Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Question about overclocking 1700

    I'm getting these weird voltage readings and I'm not sure anymore what to trust. If I put 1.36250 core voltage in BIOS, it reports 1.417 as voltage and AI Suite III reading varies from 1.395 to 1.417. Is this correct? And why is it so high?
    I'd like to get 3.9GHz, but if the voltages are that high.. I'm confused. Anybody could give me some insight and perhaps some info about BIOS settings which I should use? So far I have only increased multiplier and put manually that 1.36250 in BIOS.

    One article stated that guy put 1.41875V CPU VCore and his readings in CPU-Z are same as mine when I put 1.36250, doesn't make sense.

    Also I tried and increased from 1.36250 to 1.37500 and AI Suite III reports same 1.417 now what it did earlier with 1.36.
    Last edited by ded99; 06-24-2017 at 03:46 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198


  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Devonn_Azagoth PC Specs
    Devonn_Azagoth PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRYZEN 7 1700 3.85Ghz
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1GTX 970
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D14
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780T
    Power SupplySeasonic 860w Platinium
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by ded99 View Post
    I'm getting these weird voltage readings and I'm not sure anymore what to trust. If I put 1.36250 core voltage in BIOS, it reports 1.417 as voltage and AI Suite III reading varies from 1.395 to 1.417. Is this correct? And why is it so high?
    I'd like to get 3.9GHz, but if the voltages are that high.. I'm confused. Anybody could give me some insight and perhaps some info about BIOS settings which I should use? So far I have only increased multiplier and put manually that 1.36250 in BIOS.

    One article stated that guy put 1.41875V CPU VCore and his readings in CPU-Z are same as mine when I put 1.36250, doesn't make sense.

    Also I tried and increased from 1.36250 to 1.37500 and AI Suite III reports same 1.417 now what it did earlier with 1.36.
    OC 3.85 up to 3.95 stable:

    DOCP Standard
    CPU Core Ration = 38.50 or 39.50
    Memory Frequency = if you have 3200mhz set the same value if 3000mhz set to 2933
    Core Performance Boost = Disable
    CPU Core Voltage = Offset mode > 0.20000
    DRAM Voltage = 1.36500
    CPU load line calibration = Level 4
    VDDSOC Load Line Calibration = Level 4

    Tweakers Paradise:
    VTTDDR Voltage = 0.68640

    Many stress test ran and everything stable, actually 1 week with this settings and no BSOD or Black screen at all

    Almost forget using BIOS 1401

    Enjoy!

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Taking off manual voltage and setting it auto pushed voltages to 1.439-1.461 while keeping multiplier 38.
    Setting offset 1x- lowered to voltage 1.242 - I don't know how that would help. How would I dare to put SOC + 0.2.
    Last edited by ded99; 06-24-2017 at 07:23 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Johan45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    61

    Download HWinfo64 it seems to be one of the few that give fairly accurate voltage. Don't look at the VID scroll down a bit through the window and you'll see it after the tctl temp reading.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    In BIOS if I put manual core voltage:
    1.36250 -> CPU-Z / HWinfo / AI Suite report 1.395-1.417
    1.37500 -> CPU-Z / HWinfo / AI Suite report 1.417-1.439
    1.38...... goes over 1.46v

    Looks like 3850 is the highest I can go with both LLCs at 3, voltage varies 1.417-1,439. To my limited knowledge I guess I settle with this, before that machine truly becomes a toaster literally...

    Thanks for your help dudes.
    Last edited by ded99; 06-24-2017 at 09:14 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198

    The videos I posted gave good advice on how to solve your voltage concern.

    You really should turn the voltage down. At 1.44v you are frying your CPU. Having your CPU set to a permanent voltage is not good. To do it that way means you have to set the CPU on a voltage that it would require at full use. This leaves your CPU over cooking when it is stagnant.

    You can set your CPU voltage to a variable setting with the CPU offset mode option. Check mine out with the image I supplied. I run at 3850Mhz with 1.37v.

    In "Extreme Tweaker" set CPU core voltage to offset mode then leave at default "+" then set CPU core voltage off set which will give your CPU a variable voltage to play with. Mine is set to 0.02500. Start at 0.03250, and if this works decrease it.

    You also need to add some other settings. Still in "Extreme Tweaker" disable "core performance boost". This is the 100hz gain that Zen puts out when it think it is cool enough. Since you are OC all cores this option becomes redundant.

    Set LLC to level 1. The level 3 LLC you have is a tad extreme and unnecessary.

    Core performance boost also needs to be disabled in "Advanced" tab > AMD CBS > Zen common options.

    good luck

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    I used offset voltage, but I needed 0.16875, any lesser was unstable with ratio 38. Voltage is now 1.417, and when testing it drops to 1.373. So still high voltage.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array Johan45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    61

    I think you're fine, 1.35-1.4V should be tolerable for the CPU. You can set the BIOS to use a P-State OC then the voltage will cycle down when not loaded.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Yea, I'm staying with this.

    I'm off for now - had enough of this free labor work of digitazing these letters and numbers, they should pay me for doing that. Can't post properly here.
    Last edited by ded99; 06-25-2017 at 05:02 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •