Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 56
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    138

    when I first set up my c6h, it gave me electric shocks. I knew I was going to have trouble with this setup. 1rma later and my new c6h worked!!!!!
    so now actually being able to get into the bios I was faced with the dividers only offering up to 3466mhz, I think it was.
    I had spent £270 on G.Skill Trident rgb 4266...B-Die. the maximum speed I could set at first was 3200mhz on bios 1002. the 3200mhz kit would of saved me 100pounds, yet no one from AMD or ASUS bothered to include in the marketing info that their ddr4 controller had problems with anything above 3200mhz.
    9945 offered me 3466mhz and if I care to waste time out of my life I could probably get them to an unstable 3600mhz.... so for me, I was just shocked at how AMD's implementation of DDR4 in 2017 was worse than on any intel board ever created in 2014. THIS is why most of us are pissed off with the initial performance and compatability of ddr4 on this chipset.
    so amd have literally put everything into getting you to buy the chipset. after that your on your own. because as raja stated we shouldn't of been foolish sheep jumping on the bandwagon. I don't think i'll ever forget that statement.
    so we are left to beta test this board for amd/asus literally.
    what we figured out for ourselves with a little help from the asus guys shamino and co, led us down the route of stability testing our ddr4 dims using procODT
    as amd wasn't able to do this themselves before release.
    then the people with single sided Samsung B-die based dims started to have some success. with most kits hitting 3200 as standard... my own had hit 3200mhz initially before being able to select the 3466mhz divider.
    hence the recommendation to buy B-die memory.
    once the system is up and running it has good performance, so lucky for amd it is actually worth it to sit and learn all about the cpu/chipset options in bios
    so in the OP situation, I would read up on procODT. 86ohms is the standard setting for the line(I think). my b-die wanted 60ohms.
    you also need to read all about the cpu architecture so you can see the part infinity fabric plays .
    learn how to use p-states to overclock as well as baseclock overclocking. theres a good days worth of reading.
    I have just bought some more g.skill trident rgb 3466mhz. it should be here in a couple of days. i'll let you know how that kit fairs compared to the first set... my new kit comes from the same batch of chips GTZR so I have high hopes. I'm going to try them on their own and then in with the other kit after flashing them to the same bin... memory from the same batch usually has the same tolerances... as long as your ram is Samsung b-die single sided you shouldn't have any problems hitting 3200mhz.
    if you get stuck with your build just post the problem here and I'm sure between myself and a couple of other experts we will be able to get you up and running.
    maybe even pm all your problems to Raja aswell... >edit this is meant to be a joke!
    don't forget to learn how ddr4 works from Wikipedia .. this will help you to understand some of the bios options.
    Last edited by purecain; 06-20-2017 at 10:27 PM.
    AsusCrosshairVIHero - 2700x@4.30Ghz~1.373v
    32Gb G.Skill RGB Trident 16gb3466Mhz + 16gb4266Mhz DDR4@3466mhz
    Titan Xp
    1TbSamsung960EVO M.2 1TbSamsung850EVO SSD Seagate2TB/3Tb CorsairForceGt 64gb
    TTtoughpower1200w80
    Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered glass side panal

  2. #22
    ROG Enthusiast Array Johan45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    It seems to me you have a real issue with the fact that YOU bought 4266 ram and then blame it on the manufacturers for lack transparency. That's actually quite laughable. Never once has anything over 2666 been "officially" supported by AMD it was all over the place. Now some board manufacturers add the ability to get 3200 (OC) that's overclocked not officially supported or guaranteed. The onus here falls on you for being overly optimistic or lax in your research prior to ordering that expensive ram.
    The only difference between it and say the kit you just ordered is XMP and quality of the IC. They both have samsung "B" die so will both behave roughly the same with the better stick enabling some tighter timings. I never once expected my 4266 ram to hit 4266 it's a limitation on the Ryzen IMC and just isn't going to happen but I did manage some decnt clocks with them.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3744 cl14.JPG 
Views:	52 
Size:	62.6 KB 
ID:	65471Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3744 cl14 x265 11.14.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	164.1 KB 
ID:	65472

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    138

    the point is ddr4 isn't new. I'm sure my reasoning will make more sense to you once you've grown up little man. as this is my actual experience with the hardware and seen as how ive built hundreds of pc's my opinion tends to be on point. but my problem is with some ram I spent blah blah blah... I actually picked the ram up for cheap, but there will be hundreds if not thousands of people who did spend a lot of money on that ram who will be upset that they wasted the money. i'll be building another pc soon and i'll be able to use that ram to its fullest potential on that rig so I'm not too bothered. but then I can afford to waste money on hardware, hence this whole build. I give asus and amd a hard time because I want them to do better. asus is my favourite motherboard manufacturer and I want to support AMD. you carry on telling them how great they are. i'll keep telling them the truth.

    edit/ and the OP is having a hard time, that's why I go on about having to rma my board, but it all came good in the end... but you think I'm moaning ha ha... don't be such a troll. what I post is my business rohan. how does your post help the OP??????

    just re-read your post, clueless... cant be helped.

    what exactly are you showing us with your base clock oc ...lol is that going to help the original poster... no....
    Last edited by purecain; 06-20-2017 at 10:08 PM.
    AsusCrosshairVIHero - 2700x@4.30Ghz~1.373v
    32Gb G.Skill RGB Trident 16gb3466Mhz + 16gb4266Mhz DDR4@3466mhz
    Titan Xp
    1TbSamsung960EVO M.2 1TbSamsung850EVO SSD Seagate2TB/3Tb CorsairForceGt 64gb
    TTtoughpower1200w80
    Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered glass side panal

  4. #24
    ROG Enthusiast Array Johan45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Ah, nice and out come the insults, whatever man. You can think what you like but in the time it took you to post that previous rant I can actually tune a system. I don't need someone to blame for my shortcomings. As for the OP I was just trying to point out there are some who visit this forum who DO know what they're doing and CAN help. Others just come to complain. Here's another shot of some super cheap Hynix based 2x8 3000 CL 16 running 3200 stable. You see those who can, do. Those who can't just blame someone else.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5114e5ea_p951600x11hrs.jpeg 
Views:	1 
Size:	505.2 KB 
ID:	65490
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	55039876_hynnew3200.jpeg 
Views:	38 
Size:	64.3 KB 
ID:	65491

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    261

    Actually, Johan, you started the aggressive posting. Purecain is right: ASUS and AMD should have been able to read the XMP and set up the memory controller from day 1. Their web page for the board makes it sound way more capable than it was and IS right now. You are just part of the "blame the user" mentality that most aggressive fan-boi's or folks with issues (not sure which you are) bring to the table in these discussions.

    Both ASUS and AMD misrepresented their products from day one, no denying that. Your entire argument, and dare I say attitude, are pure BS.

    Have a nice day!
    Tired of trolls and mods that act like this platform has no problems and it's the users fault. Later.

  6. #26
    ROG Enthusiast Array Johan45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Seriously, he starts with a rant about his memory that was never supported blame ASUS and AMD for that, basically tells the OP he needs to do hours of homework if he ever wants to run his Ryzen then takes a poke at Raja which he later ( a day) edited as being a joke. How is that constructive. I politely tried to point his finger back where it belonged for his headaches. I don't post in here a lot but I have seen very similar posts from Mrcain and it's usually just him complainng about his problems with ram he never should have bnought and that's somehow someone else's fault. Give me a break. The worst I said in my post was this
    The onus here falls on you for being overly optimistic or lax in your research prior to ordering that expensive ram.
    That statement is 100% true, not an insult just a fact.
    ASUS specs from their page for the CHVI https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards...pecifications/

    AMD Ryzen™ Processors
    4 x DIMM, Max. 64GB, DDR4 3200(O.C.)/2666/2400/2133 MHz Non-ECC, Un-buffered Memory *
    AMD 7th Generation A-series/Athlon™ Processors
    4 x DIMM, Max. 64GB, DDR4 2400/2133 MHz Non-ECC, Un-buffered Memory *
    Dual Channel Memory Architecture
    ** Refer to www.asus.com for the Memory QVL (Qualified Vendors Lists).
    And these types of slides have been seen all over since the Ryzen launch, do you see 4266 support on there?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rymem.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	193.6 KB 
ID:	65492

  7. #27
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Quote Originally Posted by entropic-remnants View Post
    Purecain is right: ASUS and AMD should have been able to read the XMP and set up the memory controller from day 1.
    Hello

    XMP is an Intel memory specification which AMD has not stated they have embraced. Anyone thinking that XMP would be plug 'n play on an AMD platform and then whining because the results are not what was wrongfully assumed probably should not be assuming the role of a system integrator.

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    261

    Hello also

    1.0.0.6 AGESA implemented the same timing parameters as are stored in the XMP profile of the DIMM's. Manually entering that data allows many "non QVL" RAM to operate.

    Your argument seems silly considering the implementation of the new parameters. WHATEVER you choose to call it, the parameters defined by the XMP profile in the stick are what's needed to get RAM working.

    I and many others have simply copied the parameters into our new 1.0.0.6 registers to get our memory up to the "rated" overclock.

    I stand on what I said and ASUS should be reading the RAM and setting up the parameters in the XMP profile automatically.
    Last edited by entropic-remnants; 06-21-2017 at 06:11 PM.
    Tired of trolls and mods that act like this platform has no problems and it's the users fault. Later.

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    261

    Quote Originally Posted by Johan45 View Post
    That statement is 100% true, not an insult just a fact.
    Don't buy it. Your tone was belittling.
    Tired of trolls and mods that act like this platform has no problems and it's the users fault. Later.

  10. #30
    ROG Enthusiast Array Johan45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    You must have good ears.
    I and many others have simply copied the parameters into our new 1.0.0.6 registers to get our memory up to the "rated" overclock.

    I stand on what I said and ASUS should be reading the RAM and setting up the parameters in the XMP profile automatically.
    But that's not the full profile. By enabling the XMP there are timings you have "0" control over which are being set for the ram but will not work with the CPU/chipset. That's how I set the Hynix in that last pic I posted. Set primary timings and lest the board do the rest after it was successful I tweaked from there. Enabling the DOCP would work sort of but wasn't stable at all in testing there was something not playing well in the mix.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •