Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by lobstrain View Post
    Nevermind, it wasn't seated properly. Does not boot with two sticks. Red LEAD, then yellow, the red, etc.
    Try loosening the screws for your H100i a little.

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Try loosening the screws for your H100i a little.
    Interesting. I'm basically a noob, so just for my understanding, what might that do?

    One thing I haven't tried (because I'm slow) is putting one stick in the second slot and seeing if it posts. I'll try that first and see if it posts.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    I've seen users overtightening the screws for their heatsink causing the motherboard to warp and the CPU not making full contact with the pins in the socket. So even at stock 2133MHz speed, the motherboard fails to pick up a certain memory slot.

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    I've seen users overtightening the screws for their heatsink causing the motherboard to warp and the CPU not making full contact with the pins in the socket. So even at stock 2133MHz speed, the motherboard fails to pick up a certain memory slot.
    I may very well have this problem. I will report back later tonight. Thanks!

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Ok so, the issue is most definitely related to the DIMM slot, the one closest to the CPU. I tried loosening the cooler screws as you recommended, but it didn't fix the problem.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Try removing all your components from the case. Put your motherboard on top of the cardboard box that it came in. Use the bare minimum (CPU, CPU cooler, MB, 1 stick of RAM & PSU). See if the slot closest to the CPU works.

    If you have a chance to reseat your CPU cooler, inspect the CPU socket for any bent or missing pins as well.

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I know this is an old thread, but did you manage to resolve this issue? I'm having the exact same problem on the Z270I with 2400 RAM and tried all the suggestions here but no luck. Same slot as well - one closest to the CPU

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •