Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    ASUS 1080Ti STRIX Help!

    Hi
    I'm a first time builder and I just received my GPU [1080Ti Strix] today. I've been building my computer with a friend but he's away for a week and I don't want to wait that long.

    I know that first I should snap the GPU into place on the mobo, but after that I'm slightly confused.

    There are 2 8-Pin slots on the GPU, but my power supply [EVGA 750W Gold] VGA cable only has one 8Pin and the cable that came with the GPU is 2 6-Pins and a 8-Pin...

    Do I need to connect two VGA cables to the GPU? What's the use of the cable that came with the GPU?
    Is there anything else I should know when installing?

    Keep in mind I've never installed a GPU,
    Thanks!!!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Marcello.S PC Specs
    Marcello.S PC Specs
    MotherboardGigabyte Aorus Master Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX Savage 3000 CL15 2x8 GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA nVidia GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 Gaming
    MonitorASUS VG248QE w/ nVidia 3D Vision 2
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SSD 840 PRO 256 GB + 512 GB
    Storage #2Samsung nvme 970 Pro 512 GB
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR H115i PRO
    CaseCooler Master MasterCase MC500M
    Power SupplyCORSAIR RM-750x w/ Premium PSU Cable Kit
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Corsair HS70
    Mouse Pad ThunderX3 TMP30
    Headset/Speakers Bose Sound Link Mini
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Accessory #1 APC Back-UPS 900
    Marcello.S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    119

    Hi DOOGLAK, first of all could you please specify the exact model of your PSU? I'm asking you this so that we can help you out more in detail.

    The cable that came with the GPU (2 x 6 pin - 8pin) should be left in box as they're generally power adapter for PSU which have molex to pin connector.
    To plug the GPU to your PSU you should just use only the cables that came with the PSU.
    Some PSU manufactures have a 8 pin to 2 x 6+2 pin connector which is the one you need to plug your GPU to your PSU.

  3. #3
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,805

    If the PSU is the 80+ Gold 750W, it should have come with at least two modular 8pin PCIE connectors. As mentioned above, wouldn't recommend using the splicer that comes with the GPU when it's not needed.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Power supply problem

    Hi, is it possible that my GTX 1080 TI works only in BIOS due to weak power supply? I do have an older Corsair 750 W PSU that only has 6+2 plugs (no 8 pins). But if I plug two 6+2 plugs into the GPU , I can only boot into BIOS, after the POST messages, the PC stops to continue and the monitor switches off due to no signal...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Marcello.S PC Specs
    Marcello.S PC Specs
    MotherboardGigabyte Aorus Master Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX Savage 3000 CL15 2x8 GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA nVidia GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 Gaming
    MonitorASUS VG248QE w/ nVidia 3D Vision 2
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SSD 840 PRO 256 GB + 512 GB
    Storage #2Samsung nvme 970 Pro 512 GB
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR H115i PRO
    CaseCooler Master MasterCase MC500M
    Power SupplyCORSAIR RM-750x w/ Premium PSU Cable Kit
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Corsair HS70
    Mouse Pad ThunderX3 TMP30
    Headset/Speakers Bose Sound Link Mini
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Accessory #1 APC Back-UPS 900
    Marcello.S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    119

    Quote Originally Posted by JCGJCGJCG View Post
    Hi, is it possible that my GTX 1080 TI works only in BIOS due to weak power supply? I do have an older Corsair 750 W PSU that only has 6+2 plugs (no 8 pins). But if I plug two 6+2 plugs into the GPU , I can only boot into BIOS, after the POST messages, the PC stops to continue and the monitor switches off due to no signal...
    Hi there, could you please specify the model of your Corsair PSU? All modern PSUs have a slot with 8 pins -> 6+2 pins as terminal cables so you shouldn't worry about that. High efficiency PSUs have also a 8 pins -> 2*(6+2) pins ( and the 6+2 pins terminal merged with the main 6+2 pins terminal is called bridge connector).

    Here's an example of 8 pins -> 6+2 pins:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Corsair-SF600-PCIe-cables-810x405.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	23.8 KB 
ID:	70430

    That configuration of the pins is a must to ensure complete compatibility within all graphic cards around.

    To help you troubleshooting your problem, could you please list all the components of your computer? All I can tell you in advance is try to unplug completely your GPU (from PSU and from motherboard slot) and try to boot the system without it, and see what happens.
    By the way next time I suggest you to open a new thread.

    Best Regards
    Last edited by Marcello.S; 01-11-2018 at 12:31 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •