Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array DanniV8 PC Specs
    DanniV8 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG Strix 15.6" GL553V
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1700
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3216
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX1080
    Sound CardBuilt in
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster P2450
    Storage #1250GB Samsung 960 EVO NVMe M.2 ssd
    Storage #2500gb Samsung 840 SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H75
    CaseThermaltake Chaser A31
    Power SupplyCorsair AX750
    Keyboard Logitech G15 Gen. 2
    Mouse Logitech G402
    Headset Sennheiser G4ME ONE
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    CPU temp at -79°C ??

    So this has happened twice tonight.

    I'm messing around in Fan Xpert4 and AIDA64. Doing stress tests and adjusting my fan profiles, when all of a sudden the CPU temp and Motherboard temp plummet to -79°C (CPU) and -70°C (Motherboard) and stay there until I've restarted the system.

    PCH, GPU, CPU Diode and VRM temps all stay operating normally.

    I have no idea what could cause this, but this messes with my fan profiles. I want to be able to trust that the fans will kick in if they will be needed to, but with the temp readings the profiles rely on are over 100°C off, they'll never start running.

    Time from last reboot was less than 30 minutes when this happened this time.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array sphinx64 PC Specs
    sphinx64 PC Specs
    MotherboardC6H
    ProcessorRyzen 1800x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LED CMU16GX4M2C3200C16 8 GB DDR4 SDRAM X4
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX Radeon RX 480 Graphics (8 GB)
    MonitorAcer S271HL [27" LCD] (LUW0D0058530)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 512GB M.2
    Storage #2INTEL SSDSC2CW240A (240 GB)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80
    CaseCooler Master Storm Sniper
    Power SupplyCorsair CMPSU-850HX
    Keyboard Logitech K360
    Mouse Logitech M500
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    sphinx64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    The symptoms you describe happens to me all the time. It is a bios bug I think.
    But when the CPU temp goes down to -79ish on my system, I immediately OC to 5GHz as this cooling is way better than LN cooling and I am very happy indeed!

    Just kidding

    Try to be patient (as we are) to see if a new bios on Agesa 1.0.0.6 comes out (if comes out) to solve the problem (if solves).

    Regards.

    P.S And yes, whenever temp values hit (-), then my CPU fan drops to 300 (which you can adjust in bios by the way) and so I have to reboot every time this happens on a top notch mainboard.
    Last edited by sphinx64; 06-12-2017 at 11:27 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array DanniV8 PC Specs
    DanniV8 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG Strix 15.6" GL553V
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1700
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3216
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX1080
    Sound CardBuilt in
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster P2450
    Storage #1250GB Samsung 960 EVO NVMe M.2 ssd
    Storage #2500gb Samsung 840 SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H75
    CaseThermaltake Chaser A31
    Power SupplyCorsair AX750
    Keyboard Logitech G15 Gen. 2
    Mouse Logitech G402
    Headset Sennheiser G4ME ONE
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by sphinx64 View Post
    The symptoms you describe happens to me all the time. It is a bios bug I think.
    But when the CPU temp goes down to -79ish on my system, I immediately OC to 5GHz as this cooling is way better than LN cooling and I am very happy indeed!

    Just kidding

    Try to be patient (as we are) to see if a new bios on Agesa 1.0.0.6 comes out (if comes out) to solve the problem (if solves).

    Regards.

    P.S And yes, whenever temp values hit (-), then my CPU fan drops to 300 (which you can adjust in bios by the way) and so I have to reboot every time this happens on a top notch mainboard.
    At least I'm not the only one! This has not happened again since. It looks to me like it happens when I've had the fans manually at full speed for a while when the computer is at idle. This has never happened with the fans at low speed.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    142

    the settings are becoming temporarily corrupted as both utilities are taking readings using the smbus. there seems to be a problem with it atm. imo
    AsusCrosshairVIHero - 2700x@4.30Ghz~1.373v
    32Gb G.Skill RGB Trident 16gb3466Mhz + 16gb4266Mhz DDR4@3466mhz
    Titan Xp
    1TbSamsung960EVO M.2 1TbSamsung850EVO SSD Seagate2TB/3Tb CorsairForceGt 64gb
    TTtoughpower1200w80
    Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered glass side panal

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array PcZoneExtra PC Specs
    PcZoneExtra PC Specs
    MotherboardCorsair hero 6
    ProcessorRyzen 1600x
    Graphics Card #1Gtx 970
    Sound CardSoundblaster z
    MonitorHp 27xi
    Storage #1Hyperx fury 240gb
    Storage #2Toshiba hp 3TB
    CPU CoolerThermaltake silent pro 12
    CaseKolink punisher
    Power SupplyLc power 650w
    Keyboard Logitech g910
    Mouse Zl50 sniper
    Headset Steelseries sibwria elite prism
    Mouse Pad Razer fireflay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z5500
    OS Win 10 x64 pro
    Network RouterHuawei b315s

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Thumbs up Lol

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	temperat.jpg 
Views:	73 
Size:	117.0 KB 
ID:	65379

    Just booted and motherboard temps are under liquid nitrogen. Things getting better and better with this board

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array DanniV8 PC Specs
    DanniV8 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG Strix 15.6" GL553V
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1700
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3216
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX1080
    Sound CardBuilt in
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster P2450
    Storage #1250GB Samsung 960 EVO NVMe M.2 ssd
    Storage #2500gb Samsung 840 SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H75
    CaseThermaltake Chaser A31
    Power SupplyCorsair AX750
    Keyboard Logitech G15 Gen. 2
    Mouse Logitech G402
    Headset Sennheiser G4ME ONE
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Is there any fix for this? Not using AIDA64 for temp monitoring is not a fix IMO.

    This is happening more frequently now and not always locking in at the same number. Last time for example it was -39°C.

    It completely shuts down the Corsair water cooler, even the pump, when this happens. Running BIOS 1403.

    This has gotten to a stage where I can't even trust my computer to stay on while I am away from it.

    I'm seriously thinking about returning this motherboard and going back to Intel... this is becoming too much of a hazzle for me.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    79

    Quote Originally Posted by DanniV8 View Post
    It completely shuts down the Corsair water cooler, even the pump, when this happens. Running BIOS 1403.
    Are you running Corsair link software? What other system/GPU monitoring software are you using? Have you thought about using HWINFO instead?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,126

    Perhaps a RELATED ISSUE ? This user had to reinstall the Asus software.
    Davemon50

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    113

    Debugging this at the moment. It's a third party software causing corruption due to simultaneous access. They're not liable for the resulting issue, but we are. Quite a bad situation for us. Can you try with HWInfo instead?
    Last edited by elmor; 07-22-2017 at 08:25 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array supertrekie PC Specs
    supertrekie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS CROSSHAIR HERO VI
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN R7 1800X @ 4GHZ
    Memory (part number)GSKILL FLARE-X 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX 980ti HYBRID
    Sound CardCREATIVE 1212M
    MonitorASUS PB278Q
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2x4 4TB Seagate ST4000DM000
    CPU CoolerCM NEPTON 280L
    CaseFRACTAL - DEFINE XL R2
    Power SupplyANTEC 750W
    Mouse LOGITECH G600
    Headset/Speakers ULTRASONE PRO 750 + LITTLE DOTI+ AMP
    OS WINDOWS 10
    Network RouterPFSENSE

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by elmor View Post
    Debugging this at the moment. It's a third party software causing corruption due to simultaneous access. They're not reliable for the resulting issue, but we are. Quite a bad situation for us. Can you try with HWInfo instead?
    I have this problem in conjunction with random fans and the AIO headers failing, reporting 0 rpm, or going full blast at random times. I use AIDA64 ... if I stop using it completely does this issue disappear?

    I worry about disabling AIDA64 because I wont get a warning my system lost fans or the pump and it will reach the temp threshold.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •