Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    [Strix z270i] Unable to boot with 2x16GB 3200hz RAM

    Hi all,

    My PC: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/xvghwV

    I am desperately looking for help here, as I've never had to mess with timings, voltage, etc. before, so this is all new to me.

    I am able to boot when I use one stick of RAM, but I've tried several things to get my machine to boot with two to no avail. I've tried default settings, the XMP profile that's built-in, and manually setting different values based on research, but they all boot to either red or yellow LED. Here was my latest attempt:
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...l=1#post656122
    These settings did not work for me either, but they still worked for a single stick. The sticks have been tested individually and both work just fine.

    Even a general step by step guide of what to try would be helpful, I just don't want to keep having to do the same thing (changing settings, adding the stick back in, fail to boot, remove the stick) over and over without any real guidance. Thank you!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Does your system post correctly with both sticks at stock speed (2133MHz)?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Does your system post correctly with both sticks at stock speed (2133MHz)?
    I've tried to boot the system with default BIOS settings with no success. I have not tried to manually set the speed to 2133. Should I set everything to default and then set that speed?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    I'm sure not what you've modified inside your BIOS up to this point. The best way to move forward is install both modules and clear your CMOS. Turn on your system and see if it POSTs correctly. We'll take it from there.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    OK, I'll try that when I get home. Thanks.

  6. #6

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Cool.

    Report back your results when you can.
    Ok, CMOS has been reset, currently booting with one stick.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Installed both, seems to boot, but only sees one of the sticks.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Nevermind, it wasn't seated properly. Does not boot with two sticks. Red LEAD, then yellow, the red, etc.

  10. #10
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    417

    hi lobstrain
    What BIOS version did you update : )
    As you mentioned CMOS has been cleaned but sill one stick can Run 3200Mhz

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •