Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Lightbulb [SOLVED] Problem with GTX 1080 Ti

    Hi all,
    Recently i bought a new graphic card Aorus GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme from Gigabyte. After seating GPU in PCIEX16 slot it turns out that my monitor shows black screen. So i tried to reseat then change to other 3 PCIEX and nothing comes up. I checked using HDMI and DP cables. Then I`ve checked by multimeter my PSU. 12V, 5V, 3,3V ware ok. Next I`ve pluged HDMI into iGPU and tryed to find solution in UEFI BIOS. In UEFI bios I checked if it see my GTX and it doesnt (No VGA Card on PCIEX16 slot). Previously I was using AMD R9 390 Nitro on this MB and everything worked just fine. After turning CSM off maximus post gpu error by beeping. I decided to build a test rig using MSI X58A, I7 990X, Corsair Vengance LP 4GB, Be Quiet Power Zone 1000W. After pluging my GTX into it everything started to work. Windows, drivers, Cinebench and Valley benchmarks passed without any problems. On my main machine I`ve tested AMD R9 390 Nitro, AMD R9 280X, GF 8600 witch success and GTX 295, GTX 1080 Ti unsuccess. Last thing I`ve done was clearing CMOS and flashing BIOS with 3 versions 3007, 3201 and 3401. No effect. I dont have more ideas.

    My rig:
    MB: Asus Maximus VIII Extreme
    CPU: Intel I7 7700K
    RAM: Crucial Ballistix 16 GB
    PSU: Be Quiet Power Zone 1000W
    Cooler: NZXT Kraken X61
    SSD: Samsung 960 Evo

    I will appreciate Your help in my case.

    PS. Sorry for my bad english, I wasn`t practicing for many yers.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by ctr16 View Post
    Hi all,
    Recently i bought a new graphic card Aorus GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme from Gigabyte. After seating GPU in PCIEX16 slot it turns out that my monitor shows black screen. So i tried to reseat then change to other 3 PCIEX and nothing comes up. I checked using HDMI and DP cables. Then I`ve checked by multimeter my PSU. 12V, 5V, 3,3V ware ok. Next I`ve pluged HDMI into iGPU and tryed to find solution in UEFI BIOS. In UEFI bios I checked if it see my GTX and it doesnt (No VGA Card on PCIEX16 slot). Previously I was using AMD R9 390 Nitro on this MB and everything worked just fine. After turning CSM off maximus post gpu error by beeping. I decided to build a test rig using MSI X58A, I7 990X, Corsair Vengance LP 4GB, Be Quiet Power Zone 1000W. After pluging my GTX into it everything started to work. Windows, drivers, Cinebench and Valley benchmarks passed without any problems. On my main machine I`ve tested AMD R9 390 Nitro, AMD R9 280X, GF 8600 witch success and GTX 295, GTX 1080 Ti unsuccess. Last thing I`ve done was clearing CMOS and flashing BIOS with 3 versions 3007, 3201 and 3401. No effect. I dont have more ideas.

    My rig:
    MB: Asus Maximus VIII Extreme
    CPU: Intel I7 7700K
    RAM: Crucial Ballistix 16 GB
    PSU: Be Quiet Power Zone 1000W
    Cooler: NZXT Kraken X61
    SSD: Samsung 960 Evo

    I will appreciate Your help in my case.

    PS. Sorry for my bad english, I wasn`t practicing for many yers.
    I'm thinking driver issue, try DDU to completely clean all GPU drivers.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array aceisme PC Specs
    aceisme PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB 16GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980TI Classified
    Sound CardOn board sound
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro Series 512GB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Intel SSD 540s - 240GB - SSDSC2CW240A3
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsedian 450D
    Power SupplyCorsair H850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS WIN10 Enteprise

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    75

    Try and disable the iGPU in the BIOS and see if it makes any difference. Note that if it doesn't work, you will need to clear CMOS to get the iGPU enabled again.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    I would guess it is a problem with the card seating fully into the pcie slot, I have had to very slightly bend the pcie plate on graphics cards slightly to get them to fully seat before because of poor case manufacturing or warping due to moving the case around or uneven surface of desk, you could try with the motherboard out of the case to verify

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Buellersdayoff PC Specs
    Buellersdayoff PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus viii Hero
    ProcessorI7 7700k delidded 4.9ghz @ 1.4v
    Memory (part number)Corsair led 4x8gb 3200
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti MSI Gaming X
    Sound CardOnboard + Hyperx usb
    MonitorAcer X34 Predator
    Storage #1Samsung 950pro nvme
    Storage #2Samsung 840 ssd + 2tb hdd
    CPU CoolerCryorig R1 Universal
    CaseThermaltake View 31 TG mesh front panel mod
    Power SupplyCorsair rm850x
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse G502
    Headset Hyper x cloud II
    Mouse Pad H440
    Headset/Speakers Edifier R1280t
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear x8 R8500

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    117

    Try to disable fast boot in bios, caused similar issues for me.
    The gigabyte cards sag quite a bit so try prop it up with something, poor contact with connector as menthol mentioned
    Last edited by Buellersdayoff; 06-11-2017 at 07:18 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Trigger5521 View Post
    I'm thinking driver issue, try DDU to completely clean all GPU drivers.
    This was my first step when I started to "play" with changing GPUs.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by aceisme View Post
    Try and disable the iGPU in the BIOS and see if it makes any difference. Note that if it doesn't work, you will need to clear CMOS to get the iGPU enabled again.
    I cleared CMOS several times, no effect. By default in BIOS is auto setting. When I change this to PEG, save settings and restart it come back to auto.

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    I would guess it is a problem with the card seating fully into the pcie slot, I have had to very slightly bend the pcie plate on graphics cards slightly to get them to fully seat before because of poor case manufacturing or warping due to moving the case around or uneven surface of desk, you could try with the motherboard out of the case to verify
    I`m using Cooler Master Cosmos II, its hi end case. But I thought about it and pull MB out of case and tryed outside. No luck. I even unscrewed,a plastick piece witch covers buildin sound card electronics. GTX wont came up.

    Quote Originally Posted by Buellersdayoff View Post
    Try to disable fast boot in bios, caused similar issues for me.
    The gigabyte cards sag quite a bit so try prop it up with something, poor contact with connector as menthol mentioned
    I`ve also disabled Fast Boot but my monitor was still black.
    Last edited by ctr16; 06-11-2017 at 08:00 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array DarkStone PC Specs
    DarkStone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Gene
    Processori7 6700K @ 4.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)16GB Gskill TridentZ @ 3333 (16-18-38-1T)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 STRIX @ 2000Mhz
    Sound CardSoundBlaster ZXR
    MonitorASUS PB328Q
    Storage #1512GB Samsung 950 Pro
    Storage #21TB Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerProlimatech Megahalems Black w/ Noiseblocker M12-PS
    CaseSilverstone Kublai KL06B-W w/ Noiseblocker M12-3
    Power SupplySeaSonic SS-660XP2
    Keyboard Logitech Illuminated K800
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Heavily moddified Aurvana Live!
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 10 x64 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC87U
    Accessory #1 Western Digital EX2100 NAS 4TB

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Hmmm, it really sounds like PSU. I have seen PSU's pass multimeter and still end up being bad. Have you tried another PSU? Since you are not getting a POST rules out anything OS related.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkStone View Post
    Hmmm, it really sounds like PSU. I have seen PSU's pass multimeter and still end up being bad. Have you tried another PSU? Since you are not getting a POST rules out anything OS related.
    i dont have another PSU but the same PSU powers up this card on other motherboard.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Today I borrowed GTX 780 for test. In Maximus it works like a charm.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •