Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    crosshair V formula ssd compatibility

    Just bought a patriot blast 240gb ssd. And for some reason I cannot create a system partition and instal win 7 on it. I get a warning when I try to create the partition from the windows setup saying this hardware may not support booting or whatever. Of course all bios are ahci for sata ports and I have the latest bios. I checked my mainboard's support page and noticed there's an ssd compatibility pdf; wtf?! are those models the only ones that are supported by my mainboard?! Is this why I was having problems with my ssd?!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array hax0rmort PC Specs
    hax0rmort PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula-Z
    ProcessorAMD FX-9370
    Memory (part number)AMD Radeon R9 Gamer Series 2400MHz (2x8GB) R9316G2401U2K
    Graphics Card #1Asus AMD R9-290X-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2Asus AMD R9-290X-4GD5
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Z
    Monitor3x Asus 24" 1080p
    Storage #1Samsung 840 EVO 250GB - OS
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 250GB - Game
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseNZXT H440 Red/Black
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB MX-Red
    Mouse SteelSeries Sensei
    Headset Logitech G430
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC87U
    hax0rmort's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    34
    Posts
    253

    there is absolutely no compatibility issue between your Patriot SSD and your CVF. You must be having some kind of existing partition error or something else going on with your drive.

    To help, try the following, remove all other drives from the system and simply try to install the OS (which is what version?) on the Patriot SSD. You said you ensured all SATA ports were AHCI correct? (for best performance)

    Again, there is nothing wrong with the hardware you have unless it in itself is somehow flawed.

    Try this also, Do not "create" the partition at all. Simply delete all existing partitions off of the device and hit next. As long as you booted into setup via UEFI, you do not have anything else to worry about. It will take care of everything itself (create and format the partition).

    Good luck
    -hax0rmort


    MOBO - ASUS ROG Crosshair V Formula-Z
    CPU - AMD FX-9370
    RAM - AMD Radeon R9 Gamer Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 2400 MHz
    SSD1 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB // Boot
    SSD2 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB // Game
    GPU1 - ASUS Radeon R9 290X
    GPU2 - ASUS Radeon R9 290X
    COOLER - Corsair H100i AIO Liquid Cooler
    PSU - Corsair RM Series 1000W Gold PSU
    AUDIO - Creative Sound Blaster Z
    CASE - NZXT H440 Red/Black
    KEYBOARD - Corsair K95 RGB
    MOUSE - SteelSeries Sensei
    HEADSET - Logitech G430

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by hax0rmort View Post
    there is absolutely no compatibility issue between your Patriot SSD and your CVF. You must be having some kind of existing partition error or something else going on with your drive.

    To help, try the following, remove all other drives from the system and simply try to install the OS (which is what version?) on the Patriot SSD. You said you ensured all SATA ports were AHCI correct? (for best performance)

    Again, there is nothing wrong with the hardware you have unless it in itself is somehow flawed.

    Try this also, Do not "create" the partition at all. Simply delete all existing partitions off of the device and hit next. As long as you booted into setup via UEFI, you do not have anything else to worry about. It will take care of everything itself (create and format the partition).

    Good luck
    already tried with just the patriot blast into the system. BIOS is set to AHCI by default btw; in the windows 7 setup i couldn't select the ssd as a designated partition to instal because it had an error (windows cannot be instaled on this hardware or something like that) and i couldn't change the unnallocated space into a partition (it would post an error message when i tried); i ended up reinstaling windows on the old WD hdd with no problems and returning the ssd. i am about to buy a kingston ssd and see how that one goes

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo Thinkpad T410
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair V Formula - Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 9590
    Memory (part number)BLE2KIT8G3D1869DE1TX0 (8-8-8-24, 1866 MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS R9 390 STRIX (OC, GAMING)
    Storage #1SG Constellation 6 TB (6x1 TB) RAID 0
    Storage #2SG Constellation 2 TB (2x2 TB) RAID 1
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCaseLabs STH-10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X5
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Perixx 900x440x3 mm + Steelseries 320x270x3 mm + ALLSOP hard pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G930/Altec Lansing 5.1
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
    Dr. Zchivago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    609

    I had a similar problem at one time (until I installed Win8), and it had something to do with the installer booting from the installation medium using legacy drivers instead of UEFI.

    When booting, I pressed F8 (I think) to open the boot menu, and then I manually selected UEFI: USB Windows install etc... (the menu showed two entries for the installer - they were identical except for the "UEFI: " prefix)

    Z

    EDIT: Also, make sure the SSD is shown as "Disk 0" and not "Disk 1" or something. I think there was something about that too.
    Resistance is futile (at <1 Ohm).

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array OsakanHime PC Specs
    OsakanHime PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX8370 Kuro Edition @ 5.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)AMD R9 2400MHz 16GB OC's to 2502MHz
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 390 to 2.5GHz/6.8GHz Memory
    Graphics Card #2XFX R7 260X
    Monitor30" 1080P
    Storage #1Seagate 2TB SSHD
    Storage #2Western Digital Blue 500GB
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB
    CaseCM Storm White
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 850w P2
    Keyboard Cherry MX Black RGB LED
    Mouse Rosewill 2.4G
    Headset
    Mouse Pad ぼくわ 友達が すきない&#12
    Headset/Speakers みつびし
    OS Win10 Pro 64
    Network RouterTenda F1203 Gigabit Router, 802.11 AC, 5G 1200mb/s
    Accessory #1 Audio Technica MB3K Microphone
    Accessory #2 Behringer Eurorack UB 1002
    Accessory #3 BBE Sonic Maximizer 422A
    OsakanHime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Smile

    For what it is worth, The Crosshair V Formula Z runs perfectly with SeaGate Hybrid SSHD drives. I am getting near SSD speeds on my most used programs with the storage capacity of a 2TB 7200RPM HDD. Maybe others will consider this type of drive more often than using a SSD only or a HDD only storage system.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Hi guys!

    Please, I need your help about which SSD I can use on my mainboard Crosshair V Formula, as C:\.
    I like Samsung EVO 1TB SATA III internal SSD.
    Can I put or use in my MB an external SSD, if i decide to buy it?
    And as a D:\ hard drive, I have the doubt to choose between an Hybrid Unit or a Western Digital NAS Hard Drive.

    Thank you so much for helping me in this :-)

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    You can use the Samsung anyplace you like with that board.

    I have also used the Samsung as an external drive in a cheap caddy.

    Not sure I fully understood the last part of your question.

    Bulk Data drives can again be any drive you like. I have a couple of 6TB drives I use. Think they are WD or might be Seagate I can't recall
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Hi guys!

    Please, I need your help about which SSD I can use on my mainboard Crosshair V Formula, as C:\.
    I like Samsung EVO 1TB SATA III internal SSD.
    Can I put or use in my MB an external SSD, if i decide to buy it?
    And as a D:\ hard drive, I have the doubt to choose between an Hybrid Unit or a Western Digital NAS Hard Drive.

    Thank you so much for helping me in this :-)

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    You can use the Samsung anyplace you like with that board.

    I have also used the Samsung as an external drive in a cheap caddy.

    Not sure I fully understood the last part of your question.

    Bulk Data drives can again be any drive you like. I have a couple of 6TB drives I use. Think they are WD or might be Seagate I can't recall


    Thank you for your help!

    So, now I know that I can buy a Samsung external or internal unit as my new drive C:\
    Thanks for calm my doubts about it.

    Now, please excuse me if i wasn't clear in the last part of my question. English is not my 1st language, Spanish it is. But I'll do my best to be clearer

    I'm searching for something better to use as a 2nd drive, or D:\ Hard Drive.

    The previous D:\ unit i had, get damaged by "the courtesy" of a virus. I suspect that, 'cause any antivirus or anti malware could not found nothing at all. Just an additional information, this "disaster" came or was caused by an actualization of the software that the government provides to the taxpayers (sorry if this is not the right term), in my country. Something very similar happened to my sister, who lives in other city. This was in June of this year. In the last week, talking to other people, they lived the same as my sister and I.
    I lost everything I had inside my beloved D:\ . My backup get damaged for being old, and when I was to update it, CRASH! BOOM! BANG! R.I.P. my deary D:\
    Believe me, I don't understand HOW do i still have my drive C:\. That's why i can continue; in a half way, but something is something.

    Anyway, now I'm searching for something better as my new C:\ and D:\ units.
    Now I'm sure, thanks to your advice, that I can buy a Samsung EVO 860, 1TB as my new C:\.
    The doubt is about, which kind of HDD to choose as my new D:\:

    - An Hybrid unit?
    (Seagate IronWolf 3TB / NAS SATA 6Gb/s / 64 MB cache / 3.5" / Internal Hard Drive / (ST3000VN007)?

    (Western Digital Blue 3TB / SATA 6Gb/s / 64MB cache / 3.5" / Internal Hard Drive / (WD30EZRZ)?

    OR

    - A HDD type Surveillance (24/7) because (as i read) this units endure hard work?
    (Western Digital Purple 3TB / Surveillance Hard Drive / 5400 RPM Class / Sata 6Gb/s / 64 MB cache / 3.5" / (WD30PURZ)?

    Now, something very important: Information about my PC. Is That:

    MAINBOARD: Asus Crosshair V Formula
    PROCESSOR: AMD FX-8150 8 Core Black Edition / 3,6 GHz (Bulldozer) / Socket AM3+, Unlocked / 8MB L2 cache +8MB L3 cache
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance Dual Channel / 16GB (2x8Gb) / DDR3 / 240 pins/ 1600 MHz / (PC3 12800) / 1,5V / CMZ16GX3M2A1600C10
    GRAPHIC CARD: EVGA GeForce GTX 660Ti
    BLU-RAY DRIVE: Asus Black 12x BD-ROM 16X / DVD-ROM 48X / CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-Ray Drive (BC-12B1ST)
    POWER SUPPLY: XFX PRO850W Core Edition
    DRIVE C:\ UNIT: Seagate Barracuda / 7200RPM / 1TB / SATA 6Gb/s NCQ / 64MB Cache / 3.5" internal bare drive (ST1000DM003)
    DRIVE D:\ UNIT: ("Deceased") Seagate Barracuda / 7200RPM / 3TB / SATA 6Gb/s NCQ / 64MB Cache / 3.5" internal bare drive (ST3000DM001)
    OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bits for processor x64

    I'm thankful to you for your time to helping me in resolve this doubts i have.

    Have a cool days

    Sincerely,

    Pamela
    Last edited by Pam Wolf; 11-17-2018 at 07:43 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •