F_H_S View Post
    The only way I can run an NVMe SSD is on the M.2 slot under the heat sink, hooked up to the chipset. The SSD runs at half speed like this.
    The M.2 slot under the heatsink has no limitations. This is my Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB Windows 10 system drive. Those number are near the theoretical max with a system running from the drive. I cannot see something half speed here. Just use the Samsung NVMe 2.3 drivers and not the W10 default ones after you setup your Windows.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Evo_C.JPG 
Views:	57 
Size:	49.0 KB 
ID:	69807

    And I think the same was true for the riser card if run via CPU. Simply install W10. Didn't try the PCH mode.

    BTW These are the results of a Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB on the ASUS Hyper M.2 and in a Windows Software RAID0. (empty drives)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4570-bae6f7bd9a24b2636359cfb4ea80f1f9.png 
Views:	59 
Size:	36.9 KB 
ID:	69808
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4571-3e996366e74e919d2f238c6908522524.png 
Views:	58 
Size:	36.6 KB 
ID:	69809
    Last edited by Aysberg; 12-22-2017 at 10:34 PM.

  6. #1846
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,854

    Quote Originally Posted by F_H_S View Post
    I was asking for instructions how to install Windows 10 on a single SSD (960 Pro) on the DIMM.2 riser card as I seem not to be the only one having this problem. The manual doesn't explain anything about how to do that. The only way I can run an NVMe SSD is on the M.2 slot under the heat sink, hooked up to the chipset. The SSD runs at half speed like this.

    I "bumped" the thread because i got no answers from my question (#1840) on the bottom of the previous page.
    Should be no issues.
    Sfor single drive BIOS as follows
    Advanced tab>Advanced CPU storage, bottom to disabled

    Still under Advanced
    PCH storage configuration set to AHCI


    These are default values so there should not be an issue if you clear the CMOS, should pick right up on it. My initial install and set up was on DIMM.2_1 (closest to ram) with all default values in the BIOS. I updated to BIOS 0802 before I did anything then installed Win10 from USB with zero hoop jumping or road blocks.
    Have you updated the BIOS or is it still the factory original? You might want to give that a go first. Easy to do, download BIOS. Extract and rename to R6E.CAP and put it on a fat32 formatted USB stick by itself, nothing else on there. Put that stick in the USB slot labeled for BIOS then push and hold the MOBO connect button for about 3 seconds until its starts flashing. Then leave it be for a few minutes. You should see an amber led in the bottom right corner flashing too. When it stops flashing is finished. Takes about 2-3 minutes. If it starts to flash and stops in a fes seconds either the USB drive is corrupt, the file is not named correctly or you dont have it plugged into the right USB port.

    I didnt try the M2 under te armor. Figured out in the open on the DIMM.2 was a not brainer.....
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 12-23-2017 at 05:33 AM.

  7. #1847
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Well, I was hoping that it was a nobrainer when I bought the thing. But as said, so far I was only lucky to get the thing running with the SSD in the 3rd M.2 slot under the heatsink. Be it AHCI or IRST, I get the following speeds, having installed Samsungs lates NVMe driver (v 2.3):

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	88.6 KB 
ID:	69816

    Now, as things don't seem to work right away, there is little info in what is wrong. The SSD has full capacity, meaning it should also run on the advertised speeds.

    I first tried to install on the 802 BIOS. The SSD inserted in the DIMM.2 next to the RAM banks is not listed in the BIOS. If I undersood correctly, the only way to check wether the board "accepted" the SSD is if it shows up in the boot menu, where you can select the boot device/order. If it doesn't show up there, it is nonexistent also in all future venturing. I then found here Rajas link to newer BIOS versions and I downloaded v.1002 and installed that one. No improvement of the situation.

    Now, may I ask: on wich side of the DIMM.2 riser card did you install the SSD? Printed side (with the ROG logo)? Does that matter?

    If I understod correctly, selecting AHCI or IRST is irrelevant for any SSD hooked up on PCIe lanes from the CPU (DIMM.2, PCIex8 slot, U.2, etc) as it is solely a setting for the Chipset.


    My hope is now, swapping back is that an installed Windows should be readily booting on wichever port I hook it up to on the mainboard, as long as it is the first selected in booting and consequently labelled as C:\ drive.

    When you just use default settings in BIOS and put in the SSD in DIMM.2 riser card, do you see it listed in the boot order? Is there ANY other way to see if the system has seen the SSD and how it is hooked up?

    You say you just installed Windows then. However BIOS and every info at hand yells at me for having the NVMe driver ready to install Windows. I could not find this his diver anywhere, not even on the supplied memory key. Having the SSD on the DIMM.2 (having just that one installed), Windows even asked me for that driver, and not showing any drive to install Windows on. Only putting the SSD in the 3rd M.2 slot under the heatsink made it appear. I could install then, installed the NVMe driver from Samsung and I got the above. As I excluded the M.2 slot from the IRST, I should be able to move it to different slots. In theory at least.

    My issue is really about whether I have to RMA the mainboard or the SSD or both. As we all are aware what that would mean, hardware and software whise, especially over Xmas, I should really be knowing what I'm doing and so far I have no clue.


    So, my needs are really basic:

    - I tuck in the SSD in a M.2 slot. How do I see if the system "sees" it? Is there a way other than the boot menu?
    - How do I make sure it is hooked up with 4 lanes? How do I configure it?
    - Why does everything and everyone tell me that I need an NVMe driver to install Windows, when you can do it without?
    - Is this a reason why I cannot find such a driver, because it is not needed even though Windows and BIOS tell me so?
    - is there a good way in my situation to test (in this system) if the SSD is broken and I have to RMA that one?
    - is there a good way in my situation to test (in this system) if the mainboard is broken and I have to RMA that one?

    What would you do in my situation?


    I've built a good number of rigs so far, but the most expensive mainbuiard proved to be the toughest nut to crack so far.

  8. #1848
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Ok, I again flashed with 1002, set all to default, put the SSD in the DIMM.2 riser card (upper, print side), AND THERE IT WAS! In the boot menu. Halleluja.

    What I get now in terms of SSD speed is this:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	87.2 KB 
ID:	69864

    Much faster than before. Not sure it it is max, but at least fast enough to know that it is hooked up by NVMe protocol.

    I will see if I can get more out of it, but so far, that really helped.

    And really thank you for your repiles. In such a situation it mens a lot, even if you cannot directly provide a silver bullet to get rid of the issue.

    So, thanx again and merry Xmas!!

  9. #1849
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    306

    Samsung Magician will show you how many lanes you are using.

    Use CrystalDiskMark like everyone else to compare Drive results.

  10. #1850
    ROG Enthusiast Array Aysberg PC Specs
    Aysberg PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)4 x F4-3200C14-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC Ultra Gaming (11G-P4-2382)
    Graphics Card #2EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC Gaming (11G-P4-2382)
    Monitor1x LG 34GK950G / 2 x HP DreamColor Z27x
    Storage #12 x Samsung NVMe 970 EVO 2TB / Samsung NVMe 3 x 960 EVO 1TB
    Storage #24 x SanDisk SDSSDHII960G
    CPU Coolercuplex kryos NEXT
    CaseLianLi PC-A75X
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Roccat LEADR
    Headset AKG K712 + ModMic 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1909
    Network RouterMikroTik CRS317-1G-16S+RM
    Accessory #1 Mellanox ConnectX-3
    Accessory #2 Asus Hyper M.2 X16 Card

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    70

    Quote Originally Posted by F_H_S View Post
    Ok, I again flashed with 1002, set all to default, put the SSD in the DIMM.2 riser card (upper, print side), AND THERE IT WAS! In the boot menu. Halleluja.
    Glad you see some improvements, those numbers look much better than the ones you first posted. All the M.2 slots should use CPU lanes except you switch to PCH in bios. According to the manual they riser card shares lanes with the U.2 slot or the PCIEx8_4 slot. See manual page IX.

Page 185 of 193 FirstFirst ... 85 135 175 183 184 185 186 187 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •