Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Turn on after AC Power Loss - Not working

    I have enabled the option in the BIOS for the PC to wake up automatically after power loss. After the outage, the PC does not turn back on when the power is back. I can see the RGB LEDs glowing, however its just not booting up.

    I have to use the off switch on the power supply (Corsair HX750), wait for RGB LEDs to go out, then turn it back on in 10 seconds. Then it restarts automatically. What could be the cause for this? Is there any other option in the BIOS that i need to use? Please help

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    1,002

    Question: is your system on a UPS with a managed shutdown during the power outage, or is your system just plugged directly into the wall? Also, when you had the power outage, how long was it? Or was it just a blip?
    Davemon50

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    Question: is your system on a UPS with a managed shutdown during the power outage, or is your system just plugged directly into the wall? Also, when you had the power outage, how long was it? Or was it just a blip?
    Hi. System is plugged directly into the wall. Power outage is a blip as the inverter in my house comes on right after.

    The thing is, when power goes out and comes back on, apart from not restarting, even if i press power button or restart button, nothing happens. The LEDs are still lit. Its only when i (a) turn the switch off (b) let it discharge, and (c) replug it, does it come back on. My interpretation is that the Mobo does not recognize that it has gone into an off power state, despite CPU and system fans not running. This is probably because power outage lasts for a fraction of a time and its capacitors do not get enough time to discharge (?)

    I have another PC with an old Mobo (GA x58a UD3R) connected directly to the wall (and inverter) and it works fine. It restarts automatically.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    1,002

    Yes because it's a blip it may not be recognized as an outage. Try this: go to your System & Security > System settings in the Control Panel > Advanced System Settings > Advanced Tab > Startup & Recovery Settings. Make sure you have Automatically Restart on System Failure checked.
    Davemon50

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    Yes because it's a blip it may not be recognized as an outage. Try this: go to your System & Security > System settings in the Control Panel > Advanced System Settings > Advanced Tab > Startup & Recovery Settings. Make sure you have Automatically Restart on System Failure checked.
    I checked the setting. It was already enabled. Any particular reason why this PC having C6H is causing issue and the other PC doesnt?

  6. #6
    Ex-employee Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    108
    Posts
    2,154

    Quote Originally Posted by infernovak View Post
    I checked the setting. It was already enabled. Any particular reason why this PC having C6H is causing issue and the other PC doesnt?
    I'm actually very surprised to hear someone from India not using an UPS or at least a very high quality power bar with surge protection as India is among one of the countries with the most unstable power. You should highly consider using an UPS or power bar as regardless if your power supply has SVP, OVP, and SCP, it will can still be damaged from power surges which could also end up damaging other parts in your system. What BIOS version are you currently on? Make sure to try the latest BIOS. I'm thinking your issue is probably caused by a protection feature on your power supply where it detected a power surge and tried to protect your system and therefore the motherboard didn't detect a power signal after the power coming back on because the power supply requires manual input before it starts working again.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Hi. I have surge protection power bar. I don't use a UPS because a) its backup is minimal and b) the inverter gives enough juice to run the PC without fail during power cuts. I am using 1401 BIOS.

    The question is why does the mobo not recognize that the PC has powered off, even if the power comes back in a second. It only does when its thoroughly discharged in 5-10s.

  8. #8
    ex-ASUS Employee Array Eleiyas PC Specs
    Eleiyas PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS 970 PRO GAMING/AURA
    ProcessorAMD FX 8370
    Memory (part number)Corsair 8GB XMS3 PC3-12800 1600MHz DDR3
    Graphics Card #1XFX AMD Radeon HD 6950 - 2G
    MonitorLG Flatron E2240T 21.5'' 1080p Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 1TB 7200RPM 32MB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200RPM 64MB 6GB/s
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith Cooler
    CaseNZXT Lexa S
    Power SupplyCorsair CX600 600W (Bronze)
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless AZERTY
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless
    Headset Evil Witchcraft II Gaming Headset (Black/Red)
    Mouse Pad Wild Wolf Hunter
    Headset/Speakers 4Gamers 2.1 Sound-System
    OS Windows 10 Professional - Creator's
    Network RouterZiggo

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    378

    Quote Originally Posted by infernovak View Post
    Hi. I have surge protection power bar. I don't use a UPS because a) its backup is minimal and b) the inverter gives enough juice to run the PC without fail during power cuts. I am using 1401 BIOS.

    The question is why does the mobo not recognize that the PC has powered off, even if the power comes back in a second. It only does when its thoroughly discharged in 5-10s.
    Well, every PC I have ever owned has been like this.

    I used to live in a rural area of France with frequent power surges and outages. If the power problem was literally only a 0.5s ''BLIP'', then my screen would cut out, but my PC would remain on (LEDs and stuff) but would require manual reboot by power button.

    If the ''blip'' was ever so slightly longer, then my PC would shutdown and auto-reboot, but only about 60% of the time. The other 40% of the time, again the LEDs would be on, but nothing working.

    I believe it's because there is still power in the system which requires a couple of seconds to dissipate - so if the power blip is only half a second or so, then the system still believes there is power, when in reality it needs a whole reboot because of safety features in the PSU.

    By the way, this is on a 10 year-old system (ASUS M4A9TD PRO USB3 M/B) - but I'm almost certain it's the same principle.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Thanks for your replies. My old Gigabyte x58 board works fine and reboots swell. Perhaps its a software/hardware thing for Asus Mobos, beyond my reach to modify. I guess buying a UPS to survive the 0.5s blip seems to be the last resort *searching through pockets*

  10. #10
    Ex-employee Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    108
    Posts
    2,154

    Quote Originally Posted by infernovak View Post
    Thanks for your replies. My old Gigabyte x58 board works fine and reboots swell. Perhaps its a software/hardware thing for Asus Mobos, beyond my reach to modify. I guess buying a UPS to survive the 0.5s blip seems to be the last resort *searching through pockets*
    It definitely is and UPS would be worth the investment that you can continue using for the next systems you build.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •