Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 132

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Exclamation [MAIN\MERGED] Intel Skylake & Kaby Lake Hyperthreading Bug

    It has been confirmed that Intel's Skylake/Kaby Lake hyper-threading can present serious issues that can be fixed by a BIOS/UEFI update that targets Intel processor errata KBL095, KBW095 or the similar one for Kaby Lake processor.

    Any plans for such update to come? On Kaby Lake it seems the most safe route at the moment is to simply disable hyper-threading until ASUS provides a new BIOS that addresses this. On Skylake there's the option on ArchLinux side, for example, to install extra/intel-ucode to get microcode updates since there's a fix in revision 0xb9/0xba and later. Windows doesn't have a microcode update for this yet, afaik.

    Source: https://lists.debian.org/debian-deve.../msg00308.html
    Last edited by pepper_chico; 06-26-2017 at 07:02 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array amyristom PC Specs
    amyristom PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK16GX4M4A2400C14 4x4GB Kit
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5 Gefoce GTX980
    Sound Cardonboard
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Crucial CT512MX100SSD1
    Storage #2SAMSUNG HD103UJ 1 TB
    CPU CoolerIntel boxed
    CaseZalman GS1000 Plus
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760 CP-9020045-EU
    Keyboard Logitech K290
    Mouse Logitech G400s
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAVM Fritz!Box 7390

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Intel Skylake and Kaby Lake Hyperthreading Bug

    Have you already heard from this news:
    https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/0...microcode_bug/

    Does anybody know if there is a fix available from Asus yet?

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Would very much like to know as well, latest BIOS release notes say nothing about it:

    MAXIMUS VIII GENE BIOS 3401 - 2017/04/07 update
    1.Improved System Performance
    2.Modified OA key function in legacy OS
    3.Fixed some PS/2 devices connection issue in win8/win10 when fast startup is enabled
    4.Fixed chassis fan’s behavior after wake up from S3
    5.Fixed CPU(i3-7350K) ratio item missing issue in SW

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Da-BOSS PC Specs
    Da-BOSS PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG GL552VX [Fully Unlocked BIOS] - [Full Fan Control]
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC.
    ProcessorIntel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz - OC'ed to 3.6Ghz through BCLK - Tweaked RAM Timings
    Memory (part number)Samsung 8GB 2133MHz + Kingston 8GB 2133MHz= 16 GB RAM
    Graphics Card #1Intel(R) HD Graphics 530 Oc'ed 1.2 Ghz Core & 1.1 Ghz Mem.
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M GDDR5 4GB Samsung Memory [OC'ed 1.3 Ghz Core & 1.4 Ghz Mem][VBIOS Unlocked]
    Sound CardConexant SmartAudio HD with SRS Audio
    MonitorLG - D046F IPS - [Laptop Monitor] - [OC Display Refresh Rate]
    Storage #1HDD= HGST HTS721010A9E630 - 1TB - [7200 RPM] Tweaked APM
    Storage #2SSD= WDC WDS240G1G0B-00RC30 - 256GB - [NVME] Tweaked APM
    CPU CoolerStock Cooler
    CaseNon
    Power Supply-
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Keyboard with red backlit
    Mouse ASUS ROG Sica Optical USB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ASUS Cerberus Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad -
    Headset/Speakers -Conexant with ICEsound
    OS Windows 10 1803 Lite [Modded by me]
    Network Router-
    Accessory #1 -
    Accessory #2 -
    Accessory #3 -
    Da-BOSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8


  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy

    Hi
    any updates about the Z270F Gaming bios update/fix for the hyper threading and turbo boost !!?

    i have built a new rig with the Z270F Gaming and the i7-7700k !!
    for 2 days i struggled to install the os Win7/win10 and the only way to make the OS install and work correctly is to disable turbo boost and hyper threading in bios !!
    i already have updated the bios (v1301 i think) but no chance to the OS to work when turbo boost or hyper threading are enabled.
    so now i feel like i am using an i5 7th gen. instead of an i7 !
    Please advise
    Cheers

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Broken Hyperthreading. "(Dangerous) application and system misbehaviour, data corruption, and data loss" (with any OS) under certain specific conditions.

    "Disable Hyperthreading immediately in unfixed systems. Contact system vendor to obtain an updated UEFI/BIOS which implements the fix."

    Intel microcode packages which fix this are available for some affected platforms and operating systems.

    I'm actually surprised such a serious bug remained unnoticed (and unfixed) for so long. Apparently the "specific conditions" which cause this bug must occur very infrequently and/or generally compromises system data in "noncritical" ways.

    On the plus side:
    - this doesn't affect Core i5 parts (because they lack HT)
    - this doesn't seem to present apocalyptic risk when gaming (because most games make poor or downright awful use of multi-threading - 4C/8T typically being roughly equivalent to 5C/5T, at best - and very few games running outside of VMs could/would use even 4 physical cores anyhow, let alone 8 virtualized cores)

    But if you're not able to easily restore your WinOS and all your data (from a backup image or from scratch) then disable HT in BIOS and keep it disabled until this erratum gets fixed, lol, chance of failure appears very low but consequence of failure could be catastrophic!

    Also being discussed in this thread.
    Last edited by Korth; 06-27-2017 at 05:12 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    this doesn't seem to present apocalyptic risk when gaming
    You sure about that? I'm wondering if this is the lockup/freeze during gaming bug that has plagued me (and others across different mb brands) since Skylake launched.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I haven't experienced any crashes whatsoever, and on top of gaming I even develop heavily multi-threaded software with this workstation, but just to be on the safe side I:

    1) Got extremely pissed off
    2) Disabled HT

    I hope to see a new BIOS with the uCode update really soon.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array AKBAAR PC Specs
    AKBAAR PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Impact VIII
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700k @ 4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)TridentZ 3200C14 - 32GTZ 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorDELL U3014
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro SSd
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSd
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i GT
    CaseCorsair 250D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760i
    Keyboard Corsair k70-rgb
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 100
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    251

    no need to panic, just update your CPU Microcode to latest version. and good thing there is an application that does it for you automatically.

    Well,

    I use this tool to update my CPU Microcode Automatically to latest which is Version BA !
    Enjoy

    http://www.win-raid.com/t154f16-Tool...-quot-UBU.html

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	nqTFG1x.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	284.9 KB 
ID:	65611

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Dave500 PC Specs
    Dave500 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus viii hero
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte 980ti exreme
    MonitorVS278H
    Storage #1850 Pro 256GB SSD
    Storage #2WD RE 1tb HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseThermalTake Core X31 Mid Towe
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    Mouse steelseries sensei
    OS WIN7 SP1 Ultimate
    Network RouterBillion 7800

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    Intel's Skylake and Kaby Lake CPUs have nasty hyper-threading bug

    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/06...yperthreading/

    Has Asus addressed this yet with a bios update?

Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •