Page 2 of 14 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 132
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array Leoplate25 PC Specs
    Leoplate25 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Hero XI WiFi
    Processori5-9600k
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 840 240gb
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 1tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseThermaltake Versa H34
    Power SupplyBitFenix Whisper M 750w
    Keyboard ASUS Cerberus
    Mouse ASUS Cerberus
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Leoplate25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Sorry for the intrusion

    Hi, sorry for posting here. But i need some kind of advice with this:

    I have an i7-6700k and the voltage set to auto is a little bit high i think (1.264v~1.284v) at stock clocks without turbo boost and everything on auto. I want to lower this voltage but i don't know how to do it. Should i set the voltage on manual at 1.2v (i'm not planning on doing any OC or use turbo boost) or should i set adaptive mode at 1.2v with + offset at 0.064v with llc on auto? When i run Pime95 Small fft test with adaptive mode set that way my peak voltage is 1.2v and it was stable for 1 hour without any problems, same with manual mode. What shoul i do? Please help me! Thanks!

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Broken Hyperthreading. "(Dangerous) application and system misbehaviour, data corruption, and data loss" (with any OS) under certain specific conditions.

    "Disable Hyperthreading immediately in unfixed systems. Contact system vendor to obtain an updated UEFI/BIOS which implements the fix."

    Intel microcode packages which fix this are available for some affected platforms and operating systems.

    I'm actually surprised such a serious bug remained unnoticed (and unfixed) for so long. Apparently the "specific conditions" which cause this bug must occur very infrequently and/or generally compromises system data in "noncritical" ways.

    On the plus side:
    - this doesn't affect Core i5 parts (because they lack HT)
    - this doesn't seem to present apocalyptic risk when gaming (because most games make poor or downright awful use of multi-threading - 4C/8T typically being roughly equivalent to 5C/5T, at best - and very few games running outside of VMs could/would use even 4 physical cores anyhow, let alone 8 virtualized cores)

    But if you're not able to easily restore your WinOS and all your data (from a backup image or from scratch) then disable HT in BIOS and keep it disabled until this erratum gets fixed, lol, chance of failure appears very low but consequence of failure could be catastrophic!

    Also being discussed in this thread.
    Last edited by Korth; 06-27-2017 at 05:12 AM.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Links PC Specs
    Links PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Formula
    ProcessorIntel I7 7700K @ 4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance XLP 3600Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080Ti OC
    MonitorAsus MG279 144Hz, MHL
    Storage #1Corsair MP500 480GB NVME SSD
    Storage #2Hitachi Ultrastar 7K6000 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX750i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Asus Gladius II
    OS Win 10 Pro (x64)
    Links's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    112

    I would set it to adaptive.
    Cuz 1.2 is your peak voltage and it's not needed all the time, only under load.
    Adaptive mode will drop Vcore if your CPU is not working hard enough.
    This will provide a bit lower CPU temps.

    But with manual mode it'll work just fine too.

    P.S remember to use balanced power plan (windows- > control panel) if you are using adaptive mode.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Another thread here about the same issue.

    I doubt this causes heat spikes. This bug affects integrity of data (while being stored in or moved through processor caches). It doesn't affect voltages and it doesn't affect large logic blocks which could impose sudden changes on performance or power draw. It just corrupts data (when specific conditions are met).

    I suppose it could permanently corrupt (even brick) a system while data is corrupted during firmware flashing. But I'm not sounding an alarm - the chances of this actually happening would be astronomically tiny, especially if booting/flashing from outside an OS, and it could easily be repaired through external flash recovery (or swapping BIOS chips) anyhow.
    Last edited by Korth; 06-27-2017 at 05:21 AM.

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array KuraiShidosha PC Specs
    KuraiShidosha PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 7700k 4.8Ghz
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Ripjaws V 3200Mhz DDR4 16GB
    Sound CardCreative SoundBlaster X-Fi
    MonitorAcer P243w
    Storage #1Samsung 830 256GB
    Storage #2Western Digital Caviar Black 5TB 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerThermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 850w Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    WTF. ASUS do something about this. Stop ignoring your latest Intel boards and fix this. Leaving Z270 in a state where hyperthreading has to be disabled is UNACCEPTABLE.

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    this doesn't seem to present apocalyptic risk when gaming
    You sure about that? I'm wondering if this is the lockup/freeze during gaming bug that has plagued me (and others across different mb brands) since Skylake launched.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Links PC Specs
    Links PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Formula
    ProcessorIntel I7 7700K @ 4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance XLP 3600Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080Ti OC
    MonitorAsus MG279 144Hz, MHL
    Storage #1Corsair MP500 480GB NVME SSD
    Storage #2Hitachi Ultrastar 7K6000 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX750i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Asus Gladius II
    OS Win 10 Pro (x64)
    Links's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    112

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    Another thread here about the same issue.

    I doubt this causes heat spikes. This bug affects integrity of data (while being stored in or moved through processor caches). It doesn't affect voltages and it doesn't affect large logic blocks which could impose sudden changes on performance or power draw. It just corrupts data (when specific conditions are met).

    I suppose it could permanently corrupt (even brick) a system while data is corrupted during firmware flashing. But I'm not sounding an alarm - the chances of this actually happening would be astronomically tiny, especially if booting/flashing from outside an OS, and it could easily be repaired through external flash recovery (or swapping BIOS chips) anyhow.
    Stop ruining my hopes


    To KuraiShidosha
    Now they have thier new z299 boards, that must be advertised well before sales start. So we can shut up with our stone-age technologie. Same with intel and kabylake-x etc.
    Last edited by Links; 06-27-2017 at 01:16 PM.

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori9 9900KF/ i7 7700K both @ 4.9Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W/ Dell U2719D
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 950 Pro M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i pro/Noctua NHu-14S
    CaseCorsair 500D/ Corsair 450D
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2 /Corsair HX750
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1909

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Having used Skylake since it came out and now Kabylake, playing games and using Photoshop + lightroom without any problems what so ever I don't see that this is a big problem for the average user. Yes it would be good if is was resolved but, it's not something that everyday users will encounter. So come on guy's don't get your nickers in a twist over something that has been around since Skylake was first introduced and nobody knew anything about until now. As far as I'm concerned Hyper-Threading stays on.
    Last edited by no1yak; 06-27-2017 at 02:38 PM.

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array Dave500 PC Specs
    Dave500 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus viii hero
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte 980ti exreme
    MonitorVS278H
    Storage #1850 Pro 256GB SSD
    Storage #2WD RE 1tb HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseThermalTake Core X31 Mid Towe
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    Mouse steelseries sensei
    OS WIN7 SP1 Ultimate
    Network RouterBillion 7800

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    Intel's Skylake and Kaby Lake CPUs have nasty hyper-threading bug

    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/06...yperthreading/

    Has Asus addressed this yet with a bios update?

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    701

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...rthreading-Bug

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...yper-threading

    Lets try to keep these threads centralized so no one misses the updates when they finally arrive.

Page 2 of 14 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •