Page 12 of 14 FirstFirst ... 2 10 11 12 13 14 LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 132
  1. #111
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,718

    Quote Originally Posted by eldata View Post
    Hardly likely given the **fact** that they have already sent SKYL and KBL uCode fixes to their partners in April/May. In our case, it's Asus who has been dragging their feet instead of releasing the uCode in BIOS updates. The ball is now squarely in Asus' side of the court.
    @eldata,

    No, not quite yet, lol.
    For SKL desktop SKUs yes, since Apr2017 (as we already know from the OP links in this thread).
    For KBL desktop SKUs no, not yet. Intel is still dragging their feet. ASUS will get their chance to drag their feet once Intel passes the ball to them.
    And CFL is, of course, an 8th gen refinement of 7th gen KBL which is itself a refinement of 6th gen SKL, they run off very much the same microarchitecture and microcode steppings (at least we know SKL and KBL do, CFL is not yet available for examination).

    The latest info *from Intel* that I could find:
    https://communities.intel.com/thread/115745
    https://communities.intel.com/message/483358

    Legolas (28Jun2017): "Does this issue effect Desktop Skylake processors and Kabylake processors? I hope Intel is looking into it."
    Intel Corporation (28Jun2017): "Hi Legolas, This also affects the desktop processors; however, Intel is currently working on a solution, once available, it will be published. Best Regards, Juan V."
    Intel Corporation (29Jun2017): "Hi Legolas, The likelihood of running into this issue is low. A [Skylake] fix for this issue is available and started rollout out to system manufacturers in April 2017. Intel recommends checking to make sure your BIOS is up to date. Best Regards, Juan V."

    Do you have links to anything *from Intel* which state otherwise? Better yet, a link *from Intel* to a fix for my Kaby Lake CPUs?

    It's worth noting that Intel discourages code complexes which create the specific conditions that cause this bug to manifest. NVIDIA is already working out other bugs in their drivers (which create high interrupt latencies when Hyperthreading) and might choose to also avert Intel's HT bug by simply compiling their binaries with different (or differently ordered) instructions, commands, and registers - so in this example, if NVIDIA chooses to implement this fix, the Intel HT bug wouldn't be invoked by running NVIDIA code (or by running game engines built onto it). I've installed patches for Autodesk, Solidworks, and SIMUL8 which also circumvent this Intel HT bug in those apps. Although the proper fix for Windows users is an Intel firmware update because no one really knows exactly how WinOS components really behave at the system hardware level, lol, otherwise there's still always a small chance for a stray unfixed app to "seriously compromise" the entire system.
    Last edited by Korth; 07-01-2017 at 04:42 PM.

  2. #112
    ROG Enthusiast Array Leoplate25 PC Specs
    Leoplate25 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Hero XI WiFi
    Processori5-9600k
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 840 240gb
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 1tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseThermaltake Versa H34
    Power SupplyBitFenix Whisper M 750w
    Keyboard ASUS Cerberus
    Mouse ASUS Cerberus
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Leoplate25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by eldata View Post
    And looks like he has BIOS Flashback. Probably doesn't know how to use it.
    I converted the file with ubu, copied and pasted into my usb stick, shutdown the PC, pressed the BIOS flashback button for 3 seconds, like ASUS says, then stops blinking within 5 seconds and the BIOS won't update.
    Last edited by Leoplate25; 07-01-2017 at 03:52 PM.

  3. #113
    ROG Enthusiast Array Leoplate25 PC Specs
    Leoplate25 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Hero XI WiFi
    Processori5-9600k
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 840 240gb
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 1tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseThermaltake Versa H34
    Power SupplyBitFenix Whisper M 750w
    Keyboard ASUS Cerberus
    Mouse ASUS Cerberus
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Leoplate25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    I did it!!! I put the usb stick in the usb 3.0 port and it flashed the BIOS. Sooo scared because it takes too long and 3 restarts. Thanks to everybody who gave me a hand with this!!!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG-20170701-WA0000.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	18.9 KB 
ID:	65721
    Last edited by Leoplate25; 07-01-2017 at 09:17 PM.

  4. #114
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    @eldata,

    No, not quite yet, lol.
    For SKL desktop SKUs yes, since Apr2017 (as we already know from the OP links in this thread).
    For KBL desktop SKUs no, not yet. Intel is still dragging their feet. ASUS will get their chance to drag their feet once Intel passes the ball to them.
    And CFL is, of course, an 8th gen refinement of 7th gen KBL which is itself a refinement of 6th gen SKL, they run off very much the same microarchitecture and microcode steppings (at least we know SKL and KBL do, CFL is not yet available for examination).

    The latest info *from Intel* that I could find:
    https://communities.intel.com/thread/115745
    https://communities.intel.com/message/483358

    Legolas (28Jun2017): "Does this issue effect Desktop Skylake processors and Kabylake processors? I hope Intel is looking into it."
    Intel Corporation (28Jun2017): "Hi Legolas, This also affects the desktop processors; however, Intel is currently working on a solution, once available, it will be published. Best Regards, Juan V."
    Intel Corporation (29Jun2017): "Hi Legolas, The likelihood of running into this issue is low. A [Skylake] fix for this issue is available and started rollout out to system manufacturers in April 2017. Intel recommends checking to make sure your BIOS is up to date. Best Regards, Juan V."

    Do you have links to anything *from Intel* which state otherwise? Better yet, a link *from Intel* to a fix for my Kaby Lake CPUs?

    It's worth noting that Intel discourages code complexes which create the specific conditions that cause this bug to manifest. NVIDIA is already working out other bugs in their drivers (which create high interrupt latencies when Hyperthreading) and might choose to also avert Intel's HT bug by simply compiling their binaries with different (or differently ordered) instructions, commands, and registers - so in this example, if NVIDIA chooses to implement this fix, the Intel HT bug wouldn't be invoked by running NVIDIA code (or by running game engines built onto it). I've installed patches for Autodesk, Solidworks, and SIMUL8 which also circumvent this Intel HT bug in those apps. Although the proper fix for Windows users is an Intel firmware update because no one really knows exactly how WinOS components really behave at the system hardware level, lol, otherwise there's still always a small chance for a stray unfixed app to "seriously compromise" the entire system.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	no-words-homer-into-brush.gif 
Views:	116 
Size:	951.5 KB 
ID:	65725

  5. #115
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    the conditions needed to manifest this bug are so very specific that it's very difficult to reproduce on demand
    At the very least that also applies to the problem I have been experiencing for the last 2 years.

  6. #116
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    32

    UBU 1.69.4 now has the fixed uCode for KBL.

    https://cloud.mail.ru/public/9SSs/YJbsWyC2V

    Select Microcode for CPU Kabylake (LGA1151)

    34 Version 34 Date 10-07-2016
    3A Version 3A Date 22-08-2016
    3C Version 3C Date 05-09-2016
    3E Version 3E Date 16-09-2016
    42 Version 42 Date 02-10-2016
    48 Version 48 Date 15-11-2016
    58 Version 58 Date 09-03-2017
    5E Version 5E Date 06-04-2017 - Bug fix HT
    Fixes for both SKYL and KBL are now in the public domain.
    Last edited by eldata; 07-03-2017 at 01:47 PM.

  7. #117
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array AKBAAR PC Specs
    AKBAAR PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Impact VIII
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700k @ 4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)TridentZ 3200C14 - 32GTZ 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorDELL U3014
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro SSd
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSd
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i GT
    CaseCorsair 250D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760i
    Keyboard Corsair k70-rgb
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 100
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    256

    Quote Originally Posted by eldata View Post
    UBU 1.69.4 now has the fixed uCode for KBL.

    https://cloud.mail.ru/public/9SSs/YJbsWyC2V



    Fixes for both SKYL and KBL are now in the public domain.
    its better you link the main wbesite Forums for Full List of updates and instructions,


    Here you go..
    http://www.win-raid.com/t154f16-Tool...-quot-UBU.html

    -also any one who needs MMTool can contact me via private messaging-

  8. #118
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    222

    Thx for all this, but am going to just wait for my motherboards new bios.

  9. #119
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by Daytrader View Post
    Thx for all this, but am going to just wait for my motherboards new bios.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BBCJFGN.gif 
Views:	68 
Size:	1.28 MB 
ID:	65753

  10. #120
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by AKBAAR View Post
    its better you link the main wbesite Forums for Full List of updates and instructions,


    Here you go..
    http://www.win-raid.com/t154f16-Tool...-quot-UBU.html

    -also any one who needs MMTool can contact me via private messaging-
    FWIW, MMTool can be downloaded here;

    http://www.mediafire.com/file/f6espb...ool_v5.007.zip

    Rename the extracted file mmtool_v5.exe to MMTool.exe
    Last edited by eldata; 07-04-2017 at 11:09 AM.

Page 12 of 14 FirstFirst ... 2 10 11 12 13 14 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •